Canine Good Citizen Testing — $25–$60/session
A certified AKC evaluator administers the Canine Good Citizen test, which assesses good manners for dogs and responsible ownership practices.
Focus: Advanced obedience
1 / 4
Take the Lead Canine Coaching is a dog training business in Grass Valley, California offering Group Classes and Private Lessons, with published programs from $75.
Grass Valley • CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (36 Google reviews)
Last verified: Sep 5, 2026
95 / 100
Highly transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
What they say about themselves
Taylor Davis brings an unusual academic background to dog training. According to her site, she holds degrees in veterinary technology and evolutionary biology, plus a master's in wildlife genetics from UC Davis's Canine Diversity Unit. Her practical experience began during her vet tech studies, where she worked with shelter dogs including fearful and aggressive animals, then spent nearly a decade as a trainer teaching obedience, agility, rally, and behavior modification before launching Take the Lead Canine Coaching in 2023.
The business operates from a property in Alta Sierra near Grass Valley with a fenced outdoor training yard and indoor heated space for poor weather. Their site describes a training philosophy centered on teaching owners to provide calm, consistent guidance, using what they call a customized mix of rewards and mild corrections based on each dog's individual motivations. One notable policy: they maintain strict no dog-to-dog contact during classes, which they say promotes focus and genuine socialization skills rather than chaotic play.
The program offerings span puppy through advanced work, including household manners courses, therapy dog preparation, and rally obedience classes. Davis serves as a certified evaluator for AKC Canine Good Citizen testing on-site. For reactive or extremely shy dogs, private lessons are available. Their site also mentions they provide complimentary training for newly adopted shelter dogs and have designed their own adjustable training collar, which they manufacture in-house.
Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.
A certified AKC evaluator administers the Canine Good Citizen test, which assesses good manners for dogs and responsible ownership practices.
Focus: Advanced obedience
Group classes range from a two-day leash walking workshop to a six-week therapy dog skills course, with structured progressions: Basic Obedience leads to Intermediate, then Advanced, and finally Rally for those pursuing competition. Take the Lead Canine Coaching also offers private lessons for leash reactivity and fear-based behaviors, plus small group outings for graduates looking to maintain socialization skills.
Group courses run $90 to $320, with the six-week Basic Obedience at $240 and the smaller House Manners class (capped at four dogs) at $320. Private lessons cost $75 to $150 per session, with a mileage fee for locations outside the Grass Valley area.
One-on-one training tailored to specific needs, held at the client's home, the training facility, or dog-friendly community locations. Sessions are flexible and can be scheduled any day or time.
Trainer meets the client at a chosen location for individualized coaching.
Best for: Especially suited to extremely shy or reactive dogs, or owners who prefer not to work in a group setting.
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Fear & anxiety
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Private Lessons | $75–$150 per session | — |
This class starts with a private orientation followed by five group sessions covering core commands like sit, heel, come, down, stay, and stand. It also builds focus, engagement, and proper timing of rewards and corrections.
One private orientation session, then five group classes at the facility.
Best for: Beginner dogs of any age with no prior training.
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training
Duration: 6 weeks
Graduates of Basic Obedience refine core commands while adding hand signals and more distracting environments. Recall distance increases as students begin working toward off-leash reliability.
Weekly group classes building on prior obedience skills.
Best for: Dogs that have completed Basic Obedience.
Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash
Duration: 5 weeks
This highest level class involves off-leash work and community field trips, building strong bonds between dogs and owners as well as a sense of community among students.
Group classes including field trips to various community locations.
Best for: Dogs that graduated Intermediate Obedience and are ready for off-leash work.
Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash
Duration: 5 weeks
