1 / 6
Petco Dog Training — Dog Training in Los Angeles, CA
Petco Dog Training is a dog training business in Los Angeles, California offering private lessons and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They take aggression cases by assessment and publish pricing from $149 per course to $329 per course.
Los Angeles, CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (5 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026
Transparency Score
71 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
- Price transparency
- 100%
- Method transparency
- 35%
- Program clarity
- 60%
About Petco Dog Training
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Petco Dog Training operates inside their retail store location, offering group classes and private lessons for dogs at every life stage. According to their website, their approach centers on positive reinforcement, aiming to build confidence and communication between dogs and their owners.
Their class structure moves through distinct stages: puppy classes for dogs 8-16 weeks cover basics like potty training and early socialization, while beginner and fundamentals courses address loose-leash walking and common issues like jumping or barking. They also offer advanced training focused on heel work and recall with distractions. The site notes that group classes are kept small, capped at around four dogs, to allow more individual attention. Private lesson packages are available for owners who prefer one-on-one work.
The company claims to have trained over one million dogs across their locations and states that their trainers undergo rigorous training with experience across a variety of breeds and behavioral challenges. They also describe a satisfaction policy that allows owners to retake a class for free if goals aren't met after the second session. For dog owners in Los Angeles looking for a structured, retail-based training option with flexible class levels, Petco Dog Training provides an accessible entry point.
What dog training programs does Petco Dog Training offer?
Group classes span four levels, from puppy (8 to 16 weeks) through advanced work on recall and off-leash skills. Each course runs six weeks. Petco Dog Training also offers private lessons in four or six session packages for owners who want one-on-one attention.
Private Lessons (4 to 6 sessions)
Petco Dog Training publishes 2 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Private Lessons — 4 Sessions | 4 sessions | $249 per course |
| Private Lessons — 6 Sessions | 6 sessions | $329 per course |
In Store Group Classes (6 weeks)
Petco Dog Training publishes 4 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price | What differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| In Store Group Classes: Puppy | 6 weeks | $149 per course | Puppy training, Socialization; 8 to 16 weeks old |
| In Store Group Classes: Beginner | 6 weeks | $149 per course | Puppy training, Leash training; 16 weeks to 6 months old |
| In Store Group Classes: Fundamentals | 6 weeks | $149 per course | Leash training; 6+ months old |
| In Store Group Classes: Advanced | 6 weeks | $149 per course | Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash; 6+ months old |
How much does Petco Dog Training cost?
All group classes cost $149 for the six-week course, regardless of level. Private lessons run $249 for four sessions or $329 for six, putting the per-session rate between roughly $55 and $62.
Private Lessons pricing
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Private Lessons — 4 Sessions | $249 per course | 4 sessions |
| Private Lessons — 6 Sessions | $329 per course | 6 sessions |
Group Classes pricing
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| In Store Group Classes: Puppy | $149 per course | 6 weeks |
| In Store Group Classes: Beginner | $149 per course | 6 weeks |
| In Store Group Classes: Fundamentals | $149 per course | 6 weeks |
| In Store Group Classes: Advanced | $149 per course | 6 weeks |
Consultations and evaluations
- Private Lesson 101*: $39 per session
What training methods does Petco Dog Training use?
The site uses general language about their training approach without naming specific techniques or tools. They indicate aggression and reactivity cases are considered individually rather than accepted or declined outright.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
Where does Petco Dog Training offer dog training?
Petco Dog Training operates from a dedicated training facility in Los Angeles, CA, offering private lessons and group classes.
Their site says they pet parents of dogs of any breed or size, from young puppies through adult dogs, including those with specific behavioral challenges.
Training takes place inside a Petco retail pet supply store location.
The Westwood Boulevard location in Los Angeles sits in the 90025 zip code. Parking and accessibility details aren't published.
How does Petco Dog Training compare with other Los Angeles dog trainers?
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 22 published Los Angeles listings (51 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Petco Dog Training.
Price: entry price above the published Los Angeles range for private lessons ($249–$329 vs. $80–$220); entry price within the published Los Angeles range for group classes ($149 vs. $149–$201).
Reviews: 5.0★ from 5 Google reviews, among 22 published Los Angeles programs.
Transparency: 71 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 100% price transparency and 60% program clarity. 4 of 22 Los Angeles listings show certifications; this business does not list any.
| Program type | Petco Dog Training | Los Angeles range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private Lessons | $249–$329 | $80–$220 across 5 Los Angeles programs | Entry price above the published Los Angeles range |
| Group Classes | $149 | $149–$201 across 5 Los Angeles programs | Entry price within the published Los Angeles range |
What should you ask Petco Dog Training before booking?
Generated from what their public materials leave open
- Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
- Ask for proof of liability insurance.
- Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
- Ask for a written outline of daily structure, skills covered, and follow-up support after the program.
- Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.
Location and hours
1873 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA
- Monday – Thursday
- 9:00 AM – 9:00 PM
- Friday – Saturday
- 8:30 AM – 9:30 PM
- Sunday
- 9:00 AM – 8:00 PM
How Barklen reviewed this listing
Barklen reviewed Petco Dog Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, certifications, years in business, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026
What Barklen could verify
- Programs listed
- 6 programs (private lessons, group classes)
- Published pricing
- Published for every program
- Training method
- Method unclear
- Aggression and reactivity cases
- Aggression cases by assessment
- Facility
- Training facility
- Guarantee
- Offers a satisfaction guarantee
- Dogs per trainer
- 4
- Booking
- Book online
Contact Petco Dog Training or request a quote
Contact Petco Dog Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.
Compare Los Angeles programs like these
Similar programs nearby

Dog Tribe LA
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (33)
Board and Train
6 programs
From $750
Balanced

The Ranch Dog Training
Los Angeles, CA · 4.9 ★ (178)
Board and Train · Virtual Training · Private Lessons
6 programs
From $150
Balanced

Smart Paws Dog Training
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (20)
Group Classes · In-Home Training
4 programs
From $45
Reward-based

What A Good Dog! LA
Los Angeles, CA · 4.9 ★ (44)
In-Home Training · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $800
Reward-based

Canine School of Behavior
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (6)
Board and Train · Private Lessons · In-Home Training
4 programs
From $100
Balanced

SoCal K9 Consulting
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (66)
Private Lessons
7 programs
From $250
Method unclear





