The Fairy Dogmother

The Fairy Dogmother

The Fairy Dogmother is a dog training business in San Diego, California offering Private Lessons and In-Home Training, with published programs from $130.

San Diego • CA • Mobile / travels to you • 5.0 ★ (12 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

98 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
90%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Stephanie Woodle brings an unusual path to dog training. According to her site, she spent more than two decades as a handler, walker, and sitter before realizing she couldn't answer the training questions her clients kept asking—or solve problems with her own dog. That gap led her to the Victoria Stilwell Dog Training Academy, where she graduated with distinction and earned certification as a professional trainer.

The Fairy Dogmother, her San Diego-based business, offers private lessons, in-home sessions, and day training across neighborhoods like Ocean Beach, Point Loma, and Pacific Beach. Woodle describes her method as reward-based but not limited to treats; she says she looks for what actually motivates each dog and builds training around that. Her site emphasizes working in clients' homes so she can address behaviors where they happen—reactivity on a particular street corner, for instance, or trouble with crate training in the actual crate.

Services range from puppy programs covering socialization and basic cues to behavior consulting for adult dogs struggling with anxiety or reactivity. For owners short on time, day training sessions let Woodle work directly with the dog, followed by a transfer session to teach the owner what the dog learned. She states she avoids aversive tools like prong or shock collars, relying instead on positive reinforcement and clear communication between dog and owner.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Initial Consultation$195/session

This is a 90-minute meet and greet where the trainer learns about the dog and the owner's goals, discusses how dogs learn, and shares tips to begin training right away.

Best for: Any dog owner beginning training, as the required first step before ongoing sessions.

Focus: Basic obedience

What does The Fairy Dogmother charge for board and train?

Private lessons and day training cover basic obedience, leash skills, and puppy socialization. The Fairy Dogmother offers a six-session puppy course focused on life skills, and day training runs up to 45 sessions with handoff sessions included so owners learn what the dog has practiced.

Private sessions run $130 each, with a six-session package at $735. Day training ranges from $130 to $155 per session. The puppy life skills course costs $735 for six sessions.

Private Lessons

Private Training Sessions$130 per session

One-on-one, in-home training sessions tailored to the dog and family's needs, addressing issues where they actually occur such as the kitchen, backyard, or front door. Sessions can be as basic or advanced as needed and are scheduled flexibly.

The trainer travels to the client's home for one-hour sessions focused on the family's specific goals.

Best for: Owners struggling with behavior issues or reactions around triggers.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Leash training

Duration: 1 sessions; 6-session package $735

Life Skills and Training for Puppies$735 per program

A six-session package for puppies covering basic cues, potty training, chewing, crate training, socialization, name recognition, mouthing, leash walking, and introductions to family, other pets, and vet visits. Sessions are private and personalized to the puppy and household.

Begins with a 90-minute consultation, then six one-on-one sessions covering puppy life skills at the owner's home.

Best for: New puppy owners wanting to build foundational skills and prevent future behavior problems.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Duration: 6 sessions; 6-session package $735

Private Lessons pricing at The Fairy Dogmother in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Private Training Sessions$130 per session1 sessions
Life Skills and Training for Puppies$735 per program6 sessions

In-Home Training

Day Training for Dogs & Puppies$130 per session

The trainer comes to train the dog or puppy directly, without the owner present, between two and five days a week for a set number of sessions. Afterward, an Owner Transfer Session teaches the owner the new skills the dog has learned.

The trainer works directly with the dog at the owner's home on weekdays, followed by a transfer session to teach the owner the new skills.

Best for: Owners who feel too busy for formal training and want hands-off skill-building for their dog.

Focus: Basic obedience, Puppy training

Duration: 45 sessions

Includes: Owner handoff sessions

In-Home Training pricing at The Fairy Dogmother in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Day Training for Dogs & Puppies$130–$155 per session45 sessions

What training methods does The Fairy Dogmother use?

They explicitly describe their approach as force-free. Aggression and reactivity cases are considered on a case-by-case basis rather than accepted or declined outright.

Method: Reward-based

Uses rewards and positive reinforcement only, without corrections or aversive tools.

How do we verify The Fairy Dogmother?

Certifications: Not specified on their website

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

This is a mobile-only service with no facility, so questions about insurance, certifications, and guarantees would need to go directly to the trainer. Years in business isn't listed on the site.

Facility: Mobile / travels to you

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: not specified on their website.

Waitlist: not specified on their website.

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Contact form

How does The Fairy Dogmother compare in San Diego?

Price: The Fairy Dogmother does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Diego, 55 programs publish prices from about $77 to $876.

Reviews: The Fairy Dogmother shows 5.0★ from 12 Google reviews among 23 published San Diego programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 98 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 90%). 7 of 23 San Diego listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.

What to ask The Fairy Dogmother

  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.

Location & hours

Sessions take place at the client's location, with the business based out of the Ocean Beach area at 4165 Udall St in San Diego's 92107 zip code.

4165 Udall St, San Diego, CA

Hours: Not specified on their website

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through The Fairy Dogmother.

+1 619-871-6273Website

Compare San Diego programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Diego