Canine Training Research Group
Canine Training Research Group
Canine Training Research Group
German Shepherd on a leash
German Shepherd on a leash
German Shepherd on a leash
Unleash the Potential
																									Experience Exceptional Canine Training and Boarding Services. Serving Houston Texas and the Surrounding Areas.
Unleash the Potential
																									Experience Exceptional Canine Training and Boarding Services. Serving Houston Texas and the Surrounding Areas.

1 / 8

Canine Training Research Group — Dog Training in Houston, TX

Canine Training Research Group is a dog training business in Houston, Texas offering board and train, private lessons, in-home training, and group classes, working from a home-based setup. They accept aggression and reactivity cases and publish pricing from $75 per day to $2,000.

Houston, TX • Home-based trainer • 5.0 ★ (30 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Oct 10, 2026

Transparency Score

58 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
71%
Method transparency
35%
Program clarity
62%

About Canine Training Research Group

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Canine Training Research Group is listed among dog training programs in Houston. Published program types include private lessons, board and train, group classes. The rest of this listing covers only what their public materials state.

What dog training programs does Canine Training Research Group offer?

Private lessons at $150 per session cover basic obedience, while board and train programs start at $2,000 for 2 weeks and extend to 4-6 weeks for more advanced work including socialization. Canine Training Research Group also offers group socials with agility and nosework, detection dog services, and hunting dog maintenance training at $300 per month. Private boarding runs $75 per day and includes refresher training.

Board and Train - 2 Weeks

From $2,000

A two-week immersive residential program that builds foundational obedience, covering all basic commands.

The dog stays with the trainer for two weeks of immersive training.

Duration: 2 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience

Board and Train - 4-6 Weeks

From $2,000

An extended immersive residential program of four to six weeks that builds on basic obedience to deepen training and improve socialization.

The dog boards with the trainer for an extended period of structured training.

Duration: 4 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Advanced obedience

Private Boarding

$75 per day

In-home boarding provided by a CTRG staff member rather than a corporate kennel, with refresher training included at no extra cost for past training clients.

The dog stays in the home of a CTRG staff member during the boarding period.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Refresher sessions

Private Training Sessions

$150 per session

A one-on-one session held in the client's home or a preferred location, where a staff member addresses the owner's specific goals and concerns.

A trainer meets the owner and dog at a chosen location to discuss needs and provide guidance.

Focus: Basic obedience

Detection Dog Services

Price not published.

Specialized scent detection training drawing on over fifteen years of professional working-dog experience.

Focus: Scent work

Hunting Dog Maintenance Training

$300 per month

A recurring monthly program where the trainer picks up the hunting dog on a scheduled basis to refresh its field training ahead of hunting season.

The trainer picks up the dog on a schedule, refreshes training, and returns it to the owner.

Best for: Owners of gun dogs who want them field-ready for hunting season.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash

Group Socials, Agility, Nosework

Price not published.

Group classes covering socialization, agility, and nosework, with current offerings announced via contact or Facebook.

Dogs and owners attend scheduled group sessions for socialization, agility, or scent work.

Focus: Socialization, Agility & dog sports, Scent work

How much does Canine Training Research Group cost?

Private sessions cost $150 each, and board and train starts at $2,000 regardless of whether you choose the 2-week or 4-6 week option. Hunting dog maintenance is $300 monthly, while private boarding with refresher training runs $75 per day. Group classes, detection services, and nosework sessions don't have published pricing.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Canine Training Research Group in Houston, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Board and Train - 2 WeeksFrom $2,0002 weeks
Board and Train - 4-6 WeeksFrom $2,0004 weeks
Private Boarding$75 per dayNot stated

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Canine Training Research Group in Houston, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Private Training Sessions$150 per sessionNot stated
Detection Dog ServicesNot publishedNot stated

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at Canine Training Research Group in Houston, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Hunting Dog Maintenance Training$300 per monthNot stated

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Canine Training Research Group in Houston, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Group Socials, Agility, NoseworkNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does Canine Training Research Group use?

The site uses general language about training philosophy without naming a specific methodology. Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used. They do state they accept dogs with aggression issues.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Canine Training Research Group?

As described in the business's own materials

Scott, Owner

According to their site, holds a Master's degree in Intelligence Studies from Mercyhurst College focused on human and canine ergonomics. He previously managed canine programs for the US Government as a Supervisory Canine Professional and Data Analyst, worked as a private canine contractor, founded a canine technology company, and consulted in the field for years. He has over 15 years of professional canine experience and nearly 20 years overall working with dogs, and has trained alongside organizations in more than 7 countries.

Credentials listed on their site: Master's degree in Intelligence Studies, Mercyhurst College. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Where does Canine Training Research Group offer dog training?

Canine Training Research Group runs a home-based training operation in Houston, TX, offering board and train stays, private lessons, group classes, and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they they describe serving owners wanting evidence-based training for their dogs, owners seeking premium boarding, and individuals or institutions interested in canine research.

The Diana Lane address in the 77062 zip code is a residential property. Parking and accessibility details aren't mentioned in public materials.

How does Canine Training Research Group compare with other Houston dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 5 published Houston listings (9 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Canine Training Research Group.

Price: 97% below the Houston midpoint at entry price for board and train ($75–$2,000 vs. $2,000–$4,710).

Reviews: 5.0★ from 30 Google reviews, among 5 published Houston programs.

Transparency: 58 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 71% price transparency and 62% program clarity. 1 of 5 Houston listings show certifications; this business does not list any.

Published prices at Canine Training Research Group compared with Houston ranges
Program typeCanine Training Research GroupHouston rangeBarklen read
Board and Train$75–$2,000$2,000–$4,710 across 5 Houston programs97% below the Houston midpoint at entry price

What should you ask Canine Training Research Group before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Group Socials, Agility, Nosework and Detection Dog Services, which are not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.

Location and hours

16511 Diana Ln, Houston, TX

Monday – Sunday
8:00 AM – 8:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Canine Training Research Group against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Oct 10, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
7 programs (board and train, private lessons, in-home training, group classes)
Published pricing
Published for 5 of 7 programs
Training method
Method unclear
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Home-based trainer
Years in business
15+ years
Booking
Contact form

Contact Canine Training Research Group or request a quote

Contact Canine Training Research Group directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 716-969-0662Website

Compare Houston programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Houston →