Two Australian shepherd puppies sitting on grass. The word "Learn" is in large font in the foreground.
A Labrador retriever lying on his back on some grass with an orange ball in his mouth. The word "Play" is in large font in the foreground.
A corgi puppy sitting on a grey floor, looking happy with her mouth open. The word Bond is in large font in the foreground.
SF Puppy Prep
About-Hero-min		
	
	
		

		
			

	

	
		
		Leave a Reply Cancel reply
About-Hero-min		
	
	
		

		
			

	

	
		
		Leave a Reply Cancel reply
About-Hero-min		
	
	
		

		
			

	

	
		
		Leave a Reply Cancel reply
About-Hero-min		
	
	
		

		
			

	

	
		
		Leave a Reply Cancel reply

1 / 8

SF Puppy Prep — Dog Training in San Francisco, CA

SF Puppy Prep is a dog training business in San Francisco, California offering board and train, in-home training, and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as reward-based training, take aggression cases by assessment, and publish pricing from $165 per session to $400 per course.

San Francisco, CA • Training facility • 4.7 ★ (100 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

75 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
63%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
68%

About SF Puppy Prep

Based on what the business publishes about itself

SF Puppy Prep builds its programs around a specific challenge: helping dogs navigate city life. According to their site, training extends beyond classroom settings into actual San Francisco streets and neighborhoods, where dogs learn to respond to cues amid urban distractions, traffic, crowds, other dogs. They describe this outdoor education component as particularly suited for adolescent dogs who need practice in real-world conditions.

Their approach, as they present it, relies on positive reinforcement and avoids fear- or pain-based methods. The business offers a tiered structure starting with puppy day school for dogs 8-18 weeks old, covering socialization and basic manners, then progressing through group classes up to Canine Good Citizen preparation. They note that class sizes are kept small. For puppies who are shy, reactive, or aggressive, they offer private sessions, often in-home, and emphasize a non-judgmental stance toward owners dealing with behavioral difficulties.

Additional services include daycare specifically for dogs under 20 pounds and supervised puppy socials focused on teaching social boundaries. The business mentions providing regular updates to owners, described as similar to parent-teacher conferences, and offers a free initial consultation call to help families determine which program fits.

What dog training programs does SF Puppy Prep offer?

Group classes progress from Puppy Fundamentals (7 weeks to 4 months) through Adolescent Fundamentals and on to Canine Good Citizen prep, each requiring specific vaccination records. SF Puppy Prep also runs a board-and-train Puppy Prep School for 8-18 week olds, outdoor education for adolescent dogs, supervised puppy socials, and private sessions for reactive or resource-guarding cases.

Puppy Prep School

Price not published.

This is a full-day program combining structured training with social play so young puppies can build early skills together.

Puppies attend an all-day session at the facility that mixes training and supervised socialization.

Best for: Puppies between roughly 8 and 18 weeks old.

Requirements: For puppies aged 8-18 weeks

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Private Training

$165 per session

One-on-one session address individual behavioral challenges too intense for a group setting, such as fearfulness, reactivity, aggression, or resource guarding, using non-aversive methods.

A trainer typically comes to the client's home for individual sessions billed per visit.

Best for: Puppies who are very shy, reactive or aggressive toward unfamiliar people, or possessive over food or toys.

Requirements: Recommended for shy, reactive/aggressive, or resource-guarding puppies

Focus: Fear & anxiety, Aggression, Resource guarding

Outdoor Education

Price not published.

Trainers take adolescent dogs out into real city settings to practice reliable responses to cues despite distractions, while building confidence through structured play and enrichment.

Training occurs off-site in outdoor, real-world environments around the city.

Best for: Adolescent dogs adjusting to city life and distractions.

Requirements: For adolescent dogs

Focus: Advanced obedience, Socialization, Recall & off-leash

100 — Puppy Fundamentals

$300 per course

This beginner class teaches puppies foundational cues like sit, down, and come, alongside managing common puppy issues such as biting, chewing, and house training.

Weekly one-hour group classes run for four weeks, combining training with playtime.

Best for: Puppies aged 7 weeks to 4 months, whether or not enrolled in prep school.

Requirements: For puppies 7 weeks – 4 months; requires one set of DAPP core vaccinations and one Bordetella vaccine

Duration: 4 weeks

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

101 — Adolescent Fundamentals

$300 per course

This class targets the transition from puppyhood into adolescence, addressing difficult teen behaviors while reinforcing basic cues like sit, recall, and down.

