1 / 3
America’s Best Dog Trainers — Dog Training in Studio City, CA
America’s Best Dog Trainers is a dog training business in Studio City, California offering board and train and group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They publish pricing from $50 per month to $4,990 and have been in business for 40+ years.
Studio City, CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (5 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026
Transparency Score
71 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
- Price transparency
- 100%
- Method transparency
- 35%
- Program clarity
- 61%
About America’s Best Dog Trainers
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Daryl Young, the trainer behind America's Best Dog Trainers, claims over 40 years of experience working with dogs and their owners. According to his site, he has trained for families, executives, celebrities, and athletes, and describes himself as a specialist in Dobermans, stating he's the top trainer of the breed in the country. His background spans protection dogs designed to live safely with children and sport dogs competing in Mondio Ring and IGP at European clubs.
The Studio City-based operation emphasizes what they call real-world reliability over flashy tricks. Their stated philosophy focuses on producing dogs that are stable, confident, and obedient in actual settings, at home, in public, around children, rather than just performing in controlled training environments. They offer board-and-train programs, group classes at their facility and at Woodley Park, and consultations.
A few things stand out from their site: they describe offering free lifetime follow-up lessons, framing training as an ongoing relationship rather than a one-time transaction. They also stress early intervention with puppies between 8 weeks and 12 months, arguing that preventing problems is easier than fixing them later. Young has appeared on NBC, ABC, CBS, FOX, and BET, and claims to consult internationally in countries including Thailand, the Netherlands, and the Philippines.
What dog training programs does America’s Best Dog Trainers offer?
America's Best Dog Trainers structures its board and train options in three phases, all designed for puppies and dogs under 12 months. Phase 1 runs two weeks, Phase 2 extends to three weeks with lifetime support added, and Phase 3 covers six weeks with off-leash recall work. Group classes are available through a $50 monthly membership or a $2,000 lifetime option, both focused on obedience and socialization for young dogs.
Board & Train — Phase (2 to 6 weeks)
America’s Best Dog Trainers publishes 3 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price | What differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Board & Train — Phase 1 | 2 weeks | $2,990 | Basic obedience, Leash training; Built for puppies and young dogs under 12 months |
| Board & Train — Phase 2 | 3 weeks | $3,490 | Basic obedience, Leash training; Includes lifetime support; Built for puppies and young dogs under 12 months |
| Board & Train — Phase 3 | 6 weeks | $4,990 | Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash; Includes lifetime support; Built for puppies and young dogs under 12 months |
Group Classes (2 options)
America’s Best Dog Trainers publishes 2 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price | What differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group Classes — Monthly Membership | Not stated | $50 per month | Built for puppies and young dogs under 12 months |
| Group Classes — Lifetime Membership | Not stated | $2,000 | Built for puppies and young dogs under 12 months |
How much does America’s Best Dog Trainers cost?
Board and train ranges from $2,990 for two weeks up to $4,990 for the six-week program. Group class access runs $50 per month, or there's a one-time $2,000 lifetime membership. All prices are published clearly on their site.
Board and Train pricing
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Board & Train — Phase 1 | $2,990 | 2 weeks |
| Board & Train — Phase 2 | $3,490 | 3 weeks |
| Board & Train — Phase 3 | $4,990 | 6 weeks |
Group Classes pricing
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Group Classes — Monthly Membership | $50 per month | Not stated |
| Group Classes — Lifetime Membership | $2,000 | Not stated |
Consultations and evaluations
- Free Consultation: Free
What training methods does America’s Best Dog Trainers use?
The site uses general language about training philosophy without specifying techniques or tools. Whether they work with aggression or bite-history cases isn't addressed.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
Who runs America’s Best Dog Trainers?
As described in the business's own materials
Daryl Young, Lead trainer / founder of the training programs
According to their site, has trained dogs and their owners for over 40 years, working with families, executives, celebrities, athletes, and serious dog owners. Has experience with protection dogs that live safely around children and sport dogs that compete internationally.
Where does America’s Best Dog Trainers offer dog training?
America’s Best Dog Trainers operates from a dedicated training facility in Studio City, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility and group classes.
Their site says they puppy and dog owners in the Los Angeles area, including families, executives, celebrities, and athletes, as well as serious dog owners internationally.
Classes are held at their own facility and at an additional location, Woodley Park, in the Los Angeles area.
Parking and accessibility information isn't published.
How does America’s Best Dog Trainers compare with other Studio City dog trainers?
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 4 published Studio City listings (12 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by America’s Best Dog Trainers.
Price: 25% below the Studio City midpoint at entry price for board and train ($2,990–$4,990 vs. $3,176–$5,194).
Reviews: 5.0★ from 5 Google reviews, among 4 published Studio City programs.
Transparency: 71 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 100% price transparency and 61% program clarity. 1 of 4 Studio City listings show certifications; this business does not list any.
| Program type | America’s Best Dog Trainers | Studio City range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Board and Train | $2,990–$4,990 | $3,176–$5,194 across 7 Studio City programs | 25% below the Studio City midpoint at entry price |
What should you ask America’s Best Dog Trainers before booking?
Generated from what their public materials leave open
- Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
- Ask for proof of liability insurance.
- Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
- Ask whether you can visit your dog during a board and train stay.
- Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
- Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
- Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
- Ask for a written outline of daily structure, skills covered, and follow-up support after the program.
Location and hours
11684 Ventura Blvd #895, Studio City, CA
Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.
How Barklen reviewed this listing
Barklen reviewed America’s Best Dog Trainers against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (aggression and reactivity cases, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026
What Barklen could verify
- Programs listed
- 5 programs (board and train, group classes)
- Published pricing
- Published for every program
- Training method
- Method unclear
- Facility
- Training facility
- Years in business
- 40+ years
- Booking
- Contact form
Contact America’s Best Dog Trainers or request a quote
Contact America’s Best Dog Trainers directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.
Compare Studio City programs like these
Similar programs nearby

LA’s Dog Trainer
Studio City, CA · 4.4 ★ (31)
In-Home Training · Private Lessons · Board and Train · +1
12 programs
From $160
Reward-based

Smart Dogs Training Academy
Studio City, CA · 4.8 ★ (50)
Private Lessons · Board and Train
5 programs
Contact for pricing
Method unclear

K9 BAR Academy
Studio City, CA · 3.3 ★ (4)
Board and Train · Private Lessons · Group Classes
5 programs
Contact for pricing

WESSMADE K9
North Hollywood, CA · 5.0 ★ (10)
Private Lessons · In-Home Training · Board and Train
7 programs
From $150
Method unclear

Avid K9 Training
North Hollywood, CA · 4.9 ★ (44)
Private Lessons · Group Classes · Virtual Training
6 programs
From $195
Method unclear

The Barking Bunch
North Hollywood, CA · 5.0 ★ (1)
In-Home Training · Board and Train · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $40
Reward-based


