Got Canine Training: dog training in Oxnard, CA (1)
Got Canine Training: dog training in Oxnard, CA (2)
Got Canine Training: dog training in Oxnard, CA (3)

1 / 3

Got Canine Training — Dog Training in Oxnard, CA

Got Canine Training is a dog training business in Oxnard, California offering board and train and private lessons. They accept aggression and reactivity cases and publish pricing from from $2,299 to $5,500.

Oxnard, CA • 5.0 ★ (25 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 22, 2026

Transparency Score

46 / 100

Limited information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
36%
Method transparency
35%
Program clarity
76%

About Got Canine Training

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Got Canine Training is led by Leonardo Arcila and serves Oxnard and Ventura County. Leonardo reports more than 22 years of dog-training experience and describes his work as individualized around each dog's temperament, behavior, and owner goals. Services range from foundational obedience and puppy development to behavior work and protection training. The website addresses concerns including leash pulling, jumping, barking, chewing, reactivity, growling, snapping, biting, prey drive, and other challenging behaviors.

Private Lessons are offered through structured obedience packages and customized hourly training. Puppy-focused Private Lessons address crate and potty training, bite inhibition, socialization, manners, leash skills, recall, and adolescent behavior. Board and Train is available in 14-day, 21-day, 30-day, and six-week tiers, progressing from foundational obedience to deeper behavior work and advanced command development. The six-week package also advertises lifetime support, priority access, and VIP workshop access.

Current obedience and Board and Train pages explicitly describe the methodology as science-based, positive reinforcement, force-free, and fear-free, using food, praise, play, and other individual motivators rather than punishment or intimidation. The protection page separately emphasizes trust, control, structured obedience, positive reinforcement, and controlled responses rather than fear or uncontrolled aggression. Got Canine does not offer Group Classes, stating that its obedience model is based on one-on-one instruction.

What dog training programs does Got Canine Training offer?

Got Canine offers Private Lessons for obedience, puppy development, customized behavior goals, and protection work, plus four Board and Train tiers. A free Consultation assesses behavior, goals, lifestyle, and environment before recommending a program. The website explicitly states that Group Classes are not offered.

Ultimate Transformation Package

From $5,500

The top-tier six-week board and train includes everything in the comprehensive package plus lifetime support, priority access, and VIP workshop access.

The dog boards on-site for six weeks with ongoing lifetime support offered to the owner afterward.

Duration: 6 weeks

Focus: Advanced obedience, Aggression

Includes: Lifetime support

Foundational Board and Train

From $2,299

This 14-day board and train covers a personalized training plan with daily one-on-one training and premium boarding, plus daily progress updates. Optional bootcamp and enrichment add-ons are available for an extra fee.

The dog boards on-site for 14 days and receives daily one-on-one training sessions with progress updates sent to the owner.

Duration: 14 days

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included

Intermediate Board and Train

From $2,999

This 21-day board and train builds on the foundational program with extended training time, higher-level obedience, and advanced command development.

The dog boards on-site for 21 days with extended daily one-on-one training beyond the foundational tier.

Duration: 21 days

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience

Comprehensive Board and Train

From $3,499

This 30-day board and train adds in-depth behavioral work and advanced command mastery, with the bootcamp experience and obstacle/enrichment exercises included at no extra cost.

The dog boards on-site for 30 days for intensive behavioral and obedience work.

Duration: 30 days

Focus: Advanced obedience, Aggression

Basic Puppy Program (Intro Package)

Price not published.

This entry-level puppy package covers potty and crate training basics, bite inhibition, and gentle play skills across ten one-hour one-on-one session. Optional add-ons like a bootcamp experience or enrichment exercise can be purchased separately.

The trainer works one-on-one with the puppy in ten scheduled hour-long sessions, with progress updates provided daily.

Best for: Puppy owners dealing with crate issues, biting, or potty accidents.

Duration: 10 sessions

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Basic Obedience Essentials

Price not published.

This entry package teaches basic commands and good manners in ten personalized one-hour sessions, with progress tracking, homework assignments, and daily updates.

