Board and train and puppy training team. Schedule a consult with them
Board and train and puppy training team. Schedule a consult with them (2)

1 / 2

Traction Dog Training Club — Dog Training in Carlsbad, CA

Traction Dog Training Club is a dog training business in Carlsbad, California offering board and train, private lessons, and in-home training, working from a home-based setup. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and publish pricing from $45 per month to $4,160.

Carlsbad, CA • Home-based trainer • 4.8 ★ (17 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 8, 2026

Transparency Score

85 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
91%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
58%

About Traction Dog Training Club

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Traction Dog Training Club brings together trainers with backgrounds you don't typically see in pet dog training. Head trainer Mara Soo previously worked professionally with lions, bears, and elk, and apprenticed under Olympic sport horse trainers. Co-head trainer Tina Chavez trained directly under Bart Bellon, founder of the Ne Po Po method, and serves as an AKC evaluator. The team also includes a former Air Force K-9 handler, a primate behaviorist, and a trainer who has worked on film and television productions.

According to their site, the Carlsbad-based company was founded specifically to skip the typical dog training career path, instead of hiring entry-level trainers, they describe a six-month vetting process aimed at bringing on experienced specialists. They position themselves as a "training club" rather than a standard service provider, offering private lessons, in-home training, and board-and-train programs where dogs stay in individual trainers' homes rather than a kennel facility.

Their stated philosophy combines positive reinforcement with balanced training techniques, customized to each dog. They list specialties including aggressive and reactive dog work, service dog training, and protection training for working breeds.

What dog training programs does Traction Dog Training Club offer?

Traction Dog Training Club offers a membership-style system with tiered "Varsity" plans ranging from $45 to $680 per month, each including private lessons and boarding access. Board-and-train runs $2,890 to $4,160, while in-home options include a three-week program at $2,490 that addresses reactivity and aggression. Puppy training for dogs under 16 weeks and standalone private sessions at $149-$170 round out the offerings.

Study Abroad

$2,890–$4,160

A jumpstart, board-and-train style program positioned as a way to give a dog a fresh start. Reviews mention a three-week in-house training format under this type of program.

Based on reviews, it involves an in-house training stay of about three weeks.

Best for: Positioned for dogs that need a fresh start.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash

Includes: Boarding included

Varsity Access

$45 per month

This is the entry tier of the Varsity membership, giving access to overnight boarding in trainers' homes and monthly group outings without adding private training sessions. It runs month to month with no contract and can be canceled anytime.

Members can board their dog in a trainer's home and join a monthly extracurricular group outing, with private sessions available as an optional add-on.

Best for: Owners who want ongoing support and consistency without committing to a set number of private sessions each month.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included

Varsity Private Lessons

$149 per session

Private, in-home skills-building sessions offered as part of the Varsity membership structure, with frequency chosen by the owner (weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly).

Sessions are held in the home and can be scheduled at the frequency the owner selects.

Focus: Basic obedience

A La Carte Private Lessons

$170 per session

Focus: Basic obedience

Varsity +1

$190 per month

A Varsity membership tier that adds one private training session per month on top of boarding access and group outings. It's billed monthly with no long-term contract.

Includes one in-home private skills-building session monthly, plus access to trainer-home boarding and a group outing.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included

Varsity +2

$345 per month

This Varsity tier bundles two private training sessions each month with the standard membership perks of boarding access and a monthly group outing. Pricing scales with the number of sessions chosen and can be paused or canceled at any time.

Owners receive two private in-home sessions per month alongside boarding and outing access.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included

Varsity +4

$680 per month

The highest Varsity tier listed, offering four private training sessions monthly in addition to overnight boarding access and a group extracurricular outing. It remains a no-contract, cancel-anytime membership.

Includes four private in-home training sessions per month plus boarding and outing access.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included

Homeschool

$2,490

A jumpstart program aimed at more complex training needs, designed for busy parents who need the trainers to take on more of the work. Reviewers describe it as involving repetitive training sessions that reinforce learned skills.

Best for: Fits dogs with more complex training needs and owners with limited time.

Duration: 3 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Aggression

In-Home Dog Boarding

$89 per day

Boarding provided inside a trainer's own home rather than a kennel facility, included as part of Varsity membership access.

Dogs stay overnight in a trainer's home to maintain training consistency while boarding.

Requirements: Dogs should be comfortable sleeping in a crate and up to date on vaccinations.

Focus: Basic obedience

Tutoring

$1,490

Described as a jumpstart program for basic training, intended for owners who plan to be very hands-on in the process.

Best for: Suited to dogs needing basic training with a parent who is highly involved.

Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training

Puppy Training

Price not published.

Training guidance for puppies, with the site recommending puppies under 16 weeks start on the Varsity membership before moving into a more intensive program once older. This approach covers potty training, crate training, and socialization groundwork.

Best for: Recommended for puppies under 16 weeks of age, transitioning to more intensive programs after 16 weeks.

