Dog learning new tricks shaking hands
Owner of Finest City with their Dog
Owner of Finest City with their Dog
Small dog in park next to person
Small dog in park next to person
To navigate the map with touch gestures double-tap and hold your finger on the map, then drag the map.←Move left→Move right↑Move up↓Move down+Zoom in-Zoom outHomeJump left by 75%EndJump right by 75%Page UpJump up by 75%Page DownJump down by 75%MapTerrainSatelliteLabelsKeyboard shortcutsMap DataMap data ©2026 Google, INEGIMap data ©2026 Google, INEGI10 km Click to toggle between metric and imperial units
				
				San Diego (Kensington)
				
			
				Carmel Valley
				
			
				Encinitas
				
			
				Del Mar

1 / 6

Finest City Dog Training - San Diego — Dog Training in San Diego, CA

Finest City Dog Training - San Diego is a dog training business in San Diego, California offering private lessons and group classes. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and publish pricing from $40 per session to $925 per course.

San Diego, CA • 4.7 ★ (39 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

90 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
89%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
79%

About Finest City Dog Training - San Diego

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Jessica McCloskey, a Certified Professional Dog Trainer (CPDT-KA), has been working with dogs in San Diego since 2007. She also holds credentials as an AKC Canine Good Citizen Evaluator and AKC Temperament Test Evaluator, and maintains membership in the Association of Professional Dog Trainers. According to her website, she views her role less as someone who trains your dog for you and more as a guide helping you and your dog work together.

Finest City Dog Training describes its methodology as "balanced," meaning McCloskey draws from multiple training traditions, classical conditioning, operant conditioning, and counterconditioning, rather than adhering strictly to one school of thought. Their site explains this allows her to adjust techniques based on individual temperament: gentler methods for sensitive dogs, measured corrections for more confident ones. They note they don't use shock collars, dominance-based approaches, or clickers, and they limit treat dependency.

The business offers both private lessons and group classes, addressing concerns from basic obedience and house training to more complex issues like separation anxiety, aggression, and reactivity. Their site indicates they work with dogs of all ages and backgrounds, including rescues and reactive dogs. Whether the focus is teaching a puppy to walk calmly on leash or helping an older dog learn reliable off-leash recall, the stated goal is building communication between owner and dog.

What dog training programs does Finest City Dog Training - San Diego offer?

Group classes progress from puppy socialization ($40 per session) through beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels, each running six sessions at $175–$200. Private lesson packages address broader needs: the Foundation program covers basics over six sessions for $750, while the Ultimate program tackles behavioral challenges including aggression across eight sessions for $925. An unlimited group class option at $475 grants lifetime access for one dog. Finest City Dog Training also offers AKC Canine Good Citizen certification prep for therapy dogs in training.

Foundation Dog Training Program

$750 per course

A six-session program tackling essential obedience commands, unwanted behaviors, and social skills to prepare dogs for various environments.

The owner and dog attend six 45-minute private sessions plus lifetime access to Level 1-3 group classes.

Best for: New puppy owners or dogs needing the basics.

Requirements: Helps get new puppies started or those with dogs needing the basics. Option to add another dog: $375 per dog.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Includes: Lifetime support

Ultimate Dog Training Program

$925 per course

An eight-session package covering obedience through behavior modification, designed for long-term success and to address serious issues like separation anxiety or aggression.

The owner and dog attend eight 45-minute private sessions, plus lifetime access to group classes and CGC certification.

Best for: New puppy owners, first-time owners, or dogs with behavioral challenges.

Requirements: Ideal for new puppy owners, first-time owners, or dogs with behavioral challenges. Option to add another dog: $450 per dog.

Duration: 8 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Separation anxiety, Aggression

Includes: Lifetime support

Mini Pack Dog Training Program

Price not published.

Focus: Basic obedience

Intermediate Dog Training

$175 per course

A six-session intermediate class that builds on basic obedience with added distractions and higher-level skill work.

Dogs attend six 45-minute group classes practicing obedience commands amid increasing distractions.

Best for: Dogs that have completed a Level 1 obedience class or already have basic skills.

Requirements: Ideal for dogs that have completed a Level 1 obedience class or already have the basic skills.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience

Advanced Dog Training

$175 per course

A six-session advanced class focusing on high-level skills and preparing dogs for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test.

Dogs attend six 45-minute group classes with advanced skill instruction.

Best for: Dogs that have completed Level 1 and 2 classes or equivalent intermediate training.

Requirements: Ideal for dogs that have completed Level 1 and 2 classes or other intermediate level training.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Advanced obedience

AKC Canine Good Citizen Certification

$175 per course

A six-session class that prepares dogs for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test, with five sessions of preparation and the test included.

Dogs attend five prep classes plus the CGC test as the sixth session.

Best for: Dogs pursuing CGC certification, including therapy dogs in training.

Requirements: Ideal for therapy dogs in training needing the AKC CGC certificate.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Advanced obedience, Therapy dog training

Beginner Dog Training

$200 per course

A six-session beginner obedience class covering foundational commands like sit, stay, down, and come, alongside ongoing socialization opportunities.

