Two dogs are laying in the grass with a blue bandanna on their neck.
A dog with bandanna on his head and a person in camouflage.
A dog with a red bandana on its neck.
A dog with its tongue hanging out in the grass.
Two dogs with bandanas on their heads.
A woman holding a dog in her arms.

1 / 6

Doggie Do Good — Dog Training in Arroyo Grande, CA

Doggie Do Good is a dog training business in Arroyo Grande, California offering board and train and private lessons, working from a home-based setup. They accept aggression and reactivity cases and have been in business for 27+ years.

Arroyo Grande, CA • Home-based trainer • 4.5 ★ (94 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 10, 2026

Transparency Score

28 / 100

Minimal information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
0%
Method transparency
35%
Program clarity
71%

About Doggie Do Good

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Sandy Sandberg founded Doggie Do Good in 1998, bringing an unusual background to dog training. According to her site, she spent roughly 30 years working with animals ranging from dolphins and whales at Sea World to big cats and elephants at the Santa Barbara Zoo, she even served as lead elephant supervisor at Michael Jackson's Neverland Ranch before transitioning to dog training.

The business operates from a 2.5-acre property in Arroyo Grande that they describe as a home environment rather than a traditional kennel. Their primary offering is a residential training program called Doggie Camp, a minimum 21-day stay where dogs receive what they state is 6-8 hours of daily training covering obedience and specific behavioral issues. They say they specialize in difficult cases, including aggressive dogs, and claim their family dog training program was modeled after their service dog curriculum. Dogs completing the full program receive what they call a lifetime guarantee of free follow-up lessons.

Beyond board-and-train, Doggie Do Good offers service dog training for various needs including mobility assistance and psychiatric support, available either with a client's own dog or one they source. They also provide private lessons at homes, parks, or their facility. Trainers are on-site daily from 6am to 11pm according to their website, and Spanish-speaking trainers are available on request.

What dog training programs does Doggie Do Good offer?

The flagship offering is a 21-day board and train covering basic obedience, reactivity, separation anxiety, and aggression, with handoff sessions and lifetime support included. Doggie Do Good also runs a two-month service dog program requiring a doctor's letter and completed application. Private lessons and boarding round out the options, though boarding may require completing the camp program first.

Service Dogs

Price not published.

Fully trained service dogs are provided or an existing family dog can be trained to perform tasks for a person with a disability, including mobility assistance, seizure response, psychiatric support, diabetic alert, or hearing assistance. Training is customized to the handler's specific needs and includes basic obedience.

Dogs are trained by Doggie Do Good staff, with expedited dogs potentially ready to graduate in 2-6 months.

Best for: People with disabilities who need a task-trained service dog, either newly matched or using their own qualifying dog.

Requirements: Requires completed Service Dog Application including a signed letter from a doctor addressing the disability.

Duration: 2 months

Focus: Service dog training, Basic obedience

21-Day Doggie Camp

Price not published.

Dogs stay at the facility full time while trainers work on basic obedience commands and any specific behavior issues the owner identifies, such as separation anxiety, barking, nipping, or jumping. Training includes distraction work in increasingly challenging environments, including off-site trips to the beach or park, with roughly 6-8 hours of training daily.

The dog boards at the trainer's home facility for the program length, and owners attend a multi-hour transfer session at pickup to learn what was taught.

Best for: Dog owners with busy schedules or dogs with tough behavioral issues who need training done for them.

Requirements: Minimum stay can be as little as 2 days, but 21 consecutive days required for training guarantee.

Duration: 21 days

Focus: Basic obedience, Separation anxiety, Aggression, Leash reactivity

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Lifetime support

Dog Boarding

Price not published.

Dogs stay overnight in a home-like environment with supervised play in a large grassy yard, individual attention, and optional review of skills learned during a previous Doggie Camp stay.

The dog stays at the home facility under trainer supervision, with food and vaccination records required from the owner.

Best for: Owners needing overnight care for dogs while traveling or busy, ideally after completing a training program.

Requirements: May require completion of Doggie Camp before boarding is offered.

Focus: Basic obedience

Private Lessons

Price not published.

