Behavioral Assessment — $135/session
Best for: Required for all new clients before Board & Train, Daycare, or Boarding approval
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression, Leash reactivity

The Ranch Dog Training is a dog training business in Los Angeles, California offering Board and Train, Virtual Training, and Private Lessons, with published programs from $150.
Los Angeles • CA • Training facility • 4.9 ★ (178 Google reviews)
Last verified: Sep 5, 2026
90 / 100
Highly transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
What they say about themselves
Sam Hoke, the founder of The Ranch Dog Training, has built a following as a social media presence under @dogtrainerofficial while working with dogs in Los Angeles. According to the business's website, he holds credentials as an AKC Canine Good Citizen evaluator and serves as a mentor for Animal Behavior College, training new handlers entering the field.
The facility houses individual kennels sized for various dogs, indoor training areas on two floors, and an outdoor yard. Their site emphasizes work with dogs that struggle in typical settings—reactive animals, anxious dogs, and those who haven't passed temperament screenings at other facilities. They describe their daycare as structured rather than free-for-all, with controlled interactions and individual yard time for dogs that need separation from group play.
Training programs span two to six weeks for board-and-train, plus private sessions available virtually or in person. The business describes its methods as balanced: they combine reward-based techniques with corrections like leash guidance or verbal cues, and they state they discuss tools such as prong or electronic collars with owners before any use. Every new client must complete a behavioral assessment before acceptance. During stays, owners reportedly receive daily written updates along with photos and video documentation of their dog's progress.
Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.
Best for: Required for all new clients before Board & Train, Daycare, or Boarding approval
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression, Leash reactivity
Board and train programs at The Ranch Dog Training run from two to six weeks, with longer stays designed for dogs with fear, anxiety, or aggression issues. Private lessons are available on-site or virtually at $175 per session, with a five-session package for $699. All programs require an initial assessment for approval.
Board and train ranges from $2,100 for two weeks up to $5,700 for six weeks. Private sessions cost $175 each, or $699 for a five-pack. Daycare training starts at $150 per day.
Best for: Must be approved during the Assessment
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization
Duration: 2 weeks
Best for: For dogs with mild to moderate behavioral issues such as fear, anxiety, or mild reactivity
Focus: Fear & anxiety, Leash reactivity, Basic obedience
Duration: 4 weeks
Best for: Fits dogs with mild to severe behavioral issues; consistency allows deeper relationship building
Focus: Aggression, Fear & anxiety, Basic obedience
Duration: 6 weeks
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Board & Train — 2 Week Program | $2,100 per program | 2 weeks |
| Board & Train — 4 Week Program | $4,000 per program | 4 weeks |
| Board & Train — 6 Week Program | $5,700 per program | 6 weeks |
Best for: Sam Hoke is at capacity; senior trainers deliver sessions
Focus: Basic obedience
Duration: 1 sessions; 5-session package $699
Best for: Must be approved for Daycare Training by a trainer during the Assessment
Focus: Basic obedience
Duration: 1 days
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| In-Person Training @ The Ranch | $175 per session | 1 sessions |
| Daycare Training | From $150 per program | 1 days |
Best for: Sam Hoke is at capacity; senior trainers deliver sessions
Focus: Basic obedience
Duration: 1 sessions
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Virtual Training | $175 per session | 1 sessions |
They describe their approach as balanced training. Aggression cases are evaluated individually during the required assessment rather than accepted or declined outright.
Method: Balanced
Combines rewards with corrections, which may include tools such as prong collars or e-collars.
Certifications: AKC CGC Evaluator
Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.
Daily video updates keep owners informed during board and train stays, though visits aren't permitted. The facility carries insurance and has an AKC CGC Evaluator on staff. Overnight supervision isn't addressed, and there's currently a waitlist.
Facility: Training facility
Owner visits: No visits during program
Video updates: Daily updates
Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.
Insurance: Yes
Guarantee: No guarantee offered
Waitlist: Yes
Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.
Booking: Book online
Price: Their board & train is 9% below the Los Angeles midpoint based on published prices.
Reviews: The Ranch Dog Training shows 4.9★ from 178 Google reviews among 21 published Los Angeles programs.
Transparency: This listing scores 90 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 60%). 4 of 21 Los Angeles listings show certifications; this business lists AKC CGC Evaluator.
The dedicated training facility sits on Federal Avenue in the 90064 zip code. Parking and accessibility details aren't published on the site.
2244 Federal Ave, Los Angeles, CA
Friday: 7AM-8PM
Monday: 7AM-8PM
Sunday: Closed
Tuesday: 7AM-8PM
Saturday: 7AM-6PM
Thursday: 7AM-8PM
Wednesday: 7AM-8PM
Reach out directly or send a quote request through The Ranch Dog Training.

Dog Tribe LA
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (33)
Board and Train
6 programs
From $750
Balanced

Smart Paws Dog Training
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (20)
Group Classes · In-Home Training
4 programs
From $45
Reward-based

What A Good Dog! LA
Los Angeles, CA · 4.9 ★ (44)
In-Home Training · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $800
Reward-based

Canine School of Behavior
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (6)
Board and Train · Private Lessons · In-Home Training
4 programs
From $100
Balanced

SoCal K9 Consulting
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (66)
Private Lessons
7 programs
From $250
Method unclear

Petco Dog Training
Los Angeles, CA · 5.0 ★ (5)
Group Classes · Private Lessons
6 programs
From $149
Method unclear