This course teaches household skills not usually covered in obedience classes, including not jumping on people, doorway manners, leaving off-limit items alone, polite leash walking, and the place command. It includes a private orientation, four group classes, and one at-home private lesson.
One-on-one orientation, four group classes, plus a private lesson at the owner's home.
Best for: Great for puppies, but also helpful for adult dogs needing better household manners.
Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash training
Duration: 6 weeks
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
This class prepares dogs and owners for registered therapy dog work, introducing the certification process and building community with local therapy dog teams.
Weekly group classes focused on therapy dog skills and certification prep.
Best for: Dogs that graduated Basic and Intermediate Obedience, ideally at least a year old for certification.
Focus: Therapy dog training, Advanced obedience
Duration: 6 weeks
This class teaches AKC Rally obedience signs and courses for novice through advanced levels, with optional preparation for AKC competition shows.
Group classes running through practice Rally courses of varying difficulty.
Best for: New or experienced Rally students, often graduates of Intermediate Obedience.
Focus: Agility & dog sports, Advanced obedience
Duration: 5 weeks
A weekend crash course focused solely on loose-leash walking, covering proper leash and collar use, body language and energy, and reward timing.
A two-day workshop dedicated to loose-leash walking skills.
Best for: Owners wanting a quick fix for leash pulling.
Focus: Leash training
Duration: 2 days
Rotating community outings for prior students to practice skills in real-world settings, with the trainer available for advice while handling their own dog.
Owners handle their own dog during outings at rotating community locations, trainer offers guidance.
Best for: Graduates of prior classes and private lesson clients.
Focus: Socialization, Basic obedience
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Basic Obedience | $240 per program | 6 weeks |
| Intermediate Obedience | $175 per program | 5 weeks |
| Advanced Obedience | $175 per program | 5 weeks |
| House Manners | $320 per program | 6 weeks |
| Therapy Dog Skills | $240 per program | 6 weeks |
| Rally | $175 per program | 5 weeks |
| Leash Walking Workshop | $90 per program | 2 days |
| Group Outings | $25 per session | — |
They explicitly describe their approach as balanced training and accept dogs with aggression histories. Specific tools and techniques used aren't detailed on the site.
Method: Balanced
Combines rewards with corrections, which may include tools such as prong collars or e-collars.
Certifications: Not specified on their website
Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.
Operating for 13 years out of a dedicated facility on Sky Pines Road, they allow owner visits during training. Insurance, certifications, and overnight staffing arrangements aren't published.
Facility: Training facility
Owner visits: Owner visits allowed
Video updates: not specified on their website.
Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.
Insurance: not specified on their website.
Guarantee: not specified on their website.
Waitlist: not specified on their website.
Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.
Booking: Contact form
Price: Take the Lead Canine Coaching does not publish board & train pricing. Across Grass Valley, 14 programs publish prices from about $72 to $282.
Reviews: Take the Lead Canine Coaching shows 5.0★ from 36 Google reviews among 2 published Grass Valley programs.
Transparency: This listing scores 95 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 79%). Certification disclosure is still sparse in this city.
Classes take place at a dedicated training facility. Parking details and accessibility information aren't listed on the site.
14815 Sky Pines Rd, Grass Valley, CA
Friday: 10AM-6PM
Monday: 10AM-6PM
Sunday: 10AM-6PM
Tuesday: 10AM-6PM
Saturday: 10AM-6PM
Thursday: 10AM-6PM
Wednesday: 10AM-6PM
Reach out directly or send a quote request through Take the Lead Canine Coaching.

PAWS'itive Pals Dog Training
Grass Valley, CA · 4.7 ★ (118)
Group Classes · Private Lessons · Board and Train
7 programs
From $40
Reward-based

How 2 Dog LLC
Newcastle, CA · 5.0 ★ (24)
Board and Train · Private Lessons
6 programs
From $650
Balanced

All About Dog Obedience
Newcastle, CA · 4.7 ★ (107)
Group Classes · Private Lessons · Board and Train
8 programs
From $30
Balanced

Rebel Dog Training
Newcastle, CA · 5.0 ★ (16)
Private Lessons · Board and Train
3 programs
Contact for pricing
Balanced
The Pet Agency
Carmichael, CA · 5.0 ★ (11)
Private Lessons · Virtual Training · In-Home Training
9 programs
From $40
Reward-based

Take Me to K9
Carmichael, CA · 5.0 ★ (19)
Private Lessons · Group Classes · Board and Train
7 programs
From $65
Method unclear