PhDogs is a dog training business in Riverside, California offering board and train, private lessons, group classes, and virtual training, working from a dedicated training facility. They take aggression cases by assessment and list CCPDT and AKC CGC Evaluator credentials.
Riverside, CA • Training facility • 4.8 ★ (62 Google reviews)
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Price transparency
0%
Method transparency
0%
Program clarity
70%
About PhDogs
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Bethany Preud'homme, who founded PhDogs in 2011, brings an unusual combination of credentials: she's certified through the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers, competes in French Ring sport with her own dogs, and in 2013 completed a roughly 3,000-mile thru-hike of the Continental Divide Trail with a working dog. She appeared on America's Top Dog in 2021 with her Australian Cattle Dog. Her co-owner and husband, Jean Luc Preud'homme, trained K9s in the French Army and holds multiple decoy certifications in French protection sports, having placed on the podium at national and international competitions.
The Riverside-area facility operates by appointment and includes outdoor exercise yards plus what they describe as California's only 60-foot dock diving pool, available year-round for lessons and rental. Services range from private lessons and group classes to board-and-train programs of two, four, or six weeks. They also offer a daycare-with-training hybrid that pairs daily play with weekly private sessions.
According to their site, their approach emphasizes teaching owners to communicate clearly with their dogs, reinforcing desired behaviors while discouraging unwanted ones. Beyond general obedience, they provide assessment and coaching for dogs suited to French Ring and Mondioring, and they breed working-line Belgian Tervurens they describe as combining international bloodlines.
What dog training programs does PhDogs offer?
Board-and-train options at PhDogs run from two to six weeks through their K9 Camp and Daycare & Train programs, with the latter including follow-up sessions. Group classes cover puppies (10 weeks to 6 months), obedience for older dogs, and agility. They also offer private lessons, virtual training, and protection/sport work for owners seeking specialized training.
K9 Camp
Price not published.
A board and train option built for owners with packed schedules or dogs needing deeper behavior work. It's offered in 2, 4, or 6 week lengths, with pick up and drop off available so the plan fits the individual dog.
The dog stays with the trainers for the chosen number of weeks, with pick up and drop off arranged.
Best for: Suited to owners with busy schedules or dogs that need immersive training or behavior modification.
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression
K9 Camp — 2 Week Program
Price not published.
The shortest board and train option, giving a compact timeframe for immersive training or behavior modification.
The dog boards with the trainers for 2 weeks, with pick up and drop off available.
Best for: Suited to owners with busy schedules or dogs that need immersive training or behavior modification.
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression
Daycare & Train — 2 Week Program
Price not published.
A short-term version of the daycare and train format, pairing daily training and enrichment with a weekly lesson for owners.
Runs over 2 weeks with weekday drop off between 7 and 10am and pick up between 4 and 7pm, plus a weekly lesson.
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience
Includes: Follow-up sessions
K9 Camp — 4 Week Program
Price not published.
A mid-length version of the board and train program, giving more time for immersive training or behavior modification than the shorter option.
The dog boards with the trainers for 4 weeks, with pick up and drop off available.
Best for: Suited to owners with busy schedules or dogs that need immersive training or behavior modification.
Duration: 4 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression
Daycare & Train — 4 Week Program
Price not published.
A mid-length daycare and train track combining daily training and enrichment with weekly lessons to keep owners updated.
Runs over 4 weeks with weekday drop off between 7 and 10am and pick up between 4 and 7pm, plus a weekly lesson.
Duration: 4 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience
Includes: Follow-up sessions
K9 Camp — 6 Week Program
Price not published.
The longest board and train track offered, intended for dogs that need more extensive immersive training or behavior modification work.
The dog boards with the trainers for 6 weeks, with pick up and drop off available.
Best for: Suited to owners with busy schedules or dogs that need immersive training or behavior modification.
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression
Daycare & Train — 6 Week Program
Price not published.
The longest daycare and train option, offering extended daily training and enrichment alongside weekly owner lessons.
Runs over 6 weeks with weekday drop off between 7 and 10am and pick up between 4 and 7pm, plus a weekly lesson.
Duration: 6 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience
Includes: Follow-up sessions
Daycare & Train
Price not published.
Combines daily training and enrichment during the day with weekly private lessons so owners stay informed on progress. Runs Monday through Friday with set drop off and pick up windows.
Dogs are dropped off between 7 and 10am and picked up between 4 and 7pm each weekday, with a weekly lesson to show owners what's been worked on.
Focus: Basic obedience
Includes: Follow-up sessions
Private Sessions
Price not published.
One-on-one lesson that teach owners how to reinforce wanted behaviors and discourage unwanted ones, building clear communication with their dog. Offered weekly or bi-weekly, as single sessions or discounted packages of 5, with virtual options too.
Owners are taught directly by the trainer during scheduled weekly or bi-weekly sessions.
Best for: Best for owners who have the time and ability to work with their dogs daily.
Focus: Basic obedience
Protection & Sport Training
Price not published.
Private coaching for dogs assessed as having potential for protection or sport work, including guidance toward French Ring and Mondioring goals using certified decoys. Also covers training dogs for personal deterrent or protective roles.
Includes an assessment of the dog's potential, followed by private sessions or club training with certified decoys.
Best for: For dogs evaluated as having the temperament and potential suited to protection or sport work.
Focus: Agility & dog sports, Aggression
Group Classes
Price not published.
Covers both agility for confidence and body awareness and obedience for foundational skills, run as classes for young dogs.
