Lucy
        
          Ambassador Collection
        
      
        SHOP NOW
Blossom
        
          Ambassador Collection
        
      
        SHOP NOW
Brady
        
          Ambassador Collection
        
      
        SHOP NOW
Gidget
        
          Ambassador Collection
        
      
        SHOP NOW

1 / 4

Aly's Puppy Boot Camp — Dog Training in Arroyo Grande, CA

Aly's Puppy Boot Camp is a dog training business in Arroyo Grande, California offering board and train, private lessons, and in-home training, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections) and publish pricing from $1,200 per course to $4,500.

Arroyo Grande, CA • Training facility • 5.0 ★ (70 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 10, 2026

Transparency Score

91 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
88%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
84%

About Aly's Puppy Boot Camp

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Aly's Puppy Boot Camp centers on founder Alyson Rodges, who describes herself as having trained dogs for decades while raising a family. According to her site, she developed her methods around the demands of everyday life rather than formal obedience settings. She's nicknamed the "Doodle Whisperer" within the industry and competes in reined cow horse events. Her son Luke and trainer Wendie also work with dogs at the facility.

Training takes place at "Aly's Acres" in Arroyo Grande, a property featuring kennels, grooming areas, green space, and exposure to farm animals including goats, chickens, horses, and cats. The business describes its approach through two branded frameworks: the "Pillars of Pack Leadership" and what they call the "ForceFree Method," which uses low-level vibration e-collars for off-leash reliability and recall. Their stated goal is helping dogs choose calm behavior rather than simply following commands.

Beyond board-and-train programs for puppies as young as eight weeks, the business sells pre-trained dogs matched to buyers' lifestyles and offers AKC Canine Good Citizen preparation. Graduates receive lifetime access to an alumni community with discounted boarding and future training. They also run a paid membership community and consultation services for people selecting puppies from breeders. The site claims an IBPSA award for Best Small Pet Facility, though some listed awards reference future dates.

What dog training programs does Aly's Puppy Boot Camp offer?

Board-and-train options dominate the lineup at Aly's Puppy Boot Camp, with programs ranging from a 5-day day-train camp to multi-week residential stays covering obedience, socialization, and off-leash recall. Private lesson courses are also available, including a 6-week AKC Canine Champions program and a 4-session leadership course. Most bootcamp programs include handoff sessions and follow-up training, though eligibility varies, puppies as young as 8 weeks can enroll if coming from an approved breeder, while dogs showing aggression are excluded from certain programs.

Pawsitive Social Stay & Play Program

$4,200

This two-week boarding program focuses on positive socialization through pack walks, group play, and social experiences, with support for potty and crate training basics.

The dog boards at the facility for two weeks engaging in group play and pack walks.

Best for: Pups 16 weeks and older and dogs of all ages without aggression or severe behavior issues.

Requirements: For pups 16 weeks and older (and dogs of all ages); not designed for dogs with aggression toward humans or other dogs, or severe behavioral issues.

Duration: 2 weeks

Focus: Socialization, Puppy training

Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience/Come When Called

$4,500

Ask how much of Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience/Come When Called happens in person versus online.

This two-week program builds off-leash recall reliability using a remote collar set to vibration, alongside foundational manners like sit, place, and crate training. It also prepares dogs to meet AKC Canine Good Citizen test requirements through structured socialization, group walks, and distraction training.

The dog boards at the facility for two weeks with daily training, group walks, and socialization, ending in a graduation day.

Best for: Dogs 20 weeks of age or older ready for off-leash recall and CGC-level manners.

Requirements: For dogs 20 weeks of age and older.

Duration: 2 weeks

Focus: Recall & off-leash, Advanced obedience, Basic obedience, Socialization

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions

Puppy Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience

$3,950

This three-week program covers early puppy foundations including potty training, crate comfort, and basic commands like sit, come, down, and stand. Puppies are exposed to real-world sights, sounds, grooming handling, and car riding manners within a home environment.

The puppy boards at the facility for three weeks receiving daily training and socialization with people and other dogs.

Best for: Puppies 8 weeks and older coming directly from an approved breeder.

Requirements: For puppies 8 weeks and older, coming directly from an approved breeder.

Duration: 3 weeks

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions

The Day Train Boot Camp

$1,750

This five-day daytime-only program (no overnight stay) covers leash etiquette, pack walk socialization, confidence building, meet-and-greets, and the place command. Dogs are dropped off 8am-5pm and owners receive evening video homework assignments.

The dog attends daily from 8am to 5pm without overnight boarding; owners implement evening homework.

Best for: Dogs without aggression issues who need minor behavior fine-tuning.

Requirements: Dogs displaying aggressive behavior towards other dogs or humans are not eligible; requires a $35 preliminary assessment.

Duration: 5 days

Focus: Leash training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Includes: Follow-up sessions

Diamond Dog Training Program (Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience)

$3,950

This program exposes dogs to people, other dogs, and farm animals to build balance and self-control, alongside loose leash walking, distance/duration obedience, and household etiquette. It targets preparation for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test.

The dog boards at the facility with daily training and socialization, culminating in a graduation ceremony.

Best for: Pups 16 weeks and older and dogs of all ages seeking real-world manners and CGC readiness.

