Canine Initiative Training

Canine Initiative Training — Dog Training in Katy, TX

Canine Initiative Training is a dog training business in Katy, Texas offering board and train, private lessons, and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They accept aggression and reactivity cases.

Katy, TX • Training facility • 4.9 ★ (38 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Oct 10, 2026

Transparency Score

27 / 100

Minimal information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
0%
Method transparency
35%
Program clarity
66%

About Canine Initiative Training

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Will Anderson, a former U.S. Marine who studied canine psychology and animal behavioral science after his military service, owns Canine Initiative Training in Katy, Texas. According to their site, Anderson also develops educational programs that bring dogs into schools and daycares to teach children about responsible pet ownership.

The business describes its training philosophy as focused on building clear communication between dogs and owners through teaching, rewarding, and inspiring the right behaviors rather than punishment. They state their trainers are certified with years of experience, and they position themselves as an ongoing support system rather than a one-time training service.

Canine Initiative Training offers private lessons, group classes, and boarding options. Their day train program provides full-day individualized training while owners work, with exit lessons to continue practice at home. The boarding and training program combines overnight care with consistent training. According to their materials, they work with dogs aged 4 months to 15 years, with puppies as young as 12 weeks accepted for group classes. Their specialties include obedience training with options for off-leash work, behavior modification for issues like separation anxiety and leash pulling, trick training, and aggression management that evaluates root causes before building a correction plan.

What dog training programs does Canine Initiative Training offer?

Private lessons, puppy group classes, day training, and board-and-train programs make up the offerings at Canine Initiative Training. Private lessons accept dogs from 4 months to 15 years old, while the puppy group class is limited to dogs 12 weeks to 6 months who pass an evaluation first. Both board-and-train options include handoff sessions to transfer skills to owners.

Day Train Program

Price not published.

The dog spends the day at the facility receiving individualized training while the owner is at work, with scheduled exit lessons to teach owners how to maintain progress.

The dog is dropped off for a full day of training and picked up with an exit lesson for the owner.

Best for: Busy pet parents who want continuous dog education without disrupting their workday.

Duration: 1 day

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Owner handoff sessions

Boarding and Training

Price not published.

The dog boards at the facility while receiving ongoing training, with a briefing for owners upon pickup on how to continue the training at home.

The dog stays at the facility, trains daily, and owners receive a progress briefing and instruction at pickup.

Best for: Owners who are out of town and want their dog's training to continue uninterrupted.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included, Owner handoff sessions

Private Lessons

Price not published.

One-on-one training sessions focused entirely on the individual dog's needs and the owner's personal training goals, scheduled at the owner's convenience.

Sessions are one-on-one between trainer, dog, and owner, scheduled Monday through Friday.

Best for: Dogs aged 4 months to 15 years with owners who want a personalized, flexible schedule.

Requirements: Available for dogs aged 4 months to 15 years

Focus: Basic obedience

Puppy Group Training

Price not published.

A structured class where approved puppies learn obedience and social skills alongside other dogs in a group setting.

Puppies attend group sessions together to build obedience and camaraderie with canine classmates.

Best for: Puppies aged 12 weeks to 6 months who have passed an evaluation for group readiness.

Requirements: Ideal for dogs that have been evaluated and approved for group lessons; suitable for ages 12 weeks to 6 months

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

How much does Canine Initiative Training cost?

Canine Initiative Training does not publish program pricing online. Contact them directly or request a quote through Barklen for current rates.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Canine Initiative Training in Katy, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Day Train ProgramNot published1 day
Boarding and TrainingNot publishedNot stated

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Canine Initiative Training in Katy, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Private LessonsNot publishedNot stated

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Canine Initiative Training in Katy, TX
ProgramPriceLength
Puppy Group TrainingNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does Canine Initiative Training use?

The site uses general language about training philosophy without naming a specific approach or the tools involved. Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used. They do accept dogs with aggression or reactivity issues.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Canine Initiative Training?

As described in the business's own materials

Will Anderson, Owner

According to their site, a former U.S. Marine who transitioned into dog training after his military service, studying canine psychology and animal behavioral science. He also develops educational programs that bring dogs into schools and daycares to teach responsible pet ownership.

Where does Canine Initiative Training offer dog training?

Canine Initiative Training operates from a dedicated training facility in Katy, TX, offering board and train stays at their facility, private lessons, and group classes.

Their site says they works with dogs aged 4 months to 15 years, including puppies as young as 12 weeks for group classes, and serves busy pet owners needing day training or boarding options, Monday through Friday.

The Katy facility sits in a commercial suite on West Grand Parkway South. Parking and accessibility details are not listed on the website.

What should you ask Canine Initiative Training before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • They don't publish pricing. Ask what a board and train stay costs and exactly what is included.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.

Location and hours

403 W Grand Pkwy S Ste F #170, Katy, TX

Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Saturday – Sunday
Closed

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Canine Initiative Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Oct 10, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
4 programs (board and train, private lessons, group classes)
Published pricing
None published
Training method
Method unclear
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Training facility
Booking
Contact form

Contact Canine Initiative Training or request a quote

Contact Canine Initiative Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 832-432-1894Website

Similar programs nearby

See more dog trainers in Texas →