Behavior Assessment
A required initial evaluation of the dog's behavior conducted before starting Owner Coaching or Day Training programs.
Best for: Required before enrolling in Owner Coaching or Day Training sessions
Focus: Basic obedience

Dog Club is a dog training business in San Francisco, California offering Private Lessons, Group Classes, and In-Home Training, with published programs from $175.
San Francisco • CA • 5.0 ★ (6 Google reviews)
Last verified: Sep 5, 2026
95 / 100
Highly transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
What they say about themselves
Dog Club operates out of San Francisco's Dogpatch neighborhood, offering a combination of training programs and dog walking services built around what they describe as force-free, positive reinforcement methods. Their site emphasizes building long-term behavioral change through clear owner-dog communication rather than quick fixes.
The business structures its offerings around different levels of owner involvement. Their owner coaching program pairs weekly one-on-one sessions with hands-on technique instruction, requiring an initial behavior assessment. For owners with less time, they offer day training where a trainer works directly with the dog three times weekly, plus a weekly handover session to transfer skills. Group classes are divided by age—puppy classes for dogs 8-16 weeks cover socialization, basic manners, and handling for vet visits, while adolescent classes continue through the one-year mark with impulse control and recall work.
Their puppy preschool runs weekday afternoons from 12:30 to 3:30, alternating between learning, play, and rest periods. According to their site, owners receive weekly written progress reports. The dog walking side includes daily off-leash group outings at fenced local parks, described as combining exercise, socialization, and basic command practice.
Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.
A required initial evaluation of the dog's behavior conducted before starting Owner Coaching or Day Training programs.
Best for: Required before enrolling in Owner Coaching or Day Training sessions
Focus: Basic obedience
Day training, group classes, and private coaching cover puppies through adolescent dogs. Young Pup classes ($295 for four weeks) accept puppies 8–16 weeks old with initial vaccinations, while Tween Pup runs the same price for dogs up to 12 months without leash reactivity. Day training and owner coaching sessions require a behavior assessment first.
Group classes cost $295 for a four-week course. Private sessions and day training run $175 each, with packages available: three owner coaching sessions for $435, or three day training sessions for $1,525 (the latter includes handoff sessions with owners).
One-on-one coaching sessions teach the owner hands-on techniques to train their own dog, with content customized to the owner's goals. Sessions run weekly and are 60 minutes each, aimed at owners who can commit time to practicing between sessions.
The owner works directly with a certified trainer during each session, learning to apply techniques themselves rather than having the dog trained separately.
Best for: Owners who have time to actively participate in training, including those with puppies or dogs needing basic manners.
Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Owner Coaching | $175 per session | — |
A three-week program where a trainer works directly with the dog three times per week for an hour, plus a weekly 30-minute handover session so the owner learns to reinforce the training.
The trainer works with the dog directly during the week, then teaches the owner the same skills during a weekly handover session.
Best for: Busy owners who want the trainer to do most of the hands-on work, including puppies and dogs needing basic manners.
Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training
Duration: 3 weeks; 3-session package $1,525
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Day Training | $175 per session | 3 weeks |
A four-week adolescent class for dogs transitioning out of puppyhood, reinforcing recall, loose leash walking, and impulse control while introducing distraction and handling exercises in a group setting.
Dogs attend weekly 55-minute classes with their owners in a group format at the facility.
Best for: Adolescent dogs aged 17 weeks to 12 months without leash reactivity to dogs or people.
Focus: Socialization, Leash training, Basic obedience, Recall & off-leash
Duration: 4 weeks
A foundational four-week puppy class covering socialization with dogs and people, basic manners like sit, down, and stay, loose leash walking, and handling practice for grooming and vet exams.
Puppies and owners attend weekly 55-minute group classes, with up to two people allowed per dog.
Best for: Puppies between 8 and 16 weeks old with their first round of core vaccinations.
Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience
Duration: 4 weeks
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Tween Pup | $295 per program | 4 weeks |
| Young Pup | $295 per program | 4 weeks |
They explicitly describe their approach as force-free. Aggression and reactivity cases are considered individually rather than accepted or declined outright.
Method: Reward-based
Uses rewards and positive reinforcement only, without corrections or aversive tools.
Certifications: Not specified on their website
Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.
Weekly video updates are provided during day training programs. Insurance, certifications, and guarantee terms aren't listed on the site.
Facility: not specified on their website.
Owner visits: not specified on their website.
Video updates: Weekly updates
Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.
Insurance: not specified on their website.
Guarantee: not specified on their website.
Waitlist: not specified on their website.
Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.
Booking: Contact form
Price: Dog Club does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Francisco, 46 programs publish prices from about $68 to $783.
Reviews: Dog Club shows 5.0★ from 6 Google reviews among 13 published San Francisco programs.
Transparency: This listing scores 95 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 80%). 5 of 13 San Francisco listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.
Training happens at 1255 22nd St in the Dogpatch neighborhood. Parking and accessibility details aren't mentioned.
1255 22nd St, San Francisco, CA
Friday: 9AM-5PM
Monday: 9AM-5PM
Sunday: Closed
Tuesday: 9AM-5PM
Saturday: Closed
Thursday: 9AM-5PM
Wednesday: 9AM-5PM
Reach out directly or send a quote request through Dog Club.

Good Dog Happy Dog LLC
San Francisco, CA · 5.0 ★ (14)
Private Lessons
2 programs
From $800
Reward-based

Top Dog SF
San Francisco, CA · 4.9 ★ (104)
Group Classes · Board and Train · In-Home Training
7 programs
From $35
Reward-based

Primepaw Dog Training: San Francisco's BEST!
San Francisco, CA · 4.8 ★ (209)
Group Classes · In-Home Training · Private Lessons
10 programs
From $60
Reward-based

Joan 4 Pets
San Francisco, CA · 5.0 ★ (2)
Private Lessons
4 programs
From $50
Reward-based

Beast Mode Dog Training at Bernal Beast
San Francisco, CA · 5.0 ★ (1)
Group Classes
10 programs
From $35
Reward-based

Better Nature Dog Training
San Francisco, CA · 5.0 ★ (19)
Virtual Training
1 program
From $105
Method unclear