IMG_5839_edited_edited.jpg

Dog Quest — Dog Training in Escondido, CA

Dog Quest is a dog training business in Escondido, California offering group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They publish pricing from $225 per course and have been in business for 24+ years.

Escondido, CA • Training facility • 4.8 ★ (12 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

40 / 100

Limited information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
50%
Method transparency
0%
Program clarity
68%

About Dog Quest

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Anne Platt, who owns and leads Dog Quest, brings an unusually deep competition background to agility instruction. According to her site, she has earned 42 AKC Master Agility Champion titles across 10 dogs and has competed at AKC Nationals nearly every year since 1997. She also holds USDAA championship titles on seven dogs and has qualified for the Grand Prix Finals eleven times.

The Escondido facility reflects this competition focus. The main training ring measures 115 by 190 feet, large enough to set up a full standard and jumpers course simultaneously. A separate fenced beginner ring with a sand surface gives newer dogs their own space. The site describes its philosophy as preparing every student for competition, even those who never plan to enter trials, so handlers understand course rules and can run full sequences.

Classes progress through structured levels that align with AKC, USDAA, and CPE trial standards, from beginner foundations through masters. Since 2021, additional instructors including Gail Owashi, Jessica Bisset, and Amber Matusek have taught the introductory classes, while Platt continues to lead the advanced levels. Dog Quest has operated at this single location since 2001.

What dog training programs does Dog Quest offer?

Agility is the sole focus here, with group classes spanning introduction through competition levels. Dog Quest runs five-week courses requiring dogs to be at least ten months old and comfortable waiting on leash around other dogs. Higher-level classes require crate training, and the advanced tiers are structured around AKC competition standards.

Introduction to Dog Agility

$225 per course

This class introduces dogs and handlers to basic agility foundations using jumps and tunnels, with more advanced obstacles like weaves and contacts added if the team progresses. It can be repeated multiple times to build confidence and skill before moving forward.

Dogs and owners attend weekly one-hour classes in a small, fenced beginner ring, taking turns while waiting on leash.

Best for: Dogs with little or no prior agility training, at least 10 months old, without aggression or excessive barking issues.

Requirements: Minimum age 10 months; dogs must tolerate waiting on leash without aggression or excessive barking

Duration: 5 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Agility & dog sports

Foundation for Competition

$225 per course

This class covers agility competition rules and introduces more advanced obstacles including weave poles and 2-on 2-off contact performance. It is structured over three consecutive five-week sessions to build the skills needed to move up in level.

Dogs attend weekly one-hour classes and must be comfortable waiting in a crate between turns.

Best for: Dogs with little or no agility experience whose owners are interested in eventually competing.

Requirements: Requires three consecutive sessions; dog must be crate trained for higher level classes

Duration: 5 weeks

Focus: Agility & dog sports, Advanced obedience

Pre-Novice/ Novice

Price not published.

This level refines one or two remaining obstacles for dogs nearing competition readiness, or serves dogs already competing in Novice Standard classes in AKC, USDAA, or CPE level 3.

Dogs attend scheduled weekly classes at the training field working on refining specific obstacles.

Best for: Dogs with extensive prior agility training, not appropriate for beginners.

Requirements: For dogs with extensive agility training not yet ready for competition, or competing in Novice Standard

Focus: Advanced obedience, Agility & dog sports

Open/ Excellent

Price not published.

This advanced level class is designed for dogs already competing at Open/Advanced Standard or Excellent level in AKC, USDAA, or CPE, continuing to refine skills at higher competition levels.

Dogs attend multiple weekly time slots at the large competition-size training field led by instructor Anne Platt.

Best for: Dogs already competing at Open or Excellent agility levels.

Requirements: For dogs competing in Open/Advanced Standard or having earned an Excellent/Advanced Standard leg

Focus: Advanced obedience, Agility & dog sports

How much does Dog Quest cost?

Introductory and foundation courses are each $225 for five weeks. Pricing for the more advanced Pre-Novice through Excellent levels isn't published on the site.

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Dog Quest in Escondido, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Introduction to Dog Agility$225 per course5 weeks
Foundation for Competition$225 per course5 weeks
Pre-Novice/ NoviceNot publishedNot stated
Open/ ExcellentNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does Dog Quest use?

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not state which training method Dog Quest uses.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Dog Quest?

As described in the business's own materials

Anne Platt, Owner and lead instructor

According to their site, long-time national-level agility competitor who has run multiple dogs in AKC and USDAA national events over many years, earning numerous championship titles.

Credentials listed on their site: 42 AKC Master Agility Champion (MACH) titles across 10 dogs, USDAA Agility Dog Championship (ADCH) title on 7 dogs, and 11-time Grand Prix Finals competitor. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Gail Owashi, Instructor

According to their site, teaches beginner and pre-novice/novice level classes.

Jessica Bisset, Instructor

According to their site, teaches a beginner-level foundation class.

Amber Matusek, Instructor

According to their site, listed as an instructor for pre-novice/novice classes.

Where does Dog Quest offer dog training?

Dog Quest operates from a dedicated training facility in Escondido, CA, offering group classes.

Their site says they dog owners ranging from complete beginners with no agility experience to advanced handlers preparing for national-level competition.

The training field in Escondido includes a large competition-sized ring and a smaller, fully fenced beginner ring, with shade tents and parking areas.

The Bernardo Avenue facility is in Escondido. Parking and accessibility details aren't published.

How does Dog Quest compare with other Escondido dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 5 published Escondido listings (16 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Dog Quest.

Price: entry price within the published Escondido range for group classes ($225 vs. $100–$225).

Reviews: 4.8★ from 12 Google reviews, among 5 published Escondido programs.

Transparency: 40 out of 100 (limited information), with 50% price transparency and 68% program clarity. 2 of 5 Escondido listings show certifications; this business does not list any.

Published prices at Dog Quest compared with Escondido ranges
Program typeDog QuestEscondido rangeBarklen read
Group Classes$225$100–$225 across 11 Escondido programsEntry price within the published Escondido range

What should you ask Dog Quest before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Pre-Novice/ Novice and Open/ Excellent, which are not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training methods they use and whether aversive tools are part of the program.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.

Location and hours

2642 Bernardo Ave, Escondido, CA

Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Dog Quest against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (training method, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
4 programs (group classes)
Published pricing
Published for 2 of 4 programs
Aggression and reactivity cases
Does not take aggression cases
Facility
Training facility
Guarantee
No guarantee offered
Years in business
24+ years
Booking
Contact form
Waitlist
Mentions a waitlist

Contact Dog Quest or request a quote

Contact Dog Quest directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 760-489-0537Website

Compare Escondido programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Escondido →