Two Week Board and Train
$2,750
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization
Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support
1 / 4
We Talk Dog is a dog training business in Birmingham, Alabama offering board and train, in-home training, group classes, and virtual training, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and publish pricing from $295 to $3,500.
Birmingham, AL • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (1 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Oct 10, 2026
79 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Based on what the business publishes about itself
We Talk Dog operates a 9,000-square-foot facility in Birmingham's Crestwood area that combines training, boarding, daycare, and grooming under one roof. According to their site, owner Adam Summerford started the business after working with thousands of dogs across hundreds of home visits, building the facility around his approach to behavior modification. Ellyn Smith, who joined in 2013 as a handler and now leads the training program, is described as having a particular focus on high-energy and challenging dogs, she competes with her own dog in dock diving, scentwork, barn hunt, and other sports.
The facility's approach centers on what they call structured daycare, or "Day School," which replaces free play with place training, leash work, and impulse control exercises throughout the day. They describe their philosophy as emphasizing structure and leadership alongside affection, stating that "you can't love a dog out of bad behavior." Before accepting dogs for boarding or daycare, they require a two-hour temperament assessment.
Training options range from group classes with a leveled progression system (through Canine Good Citizen eligibility) to multi-week board-and-train programs that include follow-up support. They also offer digital training programs combining video coursework with limited in-person sessions. The facility notes 24/7 staffing and features both indoor play areas and outdoor K-9 turf spaces.
Board and train options at We Talk Dog range from a 7-day Puppy Jumpstart at $1,500 to a three-week program at $3,500, all including handoff sessions. Group classes run through three progressive levels, Foundations, Intermediate, and Advanced, at $295 each for six weeks. In-home training, virtual lessons, and a trick class round out the offerings, though pricing for the remote options isn't published.
$2,750
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization
Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support
$3,500
Duration: 3 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization, Recall & off-leash
Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support
$1,500
Duration: 7 days
Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
$2,750
Duration: 14 days
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Socialization, Leash training, Leash reactivity
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
$3,500
Duration: 21 days
Focus: Socialization, Basic obedience, Leash training, Leash reactivity
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
Price not published.
Duration: 8 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training
Includes: Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support
$295
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training
$295
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Recall & off-leash, Socialization, Leash reactivity
$295
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Advanced obedience, Leash training, Leash reactivity, Recall & off-leash, Socialization
$295 per course
Requirements: 6+ months of age
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization
$295 per course
Requirements: Must have passed Level 1; 6+ months of age
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Socialization
$295 per course
Requirements: Must have passed Level 2; 6+ months of age
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Advanced obedience, Socialization
$295 per course
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization
We Talk Dog publishes 3 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price | What differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Digital Private Lessons | Not stated | Not published | Leash reactivity |
| Digital Private Lesson Program | Not stated | Not published | Includes follow-up sessions |
| Digital Day Training Fusion Program | Not stated | Not published | Includes follow-up sessions |
Group classes cost $295 per six-week course across all levels. Board and train runs $1,500 for the week-long puppy program, $2,750 for two weeks, and $3,500 for three weeks. The longer residential programs include handoff sessions, follow-up sessions, and lifetime support.
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Two Week Board and Train | $2,750 | 2 weeks |
| Three Week Board and Train | $3,500 | 3 weeks |
| Puppy Jumpstart | $1,500 | 7 days |
| Board and Train | $2,750 | 14 days |
| Board and Train | $3,500 | 21 days |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| House Call | Not published | 8 weeks |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Foundations | $295 | 6 sessions |
| Intermediate | $295 | 6 sessions |
| Advanced | $295 | 6 sessions |
| Group Classes — Level 1: Foundations | $295 per course | 6 weeks |
| Group Classes — Level 2: Intermediate | $295 per course | 6 weeks |
| Group Classes — Level 3: Advanced | $295 per course | 6 weeks |
| Trick Class | $295 per course | 6 weeks |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Digital Private Lessons | Not published | Not stated |
| Digital Private Lesson Program | Not published | Not stated |
| Digital Day Training Fusion Program | Not published | Not stated |
The site explicitly describes their approach as balanced training.
Their public materials mention e-collars. Barklen has not verified how or when they are used, so ask the trainer directly.
As described in the business's own materials
According to their site, adam started the business after visiting hundreds of homes and working with thousands of dogs as a trainer, driven by a desire to help owners get well-behaved dogs. He personally owns two dogs.
According to their site, ellyn joined the company in 2013 as a handler and grew into leading the training program, working across consultations, house calls, and board-and-train services. She also competes with her own dog in dock diving, scentwork, barn hunt, lure coursing, and disc, and says she especially enjoys working with high-energy, challenging dogs.
We Talk Dog operates from a dedicated training facility in Birmingham, AL, offering board and train stays at their facility, group classes, in-home training at the client's home, and virtual sessions online.
Their site says they serve dog owners in the Birmingham, AL area needing anything from basic puppy training to serious behavior/aggression correction, as well as families wanting boarding, daycare, and grooming for their dogs.
Located in the Crestwood area, the facility spans over 9,000 square feet of dog play space with both indoor and outdoor areas.
Training happens at a dedicated facility on Caldwell Mill Road in Birmingham. The site doesn't mention parking availability or accessibility features.
Generated from what their public materials leave open
5196 Caldwell Mill Rd, Birmingham, AL
Barklen reviewed We Talk Dog against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, insurance, guarantee, certifications, dogs per trainer, years in business, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Oct 10, 2026
Contact We Talk Dog directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.