A trainer works one-on-one with the owner and dog at the client's home, office, park, or the facility, addressing specific behavior issues like door-dashing, potty training, socialization, digging, chewing, and barking. Lessons can be purchased individually or as a package.

The trainer travels to the client's chosen location or the client comes to the facility for one-on-one session.

Best for: Owners who have time to train their dog themselves but need professional guidance on specific problems.

Requirements: Best suited for owners who have time to train but need guidance on specific issues.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash training

How much does Doggie Do Good cost?

Doggie Do Good does not publish program pricing online. Contact them directly or request a quote through Barklen for current rates.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at Doggie Do Good in Arroyo Grande, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Service DogsNot published2 months
21-Day Doggie CampNot published21 days
Dog BoardingNot publishedNot stated

Private Lessons pricing

Private Lessons pricing at Doggie Do Good in Arroyo Grande, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Private LessonsNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does Doggie Do Good use?

They accept dogs with aggression histories. The site uses vague language to describe their approach without naming specific techniques or tools, so asking directly about training methods would clarify what to expect.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Doggie Do Good?

As described in the business's own materials

Sandy Sandberg, Founder / Owner / Animal Behavior Specialist

According to their site, sandy has worked with hundreds of animal species over roughly 30 years, including dolphins, penguins and whales at Sea World, big cats and elephants at the Santa Barbara Zoo, and as lead elephant supervisor at Michael Jackson's Neverland Ranch. She later worked as a dog trainer at a Los Angeles training center and has volunteered at zoos and animal hospitals.

Destiny Aragon, Program Representative

According to their site, joined the company in 2016; she handles Doggie Camp inquiries and works as a 'team matcher' pairing clients with service dogs, and helps place service dogs in training with permanent homes.

Isaac Rios, Senior Trainer

According to their site, with the company since 2016, he focuses on helping owners succeed with training and strengthen their bond with their dog; his favorite specialty is boundary training.

Where does Doggie Do Good offer dog training?

Doggie Do Good runs a home-based training operation in Arroyo Grande, CA, offering board and train stays and private lessons.

Their site says they they serve busy pet owners who lack time to train their dogs themselves, owners struggling with difficult or aggressive dogs, and people with disabilities seeking a trained service dog.

The business operates from a 2.5-acre ranchette property in Arroyo Grande, near San Luis Obispo, about 6 miles from the Pacific Ocean, describing it as a home environment rather than a kennel.

Summit Station Road in Arroyo Grande is the address. Parking, accessibility, and facility layout details aren't published on the site.

How does Doggie Do Good compare with other Arroyo Grande dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 4 published Arroyo Grande listings (10 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Doggie Do Good.

Price: Doggie Do Good does not publish pricing for the program types where Arroyo Grande has enough published prices to compare (board and train).

Reviews: 4.5★ from 94 Google reviews, among 4 published Arroyo Grande programs.

Transparency: 28 out of 100 (minimal information), with 0% price transparency and 71% program clarity. Certification disclosure is still sparse across Arroyo Grande listings.

Published prices at Doggie Do Good compared with Arroyo Grande ranges
Program typeDoggie Do GoodArroyo Grande rangeBarklen read
Board and TrainNot published$2,630–$4,380 across 5 Arroyo Grande programsNo published price to compare

What should you ask Doggie Do Good before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • They don't publish pricing. Ask what a board and train stay costs and exactly what is included.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Their site describes their approach in general terms. Ask which specific methods and tools they use.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask exactly what their guarantee covers; no trainer can guarantee behavior.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

335 Summit Station Rd, Arroyo Grande, CA

Monday – Sunday
8:00 AM – 6:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Doggie Do Good against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (overnight staffing, insurance, certifications, dogs per trainer, and waitlist) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 10, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
4 programs (board and train, private lessons)
Published pricing
None published
Training method
Method unclear
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Home-based trainer
Owner visits during programs
Limited visits
Progress updates
Occasional updates
Guarantee
Advertises guaranteed results
Years in business
27+ years
Booking
Contact form

Contact Doggie Do Good or request a quote

Contact Doggie Do Good directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 805-473-1701Website

Compare Arroyo Grande programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Arroyo Grande →