Dog Training Fresno, CA
Nate Hess Fresno Dog Trainer
Nate Hess Fresno Dog Trainer
Nate Hess Fresno Dog Trainer
German shepherd puppy training fresno
German shepherd puppy training fresno
Fresno Board and Train for Your Dog
Dog Training Fresno, CA (8)

1 / 8

Dogspring Training

Dogspring Training is a dog training business in Clovis, California offering Board and Train and Private Lessons, with published programs from $100.

Clovis • CA • Home-based trainer • 4.8 ★ (24 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

78 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
35%
Program clarity
88%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Nate Hess, who owns and runs Dogspring Training, came to dog training through rescue work in Georgia after college. According to his site, he started rehabilitating dogs others had given up on, which eventually became a full-time career. He holds professional membership in the International Association of Canine Professionals and serves as an evaluator for AKC's Canine Good Citizen and S.T.A.R. Puppy programs.

The Clovis-based business describes its focus as family pets rather than competition or working dogs—they explicitly note they don't train service dogs, protection dogs, or hunting dogs. Their programs address common household frustrations: leash pulling, jumping, barking, anxiety, and general disobedience. They offer board and train camps ranging from one to three weeks, a daytime "day school" option, and puppy-specific programs for dogs under six months covering house training, crate training, and socialization.

One notable feature mentioned on their site: all programs include lifetime access to a weekly Saturday group class for ongoing practice and support. They also offer a free initial consultation with temperament testing before enrollment. Their philosophy, as they describe it, emphasizes training owners alongside dogs, since consistency at home determines whether training sticks.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Discovery Meet and Greet / Temperament TestFree

A one-time meeting where the trainer gives the dog a temperament test and evaluation, reviews the owner's goals and current approach, and recommends a suitable program.

Best for: Prospective clients deciding whether their dog is a good fit for Dogspring's programs.

Focus: Basic obedience

What does Dogspring Training charge for board and train?

Board-and-train options range from a 3-day Adult Day School at $795 to the 3-week Higher Learning Program at $3,495, which covers advanced obedience and off-leash recall. Dogspring Training also offers puppy-specific programs starting at $795, plus a private lessons path at $1,675 for owners who want to do the training themselves. Alumni dogs can return for VIP Refresher boarding at $100 per day.

All prices are published upfront, with no ranges or hidden fees. The spread runs from $795 for day school programs up to $3,495 for the intensive three-week board-and-train. Most programs include lifetime phone or email support after completion.

Board and Train

Adult Day School Program$795 per program

The dog trains one-on-one with trainers during the day and goes home at night for three days, working on attention, patience, calm leash walking, and behavior around dogs and people. A final session teaches the owner how to maintain the dog's progress at home.

Owners drop the dog off in the morning and pick up in the afternoon for three consecutive days, followed by a one-on-one handoff lesson.

Best for: Dogs whose owners want daytime training without an overnight stay.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization

Duration: 3 days

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Lifetime support

New Beginnings Program$1,495 per program

The dog lives with the trainer for one week learning core behaviors like yes, no, attention, patience, and loose-leash walking. A follow-up lesson helps the owner build on that foundation before the dog graduates into group classes.

The dog boards with the trainer for a week, then owners attend a follow-up lesson to reinforce the training at home.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training

Duration: 1 weeks

Includes: Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support

Higher Learning Program$3,495 per program

An advanced off-leash board and train where the dog lives with the trainer for three weeks learning listening, on and off leash walking, and reliable recall. Follow-up lessons and unlimited group practice continue after the dog returns home.

The dog boards with the trainer for three weeks of intensive training, followed by transfer lessons and ongoing group sessions.

Best for: People who have time to maintain training but not to teach it from scratch.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash, Leash training

Duration: 3 weeks

Includes: Follow-up sessions, Lifetime support, Refresher sessions

Puppy Day School$795 per program

The puppy trains during the day for three days on household manners like relaxing on a mat during dinner, waiting calmly at doors, and asking politely for attention instead of barking or jumping. A private lesson afterward helps transfer skills to the home.

Owners drop the puppy off in the morning and pick up in the afternoon for three days, then attend a private transfer lesson.

Best for: Puppies under 6 months old.

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Duration: 3 days

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Lifetime support

Puppy Boarding Camp — 7 Day Stay$1,495 per program

The puppy trains intensively during the day and stays overnight with the trainer, learning crate training, settling, family routine fit, proper play, and loose-leash walking. Additional weeks can be added.

The puppy boards with the trainer for 7 days (extendable by the week) with intensive daytime training.

Best for: Puppies under 6 months with clean fecal tests and current vaccines, not primarily for potty training.

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Duration: 7 days

Includes: Lifetime support

VIP Refresher Dog Boarding$100 per program

A boarding option for program graduates that includes daily refresher training lessons and socialization during the dog's stay.

The dog boards at the facility with daily refresher lessons included.

Best for: Dogs that have already completed a Dogspring training program.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization

Includes: Refresher sessions

Board and Train pricing at Dogspring Training in Clovis, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Adult Day School Program$795 per program3 days
New Beginnings Program$1,495 per program1 weeks
Higher Learning Program$3,495 per program3 weeks
Puppy Day School$795 per program3 days
Puppy Boarding Camp — 7 Day Stay$1,495 per program7 days
VIP Refresher Dog Boarding$100 per program

Private Lessons

Higher Learning: Private Lessons Path$1,675 per program

This is the same advanced off-leash curriculum as the Higher Learning board and train, delivered through weekly in-person lessons instead of an overnight stay.

The owner and dog attend weekly private lessons together rather than boarding with the trainer.

Best for: Owners who want off-leash training results without sending their dog away.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash, Leash training

Private Lessons pricing at Dogspring Training in Clovis, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Higher Learning: Private Lessons Path$1,675 per program

What training methods does Dogspring Training use?

The site doesn't specify what tools or techniques are used, relying on general language about building trust and communication. Aggression and reactivity cases are evaluated individually rather than accepted or declined outright.

Method: Method unclear

Their website describes their approach in general terms without specifying which methods or tools they use.

How do we verify Dogspring Training?

Certifications: IACP, AKC CGC Evaluator

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Training takes place in a home-based setting in Clovis. They mention insurance and hold IACP membership along with AKC CGC Evaluator credentials. The site claims guaranteed results, though specific terms aren't spelled out. Whether owners can visit during board-and-train stays isn't addressed.

Facility: Home-based trainer

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: Yes

Guarantee: Advertises guaranteed results

Waitlist: not specified on their website.

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Contact form

How does Dogspring Training compare in Clovis?

Price: Their board & train is 46% below the Clovis midpoint based on published prices.

Reviews: Dogspring Training shows 4.8★ from 24 Google reviews among 1 published Clovis programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 78 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 88%). 1 of 1 Clovis listings show certifications; this business lists IACP, AKC CGC Evaluator.

What to ask Dogspring Training

  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Their site describes their approach in general terms — ask which specific methods and tools they use.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask exactly what their guarantee covers — no trainer can guarantee behavior.

Location & hours

The facility operates from a residential property on North Armstrong Avenue. Parking arrangements and any accessibility features aren't described on the site.

8219 N Armstrong Ave, Clovis, CA

Friday: 9AM-8PM

Monday: 9AM-8PM

Sunday: 9AM-6PM

Tuesday: 9AM-8PM

Saturday: 9AM-8PM

Thursday: 9AM-8PM

Wednesday: 9AM-8PM

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through Dogspring Training.

+1 559-825-7364Website

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Clovis