Requirements: For puppies under 16 weeks of age, transitioning to obedience training programs at 14-16 weeks.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization

How much does Traction Dog Training Club cost?

Most pricing is published upfront, which is helpful for planning. Private sessions run $149-$170 each, or less through monthly memberships; board-and-train falls in the $2,890-$4,160 range. In-home boarding costs $89 per day, with crate-comfort and current vaccinations required.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Traction Dog Training Club in Carlsbad, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Study Abroad$2,890–$4,160Not stated

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Traction Dog Training Club in Carlsbad, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Varsity Access$45 per monthNot stated
Varsity Private Lessons$149 per sessionNot stated
A La Carte Private Lessons$170 per sessionNot stated
Varsity +1$190 per monthNot stated
Varsity +2$345 per monthNot stated
Varsity +4$680 per monthNot stated

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at Traction Dog Training Club in Carlsbad, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Homeschool$2,4903 weeks
In-Home Dog Boarding$89 per dayNot stated
Tutoring$1,490Not stated
Puppy TrainingNot publishedNot stated

Consultations and evaluations

  • Free Phone Consultation: Free

What training methods does Traction Dog Training Club use?

The approach is explicitly balanced training, and they do accept dogs with aggression histories. Specific tools and techniques aren't detailed on the site, so clarifying their methods during a consultation would help you understand what training looks like day-to-day.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Traction Dog Training Club?

As described in the business's own materials

Mara Soo, Head Trainer

According to their site, previously trained lions, bears, and elk professionally and apprenticed under Olympic sport horse trainers; competes in PSA protection sports.

Credentials listed on their site: PSA protection sports competitor. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Tina Chavez, Head Trainer

According to their site, trained by Bart Bellon, described as the founder of modern Ne Po Po methods; also works as an evaluator for AKC programs and competes in protection sports.

Credentials listed on their site: Ne Po Po Gold School Graduate, AKC CGC, STAR Puppy, and Trick Dog Evaluator, and PSA protection sports competitor. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Eric Knierim, Trainer

According to their site, previously served as an Air Force K-9 handler.

Christie Branch, Trainer

According to their site, background described as a primate behaviorist.

Kayla Liddington, Office Manager

According to their site, handles office/administrative operations for the business.

KT Tong, Trainer

According to their site, graduated from Starmark Academy as a professional trainer and behavior specialist; has worked as an animal trainer on movies, TV shows, and commercials.

Credentials listed on their site: Starmark Certified Behavior Specialist. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Mia Alfonso, Service & Obedience Specialist

According to their site, has trained numerous physical and psychological service dogs.

Credentials listed on their site: AKC Certified CGC, STAR, and Temp Test Evaluator. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Rachel Gallant, Trainer

According to their site, completed two years as an advanced obedience mentee before becoming a trainer.

Credentials listed on their site: NEPOPO Silver School Graduate, AKC CGC Evaluator, and IACP PCKA Complete. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Where does Traction Dog Training Club offer dog training?

Traction Dog Training Club runs a home-based training operation in Carlsbad, CA, offering board and train stays, private lessons, and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they they describe serving busy owners, families with multiple dogs, first-time puppy owners, and people dealing with reactive or aggressive dogs, offering flexible in-home, in-public, and live-in program formats depending on time and involvement level.

Rather than operating a central training facility, the business houses boarding and board-and-train dogs inside individual trainers' personal homes. They also mention a specialized facility near the Austin airport for dogs with behavior concerns, intact dogs, or those not suited for typical boarding.

The Carlsbad address at 5375 Avenida Encinas serves as home base. Parking and accessibility details aren't listed, and it's unclear whether all programs happen at this location or if some training occurs in clients' homes.

How does Traction Dog Training Club compare with other Carlsbad dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 5 published Carlsbad listings (21 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Traction Dog Training Club.

Price: entry price below the published Carlsbad range for private lessons ($45–$680 vs. $149–$166).

Reviews: 4.8★ from 17 Google reviews, among 5 published Carlsbad programs.

Transparency: 85 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 91% price transparency and 58% program clarity. 3 of 5 Carlsbad listings show certifications; this business lists AKC CGC Evaluator and IACP.

Published prices at Traction Dog Training Club compared with Carlsbad ranges
Program typeTraction Dog Training ClubCarlsbad rangeBarklen read
Private Lessons$45–$680$149–$166 across 3 Carlsbad programsEntry price below the published Carlsbad range

What should you ask Traction Dog Training Club before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Puppy Training, which is not published online.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.

Location and hours

5375 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA

Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Traction Dog Training Club against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, dogs per trainer, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 8, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
11 programs (board and train, private lessons, in-home training)
Published pricing
Published for 10 of 11 programs
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Home-based trainer
Certifications
AKC CGC Evaluator, IACP
Booking
Contact form

Contact Traction Dog Training Club or request a quote

Contact Traction Dog Training Club directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 303-622-5809Website

Compare Carlsbad programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Carlsbad →