SmartyPup! is a dog training business in San Francisco, California offering group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as reward-based training, publish pricing from $375 per course, and list AKC CGC Evaluator credentials.
San Francisco, CA • Training facility • 4.8 ★ (76 Google reviews)
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Price transparency
40%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
67%
About SmartyPup!
Based on what the business publishes about itself
SmartyPup! is listed among dog training programs in San Francisco. Published program types include group classes. Ask about staffing, methods, and follow-up support before you book.
What dog training programs does SmartyPup! offer?
Group classes follow a structured progression, starting with Puppy 1 for dogs 8-16 weeks old and advancing through Puppy 2 and Puppy 3 for graduates. SmartyPup! also offers specialty courses including Canine Good Citizen prep, agility, trick training, and a Pro Recall class focused on off-leash reliability. Most classes require completing earlier levels or equivalent experience, and all run as 5-week courses.
Puppy 1
$375 per course
This is a foundation skills class covering sit, down, wait/stay, come, and leave it, along with handling practice, crate training support, name recognition, impulse control games, leash basics, polite greetings, and early recall work. Confidence-building activities help puppies feel safe in new environments.
Owners attend weekly in-person classes with their puppy over five weeks at the SF training location.
Best for: Puppies aged 8 to 16 weeks with at least their first round of parvo and distemper vaccines.
Requirements: For pups 8 to 16 weeks; proof of at least first set of parvovirus and distemper vaccines
A modified version of the foundational class designed for older puppies who missed the standard age cutoff, covering the same core skills with coaching suited to adolescent behavior.
Owners attend weekly in-person classes with their puppy over five weeks.
Best for: Older puppies around 4 months and up who missed the Puppy 1 age window.
Requirements: For pups 4 months and up, current on vaccinations
This class targets adolescent dogs, addressing impulse control, calm greetings, and leash manners using reward-based methods and management strategies to build reliable behavior outside the classroom.
Owners attend weekly in-person classes with their dog over five weeks.
Best for: Puppy 1 graduates entering adolescence.
Requirements: For graduates of Puppy 1 (or Puppy 1 - Catch-Up)
This advanced class refines heeling, recall, and stay behaviors under distraction to build fluency and calm follow-through in real-world settings like outdoors and around other dogs or people.
Owners attend weekly in-person classes with their dog over five weeks.
Best for: Puppy 2 graduates ready for more advanced, real-world reliability work.
This class prepares dogs for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test, focusing on calm greetings, loose-leash walking, handling, polite passing, and settling around distractions, with an optional test at the end.
Owners attend weekly classes over five weeks with an optional testing week at the end.
Best for: Puppy 2 graduates seeking to prepare for the AKC CGC test.
Requirements: For graduates of Puppy 2
Duration: 5 weeks
Focus: Advanced obedience, Socialization, Leash training
Tune-Up Drop-Ins
Price not published.
A flexible drop-in session for previous class graduates to refresh and reinforce previously learned skills.
Owners register and drop in as needed for a refresher session.
Best for: Graduates of any prior SmartyPup! class.
Requirements: For graduates of any SmartyPup! Class
Focus: Basic obedience
Includes: Refresher sessions
Agility Fun
Price not published.
A class focused on building physical and mental agility through jumping, climbing, and obstacle course work.
Owners bring dogs to in-person agility class sessions.
Best for: Puppy 2 graduates or equivalent that are comfortable around people and other dogs.
Requirements: For Puppy 2 graduates or equivalent; dogs must be people- and dog-friendly
Focus: Agility & dog sports
Happy Leash
Price not published.
A class dedicated to improving loose-leash walking so daily walks become more relaxed and enjoyable.
Owners attend in-person leash training sessions with their dog.
Best for: Dogs 5 months and older who are comfortable around people and other dogs.
Requirements: For pups 5 months old and up; dogs must be people- and dog-friendly
Focus: Leash training
Tricks
Price not published.
A class teaching fun tricks to build mental and physical stimulation and strengthen the human-dog bond.
Owners attend in-person sessions teaching their dog tricks.
Best for: Dogs at least 5 months old who have graduated at least one prior SmartyPup! class.
Requirements: For pups at least 5 months old, graduate of at least one SmartyPup! class
Focus: Basic obedience
Pro Recall
Price not published.