Weekly one-hour group classes run for four weeks.

Best for: Dogs aged 5 months to 1 year, of any breed.

Requirements: For dogs 5 months – 1 year old, all breeds; requires one set of DAPP core vaccinations and one Bordetella vaccine

Duration: 4 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization

200 — Puppy Advanced

$300 per course

This class builds on foundational skills, focusing on transitioning training into daily life through fading food rewards and practicing around distractions, including gentle loose-leash walking.

Weekly one-hour group classes run for four weeks, practicing skills in distracting environments.

Best for: Puppies aged 4 months to 1 year who have completed a 100-level class or equivalent.

Requirements: For puppies 4 months – 1 year old; requires completion of a 100-level class or similar positive reinforcement class, plus DAPP and Bordetella vaccines

Duration: 4 weeks

Focus: Advanced obedience, Leash training, Basic obedience

300 — Canine Good Citizen

$400 per course

This class prepares dogs for the Canine Good Citizen test, teaching calm greetings with strangers, walking through crowds, staying calm around other dogs, and working at a distance from the handler.

Weekly one-hour group classes run for six weeks.

Best for: Dogs 6 months or older who are friendly with people and other dogs, having completed prior levels.

Requirements: 6 months or older, dog and people-friendly; requires 100 & 200-level classes or equivalent and two sets of DAPP plus Bordetella vaccines

Duration: 6 weeks

Focus: Advanced obedience, Socialization

Puppy Socials

Price not published.

Puppies gather for supervised play sessions designed to teach boundaries, communication, and cooperation among peers.

Puppies attend a session focused on play and social interaction rather than formal lessons.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization

How much does SF Puppy Prep cost?

Four-week group courses run $300, while the six-week Canine Good Citizen course costs $400. Private training sessions are $165 each; pricing for the board-and-train program, outdoor education, and puppy socials isn't published.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at SF Puppy Prep in San Francisco, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Puppy Prep SchoolNot publishedNot stated

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at SF Puppy Prep in San Francisco, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Private Training$165 per sessionNot stated
Outdoor EducationNot publishedNot stated

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at SF Puppy Prep in San Francisco, CA
ProgramPriceLength
100 — Puppy Fundamentals$300 per course4 weeks
101 — Adolescent Fundamentals$300 per course4 weeks
200 — Puppy Advanced$300 per course4 weeks
300 — Canine Good Citizen$400 per course6 weeks
Puppy SocialsNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does SF Puppy Prep use?

They explicitly describe their approach as force-free and positive reinforcement based. Aggression and reactivity cases are considered on a case-by-case basis, typically through private sessions rather than group settings.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Where does SF Puppy Prep offer dog training?

SF Puppy Prep operates from a dedicated training facility in San Francisco, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility, group classes, and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they puppies and dogs (and their owners) living in San Francisco, with an emphasis on helping them adapt to city life.

The 94103 address sits in San Francisco's SoMa district. Parking and accessibility details aren't listed on the website.

How does SF Puppy Prep compare with other San Francisco dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 13 published San Francisco listings (46 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by SF Puppy Prep.

Price: entry price within the published San Francisco range for in-home training ($165 vs. $133–$172); entry price within the published San Francisco range for group classes ($300–$400 vs. $294–$378).

Reviews: 4.7★ from 100 Google reviews, among 13 published San Francisco programs.

Transparency: 75 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 63% price transparency and 68% program clarity. 5 of 13 San Francisco listings show certifications; this business does not list any.

Published prices at SF Puppy Prep compared with San Francisco ranges
Program typeSF Puppy PrepSan Francisco rangeBarklen read
In-Home Training$165$133–$172 across 4 San Francisco programsEntry price within the published San Francisco range
Group Classes$300–$400$294–$378 across 20 San Francisco programsEntry price within the published San Francisco range

What should you ask SF Puppy Prep before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Puppy Prep School, Outdoor Education, and Puppy Socials, which are not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.

Location and hours

251 6th St, San Francisco, CA

Monday – Thursday
7:30 AM – 4:30 PM
Friday – Sunday
Closed

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed SF Puppy Prep against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 6, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
8 programs (board and train, in-home training, group classes)
Published pricing
Published for 5 of 8 programs
Training method
Reward-based
Aggression and reactivity cases
Aggression cases by assessment
Facility
Training facility
Booking
Book online

Contact SF Puppy Prep or request a quote

Contact SF Puppy Prep directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 415-618-0828Website

Compare San Francisco programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Francisco →