Dog learning new tricks shaking hands
Owner of Finest City with their Dog
Owner of Finest City with their Dog
Small dog in park next to person
Small dog in park next to person
To navigate the map with touch gestures double-tap and hold your finger on the map, then drag the map.←Move left→Move right↑Move up↓Move down+Zoom in-Zoom outHomeJump left by 75%EndJump right by 75%Page UpJump up by 75%Page DownJump down by 75%MapTerrainSatelliteLabelsKeyboard shortcutsMap DataMap data ©2026 Google, INEGIMap data ©2026 Google, INEGI10 km Click to toggle between metric and imperial units
				
				San Diego (Kensington)
				
			
				Carmel Valley
				
			
				Encinitas
				
			
				Del Mar

1 / 6

Finest City Dog Training - North County — Dog Training in Carlsbad, CA

Finest City Dog Training - North County is a dog training business in Carlsbad, California offering private lessons and group classes, working from rented training space. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and publish pricing from $40 per session to $925 per course.

Carlsbad, CA • Uses rented space • 4.8 ★ (32 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

95 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
79%

About Finest City Dog Training - North County

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Finest City Dog Training - North County is listed among dog training programs in Carlsbad. Published program types include group classes, private lessons. Ask about staffing, methods, and follow-up support before you book.

What dog training programs does Finest City Dog Training - North County offer?

Group classes span beginner through advanced levels, with a six-session beginner course at $200 and intermediate or advanced courses at $175 each. Finest City Dog Training - North County also offers private lesson packages ranging from a single session at $150 up to an eight-session program at $925 for dogs with behavioral challenges. An unlimited group class membership runs $475 with lifetime support included, and puppy socialization sessions are available for $40 each.

Single Session Dog Training

$150 per session

A single 60-75 minute private session offering a full evaluation of the dog along with actual training addressing the owner's top concerns, serving as an introduction to their methods.

The trainer meets one-on-one with the owner and dog for one session that includes evaluation and training.

Best for: Owners wanting to meet a trainer and address their most pressing concern before committing to a program.

Requirements: Option to upgrade to any private training program.

Duration: 1 session

Focus: Basic obedience

Foundation Dog Training Program

$750 per course

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training, Socialization

Includes: Lifetime support

Ultimate Dog Training Program

$925 per course

An eight-session private program covering obedience and behavior modification, including lifetime group class access, AKC CGC certification, and phone/text support between sessions.

Owner and dog work with a trainer across 8 individual 45-minute sessions with support available between visits.

Best for: New puppy owners, first-time owners, or dogs with behavioral challenges like separation anxiety or aggression.

Requirements: Ideal for new puppy owners, first-time owners, or dogs with behavioral challenges. Option to add another dog: $450 per dog.

Duration: 8 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression, Separation anxiety, Puppy training

Includes: Lifetime support

Intermediate Dog Training

$175 per course

A six-session intermediate class that builds on basic obedience with added distractions and intermediate-level skill work.

Six 45-minute group classes at outdoor locations.

Best for: Dogs that have completed a Level 1 class or already know the basics.

Requirements: Ideal for dogs that have completed a Level 1 obedience class or already have the basic skills.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience

Advanced Dog Training

$175 per course

A six-session advanced class focused on high-level obedience skills and preparation for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test.

Six 45-minute group classes held outdoors.

Best for: Dogs that have completed Level 1 and 2 classes or comparable intermediate training.

Requirements: Ideal for dogs that have completed Level 1 and 2 classes or other intermediate level training.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Advanced obedience

AKC Canine Good Citizen Certification

$175 per course

A test-preparation class for the AKC Canine Good Citizen certification, with five classes of preparation followed by the actual test.

Six 45-minute classes including test preparation and the CGC test itself.

Best for: Dogs in training to become therapy dogs or owners wanting advanced public manners certification.

Requirements: Included free if enrolled in an 8 or 12 session private training class.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Advanced obedience, Therapy dog training

Beginner Dog Training

$200 per course

A six-session beginner obedience class covering basic commands like sit, stay, down, and come, with continued socialization opportunities for puppies and older dogs.

Owners bring their dog to six 45-minute group classes held at outdoor locations.

Best for: Puppies 16 weeks or older and adult, social dogs with little to no formal training.

Requirements: Ideal for puppies 16 weeks or older as well as adult, social dogs with little to no formal training. Included free if enrolled in a private training program.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training, Socialization

Puppy Socialization Class

$40 per session

A single 45-minute group class for young puppies focused on introducing them to other puppies in a safe setting and building early socialization skills, with instruction tailored to their age.