Focus: Recall & off-leash, Advanced obedience
How much does SmartyPup! cost?
The core puppy classes (Puppy 1, Puppy 1 Catch-Up, Puppy 2, and Puppy 3) all cost $375 per 5-week course. Pricing for specialty classes like agility, tricks, and Canine Good Citizen isn't published on the site.
Group Classes pricing
Group Classes pricing at SmartyPup! in San Francisco, CA
Program
Price
Length
Puppy 1
$375 per course
5 weeks
Puppy 1 – Catch-Up
$375 per course
5 weeks
Puppy 2
$375 per course
5 weeks
Puppy 3
$375 per course
5 weeks
Canine Good Citizen
Not published
5 weeks
Tune-Up Drop-Ins
Not published
Not stated
Agility Fun
Not published
Not stated
Happy Leash
Not published
Not stated
Tricks
Not published
Not stated
Pro Recall
Not published
Not stated
What training methods does SmartyPup! use?
They explicitly describe their approach as force-free. Whether they work with dogs showing aggression or reactivity isn't addressed on the site.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
Who runs SmartyPup!?
As described in the business's own materials
Fawn Pierre Erler, Founder / Lead Trainer
According to their site, a third-generation San Franciscan who spent 15 years with Dr. Ian Dunbar's SIRIUS Puppy Training and 13 years at the San Francisco SPCA, including over a decade teaching in its Dog Trainers Academy under Jean Donaldson. She also completed Bob Bailey's operant conditioning training intensive known as Chicken Camp.
Credentials listed on their site: CTC-H (The Academy for Dog Trainers). Barklen has not independently verified these.
Tyler B., Class Instructor, Manager, Head Trainer
Lisa P., Training Assistant, SmartyParty Event Planner
Credentials listed on their site: CGC Evaluator. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Nicole R., Class Instructor, Puppy Trainer, Dog Walker, Private Instruction
Kelly G., Lead Day Camp Puppy Trainer, Lead Class Assistant
Shura K., Consultant, Small Dog Expert, Trainer
Jia, Novice Puppy Trainer
Lisa U., Day Camp Trainer, Puppy Class Assistant
Where does SmartyPup! offer dog training?
SmartyPup! operates from a dedicated training facility in San Francisco, CA, offering group classes.
Their site says they serve puppy and dog owners in the San Francisco area, from first-time puppy parents to those managing sensitive or high-energy adolescent dogs, with classes designed to include children and the whole family.
Training center location in San Francisco described as easy to reach with ample parking.
Classes take place at 3119 Vicente St in the Outer Sunset neighborhood. The site doesn't mention parking availability or accessibility features.
How does SmartyPup! compare with other San Francisco dog trainers?
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 13 published San Francisco listings (46 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by SmartyPup!.
Price: entry price within the published San Francisco range for group classes ($375 vs. $294–$378).
Reviews: 4.8★ from 76 Google reviews, among 13 published San Francisco programs.
Transparency: 65 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 40% price transparency and 67% program clarity. 5 of 13 San Francisco listings show certifications; this business lists AKC CGC Evaluator.
Published prices at SmartyPup! compared with San Francisco ranges
Program type
SmartyPup!
San Francisco range
Barklen read
Group Classes
$375
$294–$378 across 20 San Francisco programs
Entry price within the published San Francisco range
What should you ask SmartyPup! before booking?
Generated from what their public materials leave open
Ask for current pricing on Canine Good Citizen, Tune-Up Drop-Ins, and Agility Fun, which are not published online.
Ask for proof of liability insurance.
Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.
Location and hours
3119 Vicente St, San Francisco, CA
Monday – Thursday
8:00 AM – 4:30 PM, 5:00 AM – 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM – 4:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Sunday
Closed
How Barklen reviewed this listing
Barklen reviewed SmartyPup! against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (aggression and reactivity cases, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 6, 2026
What Barklen could verify
Programs listed
10 programs (group classes)
Published pricing
Published for 4 of 10 programs
Training method
Reward-based
Facility
Training facility
Certifications
AKC CGC Evaluator
Years in business
32+ years
Contact SmartyPup! or request a quote
Contact SmartyPup! directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.