Ten one-on-one hour-long sessions delivered on a flexible schedule with real-time feedback.

Best for: Dogs starting their obedience training from the beginning.

Duration: 10 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience

Comprehensive Obedience Training

Price not published.

This tier extends the basic package into longer two-hour sessions to allow for deeper learning and advanced command development, with continued guidance.

Ten two-hour one-on-one session cover advanced commands beyond the basic package.

Best for: Dogs who have completed foundational obedience and are ready for more advanced work.

Duration: 10 sessions

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience

Intermediate Puppy Program

Price not published.

This mid-tier puppy package builds on the basics with extended socialization around people and other dogs, public leash manners, drop-it and leave-it cues, and help with demand barking, delivered across twenty one-hour sessions.

Twenty one-on-one hour-long sessions build on the basic program's skills with ongoing trainer support.

Best for: Puppies ready to move past foundational training into public etiquette and socialization.

Duration: 20 sessions

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Leash training, Basic obedience

Premium Puppy Program

Price not published.

This top-tier customizable puppy program adds off-leash readiness, advanced recall, adolescent-behavior proofing, and priority access to the trainer for urgent questions, on top of the intermediate program's content.

Fully customized hourly sessions extend and personalize the training beyond the intermediate package.

Best for: Owners of adolescent puppies wanting advanced skills and priority trainer support.

Focus: Puppy training, Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash

Custom Training Solutions

Price not published.

A fully customizable hourly training option built around a specific dog's challenges and goals, with flexible scheduling and session lengths.

Session length and content are individually tailored to the dog and owner.

Best for: Owners whose needs don't fit the standard packages.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience

Basic Guard & Protect

Price not published.

Focus: Advanced obedience

How much does Got Canine Training cost?

Board and Train starts at $2,299 for 14 days, $2,999 for 21 days, $3,499 for 30 days, and $5,500 for six weeks. Bootcamp Experience and Obstacle & Enrichment Exercise add-ons are listed at $499 where not already included. Prices for Private Lessons, puppy packages, and protection training are not published.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Got Canine Training in Oxnard, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Ultimate Transformation PackageFrom $5,5006 weeks
Foundational Board and TrainFrom $2,29914 days
Intermediate Board and TrainFrom $2,99921 days
Comprehensive Board and TrainFrom $3,49930 days

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Got Canine Training in Oxnard, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Basic Puppy Program (Intro Package)Not published10 sessions
Basic Obedience EssentialsNot published10 sessions
Comprehensive Obedience TrainingNot published10 sessions
Intermediate Puppy ProgramNot published20 sessions
Premium Puppy ProgramNot publishedNot stated
Custom Training SolutionsNot publishedNot stated
Basic Guard & ProtectNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does Got Canine Training use?

Current service pages explicitly describe science-based positive reinforcement with treats, praise, play, force-free methods, and fear-free techniques. Protection training emphasizes trust, control, precision, structured obedience, positive reinforcement, and an off-switch. One protection FAQ uses different "mother wolf" language, so the site's methodology wording is not completely consistent across pages.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Where does Got Canine Training offer dog training?

Got Canine Training is based in Oxnard, CA, offering board and train stays and private lessons.

Their public materials do not state a wider service area, so Barklen lists Oxnard only. Ask whether they travel or take clients from nearby areas.

Got Canine Training is based in Oxnard, California and advertises service throughout Ventura County. A public street address, parking information, and accessibility details are not published.

What should you ask Got Canine Training before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Basic Puppy Program (Intro Package), Intermediate Puppy Program, and Premium Puppy Program, which are not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

135 Deodar Ave, Oxnard, CA

Monday – Friday
9:00 AM – 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Sunday
Closed

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Got Canine Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (facility, owner visits during programs, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 22, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
11 programs (board and train, private lessons)
Published pricing
Published for 4 of 11 programs
Training method
Method unclear
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Progress updates
Daily updates
Years in business
22+ years
Booking
Book online

Contact Got Canine Training or request a quote

Contact Got Canine Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 805-766-1276Website

Similar programs nearby

See more dog trainers in California →