Snake School graduation day — dogs and their families after rattlesnake avoidance training
Snake School graduation day — August 8, 2026
Snake School graduation day — August 8, 2026
Snake School graduation day — June 6, 2026
Real graduate reviews + a look at the course
Real graduate reviews + a look at the course
Real graduate reviews + a look at the course
Real graduate reviews + a look at the course

1 / 8

The Snake School for Dogs — Dog Training in Santa Clarita, CA

The Snake School for Dogs is a dog training business in Santa Clarita, California offering private lessons and in-home training, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections) and publish pricing from $200 per session to $250 per session.

Santa Clarita, CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (16 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

81 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
67%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
83%

About The Snake School for Dogs

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Scott Quashen runs The Snake School for Dogs out of a 20-acre ranch in Santa Clarita, where he operates a permanent 12-station rattlesnake avoidance course. According to the site, he previously trained under another program but started his own after witnessing a safety failure with muzzled snakes. His approach keeps live rattlesnakes caged rather than muzzled during training, a distinction he emphasizes as both safer for dogs and more realistic, since caged snakes behave naturally.

The training methodology pairs low-level e-collar corrections with positive reinforcement, calibrated to each dog's size and sensitivity. Dogs work through scent, sound, and visual recognition separately before combining all three. Sessions run 15–25 minutes per dog, which the site describes as significantly longer than typical quick clinics. The program is built in association with a rattlesnake wrangling operation run by Cary Quashen, which claims to have removed over 1,000 rattlesnakes from local homes and has received coverage from KTLA, CBS, and NBC.

The school accommodates a range of dogs, from hunting and hiking companions to small puppies and sensitive or special-needs animals. One documented case involved adapting the protocol for a medical service dog with seizure-related e-collar sensitivity. Return sessions within the same season are offered at no additional charge if a dog needs reinforcement.

What dog training programs does The Snake School for Dogs offer?

Rattlesnake avoidance is the sole focus here, offered as private sessions that run about 20 minutes each. The Snake School for Dogs includes a refresher session with every booking and can train at your location for groups or special requests.

Rattlesnake Avoidance Training (20 sessions)

The Snake School for Dogs publishes 2 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.

Private Lessons options at The Snake School for Dogs
OptionLengthPriceWhat differs
Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Multi-Dog Rate20 sessions$200 per sessionFor owners bringing more than one dog to be trained at the same visit.; Applies when booking 2 or more dogs at the same time.
Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Single Dog20 sessions$250 per sessionFor suited to hiking dogs, hunting dogs, working dogs, pets, and dogs as small as five pounds.

Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Multi-Dog Rate

Each dog completes its own full one-on-one session through the same 12-station course.

Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Single Dog

The dog is walked through all 12 stations one-on-one with handlers, receiving corrections and praise as it encounters caged rattlesnakes by scent, sound, and sight.

Offsite Bookings (At Your Location)

Price not published.

The same rattlesnake avoidance training delivered at the client's own property instead of the ranch, based on a customer review describing the trainer traveling to their home.

The trainer travels to the client's location to run the avoidance course there.

Focus: Recall & off-leash, Fear & anxiety

How much does The Snake School for Dogs cost?

A single-dog session costs $250, while bringing two or more dogs at the same time drops the rate to $200 per dog. Offsite bookings at your location are available, though pricing for those isn't published.

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at The Snake School for Dogs in Santa Clarita, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Multi-Dog Rate$200 per session20 sessions
Rattlesnake Avoidance Training — Single Dog$250 per session20 sessions

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at The Snake School for Dogs in Santa Clarita, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Offsite Bookings (At Your Location)Not publishedNot stated

What training methods does The Snake School for Dogs use?

They explicitly describe their approach as balanced training. Whether they accept dogs with bite history or serious aggression cases isn't addressed on the site.

Their public materials mention e-collars. Barklen has not verified how or when they are used, so ask the trainer directly.

Who runs The Snake School for Dogs?

As described in the business's own materials

Scott Quashen, Rattlesnake avoidance trainer / director

According to their site, described as a professional venomous rattlesnake handler and balanced dog trainer who previously trained under another program before starting this school; the site says he has trained hundreds of dogs in 2026 alone.

Cary Quashen, Rattlesnake wrangler, associated business partner

According to their site, runs a rattlesnake wrangling operation that the school is built in association with; the site states this operation has caught over 1,000 rattlesnakes at homes in Santa Clarita, and its rescue work has received media coverage.

Where does The Snake School for Dogs offer dog training?

The Snake School for Dogs operates from a dedicated training facility in Santa Clarita, CA, offering private lessons and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they dog owners in rattlesnake-prone areas of Southern California, including hikers, hunters, families with pets, and owners of working or service dogs seeking rattlesnake avoidance training.

Training takes place on a 20-acre ranch in Santa Clarita, California, featuring a dedicated 12-station rattlesnake avoidance course used for weekend sessions through the season.

The facility sits on Bouquet Canyon Road in a dedicated training space. Parking and accessibility details aren't listed.

How does The Snake School for Dogs compare with other Santa Clarita dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 6 published Santa Clarita listings (5 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by The Snake School for Dogs.

Price: entry price within the published Santa Clarita range for private lessons ($200–$250 vs. $120–$240).

Reviews: 5.0★ from 16 Google reviews, among 6 published Santa Clarita programs.

Transparency: 81 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 67% price transparency and 83% program clarity. 1 of 6 Santa Clarita listings show certifications; this business does not list any.

Published prices at The Snake School for Dogs compared with Santa Clarita ranges
Program typeThe Snake School for DogsSanta Clarita rangeBarklen read
Private Lessons$200–$250$120–$240 across 3 Santa Clarita programsEntry price within the published Santa Clarita range

What should you ask The Snake School for Dogs before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Offsite Bookings (At Your Location), which is not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

30035 Bouquet Canyon Rd, Santa Clarita, CA

Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed The Snake School for Dogs against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (aggression and reactivity cases, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, certifications, years in business, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 6, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
3 programs (private lessons, in-home training)
Published pricing
Published for 2 of 3 programs
Training method
Balanced
Facility
Training facility
Owner visits during programs
Owner visits allowed
Guarantee
Offers a satisfaction guarantee
Dogs per trainer
1
Booking
Book online

Contact The Snake School for Dogs or request a quote

Contact The Snake School for Dogs directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 661-658-1774Website

Compare Santa Clarita programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Santa Clarita →