Puppies attend one group class session with gentle, age-appropriate instruction.

Best for: Puppies between 12 and 16 weeks old with current vaccinations and a clean fecal test.

Requirements: Ideal for puppies ages 12 to 16 weeks old; up-to-date vaccinations and a recent negative fecal exam required.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization

Unlimited Group Training Classes in San Diego

$475

A one-time payment giving a dog lifetime access to all regular Level 1-3 obedience classes with no additional monthly fees, intended for ongoing training maintenance and socialization.

The dog can attend regular group classes indefinitely after the one-time payment.

Best for: Dog owners seeking ongoing training and guidance over the long term.

Requirements: For one dog.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Socialization

Includes: Lifetime support

How much does Finest City Dog Training - North County cost?

Private lessons start at $150 for a single session, with multi-session packages at $750 for six sessions or $925 for eight. Group courses run $175 to $200 for six-session programs, and the unlimited group membership costs $475 as a one-time fee. All prices are published clearly on the website.

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Finest City Dog Training - North County in Carlsbad, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Single Session Dog Training$150 per session1 session
Foundation Dog Training Program$750 per course6 sessions
Ultimate Dog Training Program$925 per course8 sessions

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Finest City Dog Training - North County in Carlsbad, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Intermediate Dog Training$175 per course6 sessions
Advanced Dog Training$175 per course6 sessions
AKC Canine Good Citizen Certification$175 per course6 sessions
Beginner Dog Training$200 per course6 sessions
Puppy Socialization Class$40 per sessionNot stated
Unlimited Group Training Classes in San Diego$475Not stated

What training methods does Finest City Dog Training - North County use?

The program explicitly describes its approach as balanced training, combining reward-based techniques with corrections as needed. They state they accept dogs with aggression issues, making this an option for owners dealing with more serious behavioral concerns.

Their public materials state they do not use e-collars and clickers. Which tools they do use is not specified, so ask the trainer directly.

Who runs Finest City Dog Training - North County?

As described in the business's own materials

Jessica McCloskey, Owner and Behaviorist

According to their site, has worked as a professional dog trainer in San Diego since 2007. Approaches training as a coach, treating owner and dog as partners working toward shared goals.

Credentials listed on their site: Certified Professional Dog Trainer (CPDT-KA), AKC Canine Good Citizen Evaluator, AKC Certified Temperament Test Evaluator, and Member of the Association of Professional Dog Trainers (APDT). Barklen has not independently verified these.

Where does Finest City Dog Training - North County offer dog training?

Finest City Dog Training - North County trains out of rented space in Carlsbad, CA, offering private lessons and group classes.

Their site says they they work with dogs of all breeds, ages, and temperaments throughout San Diego, including puppies, seniors, rescues, and reactive dogs.

Group classes are held outdoors at various rotating locations across the San Diego area rather than at a single indoor facility.

Classes take place at a rented training space on Windcrest Drive rather than a dedicated facility. Parking availability and accessibility features aren't described on the website.

How does Finest City Dog Training - North County compare with other Carlsbad dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 5 published Carlsbad listings (21 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Finest City Dog Training - North County.

Price: entry price within the published Carlsbad range for private lessons ($150–$925 vs. $149–$166); entry price below the published Carlsbad range for group classes ($40–$475 vs. $175–$313).

Reviews: 4.8★ from 32 Google reviews, among 5 published Carlsbad programs.

Transparency: 95 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 100% price transparency and 79% program clarity. 3 of 5 Carlsbad listings show certifications; this business lists CPDT-KA, APDT, and AKC CGC Evaluator.

Published prices at Finest City Dog Training - North County compared with Carlsbad ranges
Program typeFinest City Dog Training - North CountyCarlsbad rangeBarklen read
Private Lessons$150–$925$149–$166 across 3 Carlsbad programsEntry price within the published Carlsbad range
Group Classes$40–$475$175–$313 across 6 Carlsbad programsEntry price below the published Carlsbad range

What should you ask Finest City Dog Training - North County before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

820 Windcrest Dr, Carlsbad, CA

Monday – Sunday
9:00 AM – 7:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Finest City Dog Training - North County against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, dogs per trainer, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
9 programs (private lessons, group classes)
Published pricing
Published for every program
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Uses rented space
Certifications
CPDT-KA, APDT, AKC CGC Evaluator
Years in business
18+ years
Booking
Contact form

Contact Finest City Dog Training - North County or request a quote

Contact Finest City Dog Training - North County directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 619-379-5330Website

Compare Carlsbad programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Carlsbad →