SF Dog Pack Training dog training using positive reinforcement (R+) training

SF Dog Pack

SF Dog Pack is a dog training business in San Francisco, California offering Group Classes and Private Lessons, with published programs from $500.

San Francisco • CA • Home-based trainer • 5.0 ★ (4 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

77 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
67%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
67%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Kytha Gernatt, the founder of SF Dog Pack, came to training through her own struggle with a reactive pit bull. After years as a dog walker in San Francisco, she found that physical corrections weren't helping her dog Goldie, so she turned to positive reinforcement methods instead. That personal experience shaped her approach, and she's continued building her expertise over 27 years working with dogs—completing coursework through programs like the Canine Behavior Academy, a shelter behavior program, and more recently a master course focused specifically on dog aggression.

According to their website, SF Dog Pack emphasizes changing how a dog feels about situations, not just how it behaves. Gernatt describes her method as grounded in current behavioral science, with an understanding that meaningful change takes time. She offers both private lessons and group classes, the latter run through a partnership with a local Pet Food Express location. The site notes that each client receives a training plan tailored to their specific dog and living situation rather than a standard curriculum.

Services cover foundational skills—recall, loose leash walking, staying calm around distractions—as well as more challenging issues like reactivity and problem barking. Gernatt also works with young puppies who haven't finished their vaccinations. Her site mentions a discount for recently adopted rescue dogs and a free initial consultation before any training begins.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Free 15-Minute Mini-Consultation

A brief phone consultation to discuss the dog's situation before committing to training.

Best for: All ages, all breeds

Focus: Basic obedience

What does SF Dog Pack charge for board and train?

Private coaching and free group classes make up the offerings at SF Dog Pack. The Jump-Start Package covers three sessions focused on basic obedience and leash reactivity, with a 10% discount for recent rescues. Free recall classes run through Pet Food Express for vaccinated dogs who are comfortable around others, and private manners coaching works well for puppies before they've finished their vaccine series.

The free group recall class at Pet Food Express costs nothing. Private training starts with the Jump-Start Package at $500 for three sessions. Basic Manners coaching doesn't list pricing on the site.

Private Lessons

Jump-Start Package$500 per program

This is an initial package of three one-hour private sessions where the trainer learns about the dog and owner's situation and builds a customized training plan. It's meant to give immediate relief and skills, with the option to continue with discounted sessions afterward.

Owner and trainer meet for three one-hour sessions to assess the situation and build a customized plan.

Best for: Any dog team wanting to start addressing a specific behavior issue.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity

Duration: 3 sessions; 3-session package $500

Includes: Follow-up sessions

Basic Manners Private Coaching

This program teaches core skills like sit, stay, come, leave it, and loose leash walking, along with addressing barking, pulling, leash reactivity, and house training. Sessions happen in person at home, online, or a hybrid of both, starting in a controlled setting before practicing in the real world.

Training can be delivered in person at the owner's home, online, or a hybrid, with new skills taught at home first then practiced in real-world settings.

Best for: Owners who want to train their dogs themselves, including puppies not yet fully vaccinated.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Leash reactivity, Puppy training

Private Lessons in San Francisco typically runs $90–$800 across 11 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Private Lessons pricing at SF Dog Pack in San Francisco, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Jump-Start Package$500 per program3 sessions
Basic Manners Private CoachingNot published

Group Classes

Free Dog Training Class at Pet Food Express - RecallFree

This is a free class held at a pet supply store covering recall so dogs learn to come back reliably when called.

Owners and dogs attend a single 45-minute session in a small area near other dogs at the store location.

Best for: Dogs that are friendly with other dogs and up to date on vaccinations.

Focus: Recall & off-leash, Basic obedience, Socialization

Group Classes pricing at SF Dog Pack in San Francisco, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Free Dog Training Class at Pet Food Express - RecallFree

What training methods does SF Dog Pack use?

They explicitly identify as force-free in their approach. The program accepts dogs with aggression cases, which suggests experience working through serious behavioral challenges without aversive tools.

Method: Reward-based

Uses rewards and positive reinforcement only, without corrections or aversive tools.

How do we verify SF Dog Pack?

Certifications: Not specified on their website

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Twenty-seven years in business running a home-based operation. Insurance, certifications, and guarantee terms aren't mentioned on the site.

Facility: Home-based trainer

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: not specified on their website.

Waitlist: not specified on their website.

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Email only

How does SF Dog Pack compare in San Francisco?

Price: SF Dog Pack does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Francisco, 46 programs publish prices from about $68 to $783.

Reviews: SF Dog Pack shows 5.0★ from 4 Google reviews among 13 published San Francisco programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 77 out of 100 (price 67%, program clarity 67%). 5 of 13 San Francisco listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.

What to ask SF Dog Pack

  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.

Location & hours

Training happens out of a home-based setup on 18th Street in San Francisco's Mission District. The site doesn't describe parking or how sessions work at the residence.

3701 18th St, San Francisco, CA

Friday: 9AM-5PM

Monday: 9AM-5PM

Sunday: Closed

Tuesday: 9AM-5PM

Saturday: Closed

Thursday: 9AM-5PM

Wednesday: 9AM-5PM

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through SF Dog Pack.

+1 415-812-3647Website

Compare San Francisco programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Francisco