Requirements: For pups 16 weeks and older, and dogs of all ages.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash training, Advanced obedience

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions

Pillars of Pack Leadership - 4 Session Course

$1,200 per course

This four-session course teaches calm leash walking, a reliable place command, how to stop disruptive behaviors, and daily structure using the Pillars of Pack Leadership philosophy.

Owner and dog attend four sessions together led by the APBC team.

Duration: 4 sessions

Focus: Leash training, Basic obedience

6-Week AKC Canine Champions Bootcamp

$1,800 per course

This six-week, one-on-one program consists of six hour-long sessions covering Pillars of Pack Leadership and preparing the dog for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test, with the test cost included.

Owner and dog attend six weekly hour-long sessions with the APBC team.

Duration: 6 weeks

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience

Aly's Insider Training

Price not published.

This is an on-site shadowing experience where dog lovers, aspiring trainers, or professionals work alongside Aly and her team to learn the Pillars of Pack Leadership methods firsthand.

Participants work side-by-side with Aly and the training team on-site.

Best for: Dog lovers, aspiring trainers, groomers, dog walkers, or seasoned pros wanting to sharpen skills.

Focus: Basic obedience

How much does Aly's Puppy Boot Camp cost?

Board-and-train programs run from $1,750 for the 5-day option up to $4,500 for the full 2-week obedience and recall bootcamp. Private lesson courses cost $1,200 to $1,800. The day-train option requires a $35 preliminary assessment fee. In-home training is offered but pricing isn't published for that service.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Aly's Puppy Boot Camp in Arroyo Grande, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Pawsitive Social Stay & Play Program$4,2002 weeks
Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience/Come When Called$4,5002 weeks
Puppy Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience$3,9503 weeks
The Day Train Boot Camp$1,7505 days
Diamond Dog Training Program (Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience)$3,950Not stated

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Aly's Puppy Boot Camp in Arroyo Grande, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Pillars of Pack Leadership - 4 Session Course$1,200 per course4 sessions
6-Week AKC Canine Champions Bootcamp$1,800 per course6 weeks

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at Aly's Puppy Boot Camp in Arroyo Grande, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Aly's Insider TrainingNot publishedNot stated

Consultations and evaluations

  • Puppy or Dog Picker Consultation: $300 per session

What training methods does Aly's Puppy Boot Camp use?

The program explicitly describes its approach as balanced training. Dogs with aggression toward humans or other dogs are not accepted into most programs, with eligibility screenings in place for the day-train bootcamp.

Their public materials mention e-collars. Barklen has not verified how or when they are used, so ask the trainer directly.

Who runs Aly's Puppy Boot Camp?

As described in the business's own materials

Alyson (Aly) Rodges, CEO & Founder

According to their site, started working with horses and dogs as a child, has trained dogs for decades, and describes herself as a busy parent who developed her methods while living an active family life. She also competes in reined cow horse events.

Wendie, Trainer

According to their site, described by a client as showing a strong emotional connection with dogs alongside professional discipline while training.

Luke, Trainer (Aly's son)

According to their site, described in a client testimonial as having an innate ability to read and connect with dogs, similar to his mother.

Where does Aly's Puppy Boot Camp offer dog training?

Aly's Puppy Boot Camp operates from a dedicated training facility in Arroyo Grande, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility, private lessons, and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they serve puppy and dog owners of all breeds and ages, from first-time puppy buyers to owners of older dogs with behavior issues, as well as aspiring trainers, groomers, and dog walkers through an educational 'insider' program.

Training takes place at a property referred to as 'Aly's Acres,' which a client described as impressive and well-maintained.

The facility sits at 776 Calle Bendita in Arroyo Grande. Parking and accessibility details aren't specified on the website.

How does Aly's Puppy Boot Camp compare with other Arroyo Grande dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 4 published Arroyo Grande listings (10 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Aly's Puppy Boot Camp.

Price: 56% below the Arroyo Grande midpoint at entry price for board and train ($1,750–$4,500 vs. $2,630–$4,380).

Reviews: 5.0★ from 70 Google reviews, among 4 published Arroyo Grande programs.

Transparency: 91 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 88% price transparency and 84% program clarity. Certification disclosure is still sparse across Arroyo Grande listings.

Published prices at Aly's Puppy Boot Camp compared with Arroyo Grande ranges
Program typeAly's Puppy Boot CampArroyo Grande rangeBarklen read
Board and Train$1,750–$4,500$2,630–$4,380 across 5 Arroyo Grande programs56% below the Arroyo Grande midpoint at entry price

What should you ask Aly's Puppy Boot Camp before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask how much of Dog Training Bootcamp: Manners/Socialization/Obedience/Come When Called happens in person versus online.
  • Ask for current pricing on Aly's Insider Training, which is not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.

Location and hours

776 Calle Bendita, Arroyo Grande, CA

Monday – Saturday
8:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM – 5:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Aly's Puppy Boot Camp against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, dogs per trainer, years in business, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 10, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
8 programs (board and train, private lessons, in-home training)
Published pricing
Published for 7 of 8 programs
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Does not take aggression cases
Facility
Training facility
Owner visits during programs
Limited visits
Progress updates
Daily updates
Waitlist
Mentions a waitlist

Contact Aly's Puppy Boot Camp or request a quote

Contact Aly's Puppy Boot Camp directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 805-868-6451Website

Compare Arroyo Grande programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Arroyo Grande →