Dogs and owners attend six 45-minute group classes together working on basic commands.

Best for: Puppies 16 weeks or older and social adult dogs with little to no formal training.

Requirements: Ideal for puppies 16 weeks or older as well as adult, social dogs with little to no formal training.

Duration: 6 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training, Socialization

Puppy Socialization Class

$40 per session

A single 45-minute group class introducing young puppies to other puppies in a controlled, safe environment. Instruction is gentle and tailored to the puppy's developmental stage.

Puppies attend one group class outdoors with an instructor guiding gentle exposure exercises.

Best for: Puppies between 12 and 16 weeks old needing early socialization.

Requirements: Ideal for puppies ages 12 to 16 weeks old; up-to-date vaccinations and a recent negative fecal exam required.

Duration: 45 sessions

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization

Unlimited Group Training Classes in San Diego

$475

A lifetime access pass allowing unlimited attendance in all regular obedience class levels for one dog after a single one-time payment.

The dog can attend any Level 1-3 group class repeatedly with no additional fees.

Best for: Dog owners seeking ongoing training and continued socialization opportunities long-term.

Requirements: For one dog only.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Socialization

Includes: Lifetime support

How much does Finest City Dog Training - San Diego cost?

Prices are published clearly across all programs. Group classes range from $40 per drop-in socialization session to $200 for a six-week beginner course, with intermediate and advanced options at $175 each. Private training runs $750–$925 depending on scope, and adding a second dog costs roughly half the base price. The $475 unlimited group access creates a ceiling for owners planning ongoing class attendance.

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Finest City Dog Training - San Diego in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Foundation Dog Training Program$750 per course6 sessions
Ultimate Dog Training Program$925 per course8 sessions
Mini Pack Dog Training ProgramNot publishedNot stated

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Finest City Dog Training - San Diego in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Intermediate Dog Training$175 per course6 sessions
Advanced Dog Training$175 per course6 sessions
AKC Canine Good Citizen Certification$175 per course6 sessions
Beginner Dog Training$200 per course6 sessions
Puppy Socialization Class$40 per session45 sessions
Unlimited Group Training Classes in San Diego$475Not stated

Consultations and evaluations

  • Single Session Dog Training: $150 per session

What training methods does Finest City Dog Training - San Diego use?

The approach is described as balanced, and trainers openly work with aggression and behavioral issues. Specific tools or techniques aren't detailed on the site, so prospective clients may want to ask what that looks like in practice.

Their public materials state they do not use e-collars and clickers. Which tools they do use is not specified, so ask the trainer directly.

Who runs Finest City Dog Training - San Diego?

As described in the business's own materials

Jessica McCloskey, Owner and Behaviorist

According to their site, has worked as a professional dog trainer in San Diego since 2007. She frames herself as a coach who works as part of a team with the owner and dog.

Credentials listed on their site: Certified Professional Dog Trainer (CPDT-KA), AKC Canine Good Citizen Evaluator, AKC Certified Temperament Test Evaluator, and Member of the Association of Professional Dog Trainers (APDT). Barklen has not independently verified these.

Where does Finest City Dog Training - San Diego offer dog training?

Finest City Dog Training - San Diego is based in San Diego, CA, offering private lessons and group classes.

Their site says they they say their services suit all breeds and temperaments, spanning puppies through senior dogs, and including rescue dogs and reactive dogs.

Training takes place at 4450 Del Mar Trails Rd in the Carmel Valley area of San Diego. Parking and accessibility information isn't published.

How does Finest City Dog Training - San Diego compare with other San Diego dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 23 published San Diego listings (55 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Finest City Dog Training - San Diego.

Price: entry price above the published San Diego range for private lessons ($750–$925 vs. $75–$168); entry price below the published San Diego range for group classes ($40–$475 vs. $153–$550).

Reviews: 4.7★ from 39 Google reviews, among 23 published San Diego programs.

Transparency: 90 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 89% price transparency and 79% program clarity. 7 of 23 San Diego listings show certifications; this business lists CPDT-KA, APDT, and AKC CGC Evaluator.

Published prices at Finest City Dog Training - San Diego compared with San Diego ranges
Program typeFinest City Dog Training - San DiegoSan Diego rangeBarklen read
Private Lessons$750–$925$75–$168 across 8 San Diego programsEntry price above the published San Diego range
Group Classes$40–$475$153–$550 across 22 San Diego programsEntry price below the published San Diego range

What should you ask Finest City Dog Training - San Diego before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Mini Pack Dog Training Program, which is not published online.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

4450 Del Mar Trails Rd, San Diego, CA

Monday – Sunday
9:00 AM – 7:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Finest City Dog Training - San Diego against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (facility, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
9 programs (private lessons, group classes)
Published pricing
Published for 8 of 9 programs
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Certifications
CPDT-KA, APDT, AKC CGC Evaluator
Booking
Contact form

Contact Finest City Dog Training - San Diego or request a quote

Contact Finest City Dog Training - San Diego directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 619-379-5330Website

Compare San Diego programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Diego →