Utility/Open Obedience semi-private lessons
$30–$40 per session
Focus: Advanced obedience
1 / 8
Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc is a dog training business in San Antonio, Texas offering private lessons and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They publish pricing from $30–$40 per session to $180 per course and list AKC CGC Evaluator credentials.
San Antonio, TX • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (55 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Oct 10, 2026
47 / 100
Limited information
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Founded in 1953, Alamo Dog Obedience Club describes itself as the first obedience training club established in San Antonio. What began with classes in a parking lot has evolved into a member-run organization operating from a dedicated facility in southeast San Antonio, featuring an indoor air-conditioned training space, a packed dirt agility arena, and an on-site Fast CAT track.
The club's volunteer instructors bring decades of competition experience across multiple disciplines. Joni Puckett, a retired schoolteacher and AKC-certified Canine Good Citizen instructor, has been giving private lessons for over 30 years. Christine Meyers earned an AKC Agility Grand Championship in 2023 training rescue dogs and now serves as an ACT evaluator. Several instructors, including Debbie Moore, Matt Palmieri, and Courtney Moore, hold judging certifications with AKC, USDAA, or UKI.
According to their site, the club uses positive, motivational methods and emphasizes letting each dog progress at its own pace. Programming spans basic manners and puppy classes through advanced competition training in agility, rally, obedience, and scent work, with options for AKC titling at each level. The club also hosts sanctioned trials and Fast CAT events at its facility. Membership appears oriented toward dog owners seeking both foundational skills and those pursuing titles through AKC and other venues.
Group classes span puppy basics through competition-level rally and agility, with AKC title opportunities woven throughout. Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc. offers STAR Puppy certification, CGC preparation, scent work, and multiple tiers of agility training. Semi-private and private lessons are available for advanced obedience work, taught by named instructors.
$30–$40 per session
Focus: Advanced obedience
Price not published.
Focus: Basic obedience
Price not published.
Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience
$120 per course
Duration: 4 weeks
Focus: Advanced obedience
$140 per course
Duration: 4 weeks
Focus: Agility & dog sports
$140 per course
Duration: 4 sessions
Focus: Agility & dog sports
$180 per course
Requirements: If your pup is under a year old, and you'd like to earn the S.T.A.R. Puppy title
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization
$180 per course
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience
$180 per course
Requirements: FULL
Duration: 6 sessions
Focus: Agility & dog sports
Price not published.
Focus: Scent work
Price not published.
Focus: Advanced obedience
Price not published.
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience
Group courses run $120 to $180 depending on length, with beginner agility at $140 for four weeks and manners classes at $180 for six sessions. Semi-private obedience lessons fall between $30 and $40 per session. Some programs, including scent work and certain private lessons, don't list prices on the site.
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Utility/Open Obedience semi-private lessons | $30–$40 per session | Not stated |
| Private Lessons with Joni Puckett | Not published | Not stated |
| Private obedience/rally with Debbie Moore | Not published | Not stated |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| AKC Masters & Excellent Rally | $120 per course | 4 weeks |
| Beginner Agility Classes | $140 per course | 4 weeks |
| Thursday Agility | $140 per course | 4 sessions |
| Basic Manners I/STAR Puppy/Novice Trick Dog | $180 per course | 6 sessions |
| Basic Manner II/CGC | $180 per course | 6 sessions |
| Sunday Beginner 2 Agility Class | $180 per course | 6 sessions |
| Scent Work Sunday with Joni Puckett | Not published | Not stated |
| RALLY with Joni Puckett | Not published | Not stated |
| Novice Obedience Class | Not published | Not stated |
The site uses general language about training philosophy without naming specific techniques or tools. Whether they work with aggression or reactivity cases isn't addressed.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
As described in the business's own materials
According to their site, a retired schoolteacher who began training with the club in the 1970s and has given private lessons for over 30 years, focusing on building the owner-dog bond.
Credentials listed on their site: AKC certified Canine Good Citizen instructor. Barklen has not independently verified these.
According to their site, started training her first dog in obedience in 2005, moved into agility in 2009, and has earned dozens of titles on rescue dogs, including an AKC Agility Grand Championship in 2023.
Credentials listed on their site: ACT evaluator and Chief course builder for club agility trials. Barklen has not independently verified these.
According to their site, has owned and trained Australian Shepherds and other dogs in agility, scent work, and Fast CAT since 2003, earning multiple MACH and PACH titles; began teaching at the club in 2022.
According to their site, grew up with untrained family pets and began serious obedience training after taking in an aggressive German Shepherd; has since trained and trialed multiple dogs in obedience, agility, and stock work across AKC and ASCA.
According to their site, began training dogs as a child, earned an obedience title on her poodle at age 7, and now competes and judges agility in multiple venues.
Credentials listed on their site: AKC agility judge and UKI and USDAA agility judge. Barklen has not independently verified these.
According to their site, shows and titles her Siberian Huskies and Schipperke in conformation, obedience, rally, Fast CAT, and agility.
According to their site, previously taught and judged agility in California; now trains and shows his own dogs in agility, rally, conformation, scent work, herding, and Fast CAT while running an unrelated interior design business.
Credentials listed on their site: USDAA and UKI agility judge. Barklen has not independently verified these.
According to their site, a retired middle school science teacher who has earned over 30 obedience and rally titles and 30+ agility championships across several breeds; also instructs privately at her own training center.
Credentials listed on their site: AKC agility judge. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc operates from a dedicated training facility in San Antonio, TX, offering private lessons and group classes.
Their site says they dog owners in the San Antonio area with puppies and adult dogs of any breed, ranging from beginners seeking basic manners training to competitors pursuing AKC titles in obedience, rally, agility, and scent work.
The club operates an indoor, air-conditioned training and event center in southeast San Antonio, previously known as the Euro Dog Center.
The dedicated training facility sits on New Sulphur Springs Road in San Antonio's east side. Parking availability and accessibility details aren't published.
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 5 published San Antonio listings (13 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc.
Price: entry price below the published San Antonio range for group classes ($120–$180 vs. $130–$180).
Reviews: 5.0★ from 55 Google reviews, among 5 published San Antonio programs.
Transparency: 47 out of 100 (limited information), with 58% price transparency and 43% program clarity. 1 of 5 San Antonio listings show certifications; this business lists AKC CGC Evaluator.
| Program type | Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc | San Antonio range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group Classes | $120–$180 | $130–$180 across 6 San Antonio programs | Entry price below the published San Antonio range |
Generated from what their public materials leave open
8013 New Sulphur Springs Rd #17, San Antonio, TX
Barklen reviewed Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (aggression and reactivity cases, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Oct 10, 2026
Contact Alamo Dog Obedience Club, Inc directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

Alamo City Dog Trainers
San Antonio, TX · 5.0 ★ (142)
Board and Train
6 programs
From $50
Balanced

All Around K9 Training
San Antonio, TX · 5.0 ★ (225)
Board and Train · Private Lessons
5 programs
Contact for pricing
Balanced

Camp Lucky Board and Train (San Antonio TX)
San Antonio, TX · 4.9 ★ (33)
Private Lessons · Board and Train
5 programs
Contact for pricing
Balanced

Beautiful Bond Dog Training
San Antonio, TX · 4.9 ★ (39)
In-Home Training · Private Lessons
4 programs
Contact for pricing
Method unclear

Apollo Dog Training
Georgetown, TX · 5.0 ★ (16)
Board and Train · In-Home Training · Private Lessons
6 programs
From $75
Reward-based

A Refined Canine
Georgetown, TX · 4.8 ★ (28)
Board and Train · Private Lessons
2 programs
From $90
Reward-based