Fidelis K9: dog training in Orangevale, CA (1)
Fidelis K9: dog training in Orangevale, CA (2)
Fidelis K9: dog training in Orangevale, CA (3)

1 / 3

Fidelis K9 — Dog Training in Orangevale, CA

Fidelis K9 is a dog training business in Orangevale, California offering board and train, private lessons, and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), take aggression cases by assessment, and publish pricing from $59 per month to $4,660.

Orangevale, CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (51 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 22, 2026

Transparency Score

97 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
86%

About Fidelis K9

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Fidelis K9 Training was founded by Patrick Smith, a former U.S. Marine who honorably separated from the Marine Corps in 2003. The website states that Patrick later studied with trainers around the country and that Fidelis K9 has operated full-time for the past six years. Its stated emphasis is practical family-dog training grounded in discipline, trust, respect, consistency, and owner participation rather than training exclusively for sport or working-dog handlers.

The core offering is School of Foundations, a daytime drop-off program in which dogs train at the facility and return home every evening. Five-, 10-, and 15-day tiers progressively cover leash manners, focus, greetings, down-stays, recall, place work, crowds, barriers, and higher-distraction reliability. Each tier also includes Private Lessons and a period of Group Classes. Dogs receive personalized daily training videos so owners can practice the same material at home. Private Lessons are also available separately, including a higher-priced starting session for aggressive dogs.

Fidelis uses a military-style ranking system that progresses toward AKC Canine Good Citizen and Urban Canine Good Citizen goals. The website also advertises a 20-day Boot Camp with 12 Private Lessons, one year of unlimited Group Classes, CGC preparation, testing, and certificates. E-collar training is listed among periodically scheduled advanced topics, but the website does not identify its overall methodology as balanced, force-free, or another named approach.

What dog training programs does Fidelis K9 offer?

School of Foundations provides 5-, 10-, and 15-day daytime drop-off training with dogs returning home nightly. Private Lessons, Group Classes, puppy-focused Private Lessons, aggression-focused Private Lessons, CGC and UCGC preparation, and a 20-day Boot Camp are also offered. School of Foundations packages combine professional daytime training with owner instruction and continued group practice.

School of Foundations 1

$1,015

Dogs come daily for training sessions and go home each night, covering leash manners, sit, focus, jumping up, greeting strangers, and introduction to groups. Owners receive a check-in each morning and a personalized daily video of their dog's training.

The dog is dropped off in the morning and picked up in the early evening for five consecutive days, plus one private lesson and a month of group classes.

Best for: Dogs new to structured obedience training who need foundational skills before joining group classes.

Requirements: Additional days might be needed depending on dog's drive and willingness to work

Duration: 5 days

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization

Includes: Follow-up sessions

School of Foundations 2

$2,030

Building on SOF 1, this ten-day program adds walking through crowds of people and dogs, down and down-stay, recall, going to place, and door/barrier manners. Includes daily videos and two private lessons plus three months of group classes.

The dog attends daily training for ten days, returning home each evening, with two private lessons and three months of group class access included.

Best for: Dogs that have foundational skills and are ready for more distraction-based training.

Requirements: Additional days might be needed depending on dog's drive and willingness to work

Duration: 10 days

Focus: Basic obedience, Recall & off-leash, Socialization

Includes: Follow-up sessions

School of Foundations 3

$3,045

The most advanced tier, covering everything from SOF 1 and 2 plus down-stay and recall under heavier distractions like food temptations and loose dogs. Includes three private lessons and six months of group classes plus daily videos.

The dog trains daily for fifteen days, going home each evening, with three private lessons and six months of group class access.

Best for: Dogs progressing through the full foundations track who need reliability under real-world distractions.

Requirements: Additional days might be needed depending on dog's drive and willingness to work

Duration: 15 days

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash, Leash reactivity

Includes: Follow-up sessions

Boot Camp 20 Days

$4,660

A comprehensive 20-day program designed to fully prepare a dog for the AKC Canine Good Citizen certification, including a year of private lessons, unlimited group classes, and testing/certificate fees.