Best for: Designed for puppies up to 6 months old.
Requirements: Designed for puppies up to 6 months old
Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience, Agility & dog sports
Puppy Class
Price not published.
A group class aimed at building a solid foundation for young pups to continue developing later on.
Best for: For puppies between 10 weeks and 6 months old.
Requirements: For pups between 10 weeks to 6 months
A group class focused on building confidence and body awareness, helping both shy and high-energy dogs learn to focus around distractions.
Best for: Open to puppies up to 6 months old, including both shy and exuberant temperaments.
Focus: Agility & dog sports, Fear & anxiety, Socialization
Obedience Class
Price not published.
A group class that establishes basic obedience skills, working toward readiness for a Canine Good Citizen test.
Best for: For dogs 6 months and older.
Requirements: For dogs 6 months and older
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience
Virtual Sessions
Price not published.
Ask whether Virtual Sessions is delivered online, in person, or both.
A remote version of the private lesson format for owners who want guidance without meeting in person.
Focus: Basic obedience
How much does PhDogs cost?
PhDogs does not publish program pricing online. Contact them directly or request a quote through Barklen for current rates.
Board and Train pricing
Board and Train pricing at PhDogs in Riverside, CA
Program
Price
Length
K9 Camp
Not published
2 weeks
K9 Camp — 2 Week Program
Not published
2 weeks
Daycare & Train — 2 Week Program
Not published
2 weeks
K9 Camp — 4 Week Program
Not published
4 weeks
Daycare & Train — 4 Week Program
Not published
4 weeks
K9 Camp — 6 Week Program
Not published
6 weeks
Daycare & Train — 6 Week Program
Not published
6 weeks
Daycare & Train
Not published
Not stated
Private Lessons pricing
Private Lessons pricing at PhDogs in Riverside, CA
Program
Price
Length
Private Sessions
Not published
Not stated
Protection & Sport Training
Not published
Not stated
Group Classes pricing
Group Classes pricing at PhDogs in Riverside, CA
Program
Price
Length
Group Classes
Not published
Not stated
Puppy Class
Not published
Not stated
Agility Class
Not published
Not stated
Obedience Class
Not published
Not stated
Virtual Training pricing
Virtual Training pricing at PhDogs in Riverside, CA
Program
Price
Length
Virtual Sessions
Not published
Not stated
What training methods does PhDogs use?
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not state which training method PhDogs uses.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
Who runs PhDogs?
As described in the business's own materials
Bethany Preud'homme, Founder / Co-owner
According to their site, professional dog trainer since 2010 who competes in French Ring with her own dogs. She hiked the roughly 3,000-mile Continental Divide Trail with a working dog in 2013 and appeared on America's Top Dog in 2021 with her Australian Cattle Dog.
Credentials listed on their site: Certified by the Certification Council for Professional Dog Trainers (CCPDT) and AKC Canine Good Citizen evaluator. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Jean Luc Preud'homme, Trainer / Co-owner
According to their site, trainer from Bordeaux, France, who served as a K9 trainer and handler in the French Army. He works both as a decoy in protection sports and as a handler, and has placed on the podium in national and international competitions.
Credentials listed on their site: Level 3 Campagne sport decoy, Level 2 Mondioring decoy, and Level 2 French Ring decoy. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Where does PhDogs offer dog training?
PhDogs operates from a dedicated training facility in Riverside, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility, private lessons, group classes, and virtual sessions online.
Their site says they owners with busy schedules needing board-and-train or daycare-with-training options, owners wanting to train their own dogs through private lessons, puppy owners, and those pursuing dog sports such as French Ring, Mondioring, agility, or dock diving.
Located in Jurupa Valley, California, operating by appointment only and serving the Southern California region. Includes outdoor play/exercise yards and a dedicated dock diving pool.
The facility sits at 8560 Lakeview Ave. Parking availability and accessibility features aren't mentioned on the site.
How does PhDogs compare with other Riverside dog trainers?
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 7 published Riverside listings (20 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by PhDogs.
Price: PhDogs does not publish pricing for the program types where Riverside has enough published prices to compare (board and train).
Reviews: 4.8★ from 62 Google reviews, among 7 published Riverside programs.
Transparency: 18 out of 100 (minimal information), with 0% price transparency and 70% program clarity. 3 of 7 Riverside listings show certifications; this business lists CCPDT and AKC CGC Evaluator.
Published prices at PhDogs compared with Riverside ranges
Program type
PhDogs
Riverside range
Barklen read
Board and Train
Not published
$2,343–$3,848 across 6 Riverside programs
No published price to compare
What should you ask PhDogs before booking?
Generated from what their public materials leave open
Ask whether Virtual Sessions is delivered online, in person, or both.
They don't publish pricing. Ask what a board and train stay costs and exactly what is included.
Ask for proof of liability insurance.
Ask which training methods they use and whether aversive tools are part of the program.
Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
Location and hours
8560 Lakeview Ave, Riverside, CA
Monday – Friday
6:30 AM – 7:00 PM
Saturday – Sunday
7:00 AM – 7:00 PM
How Barklen reviewed this listing
Barklen reviewed PhDogs against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (training method, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 8, 2026
What Barklen could verify
Programs listed
15 programs (board and train, private lessons, group classes, virtual training)
Published pricing
None published
Aggression and reactivity cases
Aggression cases by assessment
Facility
Training facility
Certifications
CCPDT, AKC CGC Evaluator
Years in business
14+ years
Booking
Contact form
Contact PhDogs or request a quote
Contact PhDogs directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.