The dog attends daily training for twenty days, plus monthly private lessons and a year of unlimited group classes afterward.

Best for: Families wanting the most complete package leading toward CGC certification.

Duration: 20 days

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience

Includes: Follow-up sessions

1 Hour Non-Member Private

$200 per session

Requirements: For non-members

Duration: 1 session

Focus: Basic obedience

Devil Pups

$480

Four private lessons focused on shaping positive behaviors and building a strong obedience foundation for both puppy and family, followed by a month of unlimited group classes.

Owner and puppy attend four 30-minute private sessions, then transition into a month of group classes.

Best for: Young puppies who have received age-appropriate vaccinations and are preparing to join group classes.

Requirements: For puppies with age-appropriate shots

Duration: 4 sessions

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Includes: Follow-up sessions

Unlimited Group Class Membership (1 month)

Fidelis K9 publishes 3 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.

Group Classes options at Fidelis K9
OptionLengthPriceWhat differs
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Start (First Month)1 month$225 per monthIncludes follow-up sessions; For new members starting group class training for the first time.
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Individuals (Monthly)Not stated$59 per monthIncludes follow-up sessions; For single-dog households continuing training after the first month.; For individual, single-dog households
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Family (Monthly)Not stated$89 per monthFor multi-dog households.; For families with multiple dogs

Unlimited Group Class Membership — Start (First Month)

The owner and dog attend one private lesson plus unlimited group classes during the first month.

Unlimited Group Class Membership — Individuals (Monthly)

The owner attends unlimited group classes each month on a rolling, no-contract basis.

Unlimited Group Class Membership — Family (Monthly)

The owner attends unlimited group classes each month covering obedience and distraction work.

How much does Fidelis K9 cost?

School of Foundations costs $1,015 for five days, $2,030 for 10 days, and $3,045 for 15 days. Devil Pups costs $480. A non-member Private Lesson is $200, while the required starting Private Lesson for aggressive dogs is $250. Group Classes cost $225 initially, then $59 monthly for one dog or $89 for multiple dogs. Boot Camp costs $4,660.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Fidelis K9 in Orangevale, CA
ProgramPriceLength
School of Foundations 1$1,0155 days
School of Foundations 2$2,03010 days
School of Foundations 3$3,04515 days
Boot Camp 20 Days$4,66020 days

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Fidelis K9 in Orangevale, CA
ProgramPriceLength
1 Hour Non-Member Private$200 per session1 session
Devil Pups$4804 sessions

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Fidelis K9 in Orangevale, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Start (First Month)$225 per month1 month
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Individuals (Monthly)$59 per monthNot stated
Unlimited Group Class Membership — Family (Monthly)$89 per monthNot stated

What training methods does Fidelis K9 use?

Fidelis emphasizes practical, real-world obedience, owner participation, repetition, discipline, trust, respect, and consistent expectations. School of Foundations uses multiple daily sessions and at-home video guidance. E-collar training is explicitly listed among additional advanced topics, but the website does not publish a single named methodology such as balanced or force-free.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Where does Fidelis K9 offer dog training?

Fidelis K9 operates from a dedicated training facility in Orangevale, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility, private lessons, and group classes.

Their public materials do not state a wider service area, so Barklen lists Orangevale only. Ask whether they travel or take clients from nearby areas.

Fidelis K9 presents its services as dog training in Rancho Cordova and the Sacramento area. The supplied website pages do not publish a current street address, parking details, or accessibility information.

What should you ask Fidelis K9 before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

9220 Greenback Ln Unit B, Orangevale, CA

Monday – Thursday
7:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Sunday
Closed

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Fidelis K9 against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, insurance, guarantee, certifications, dogs per trainer, and waitlist) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 22, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
9 programs (board and train, private lessons, group classes)
Published pricing
Published for every program
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Aggression cases by assessment
Facility
Training facility
Progress updates
Daily updates
Overnight staffing
Not staffed overnight
Years in business
6+ years
Booking
Contact form

Contact Fidelis K9 or request a quote

Contact Fidelis K9 directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 916-337-0104Website

Similar programs nearby

See more dog trainers in California →