sarah surrit dog trainer with dog in field
bermese mountain dog

1 / 2

Get Pawsitive Dog Training

Get Pawsitive Dog Training is a dog training business in Encinitas, California offering Board and Train, Virtual Training, and Group Classes, with published programs from $47.

Encinitas • CA • Home-based trainer • 5.0 ★ (40 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

78 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
71%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
66%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Get Pawsitive Dog Training is led by Sarah Surritt, a certified trainer (KPA-CTP, CPDT-KA) who began learning positive reinforcement methods while volunteering at the San Diego Humane Society in 2001. Her team includes Patti O'Farrell, a certified separation anxiety specialist (CSAT), and Libby Lucas, a retired wildlife biologist who now works as a behavior consultant. According to their website, all training uses science-based methods without pain, fear, or force.

The business operates out of Encinitas with group classes held at a private outdoor space, local community parks, and Rancho Coastal Humane Society, where they also coach volunteer trainers. Their site notes that group classes are capped at four to five dogs. Programs range from puppy socialization starting at eight weeks through adolescence, a small-group "Bark Class" for reactive dogs, and a therapy dog preparation course offered in partnership with the humane society's pet-assisted therapy program.

Beyond group classes, they offer private consultations, board-and-train options (either in the trainer's home or the dog's), and day training. Virtual coaching and a self-paced online puppy course extend their reach beyond San Diego's North County. Surritt's site mentions experience training other animals including horses, goats, and cats—an unusual background that may reflect how she approaches understanding animal behavior more broadly.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Initial Online Training Consultation$240/session

Duration: 60 sessions

Focus: Basic obedience

What does Get Pawsitive Dog Training charge for board and train?

Group classes cover puppy socialization, leash reactivity, and recall skills, with courses running 4-6 weeks. Board and train options at Get Pawsitive Dog Training range from 5-day puppy programs to 21-day intensive stays, though longer programs require contacting them for pricing. A $47 virtual puppy course offers a self-paced alternative for foundational skills.

Group classes run $250-$300 per course, with puppy preschool at $250 for five sessions and the reactivity-focused Bark Class at $300. The 5-day board and train costs $300-$325 per day, while pricing for the 10-day and 21-day programs isn't published online.

Board and Train

Pawsitively Perfect - 5 Days$300 per program

Best for: Accepting puppies up to 7 months of age.

Focus: Basic obedience

Duration: 5 days

Includes: Lifetime support

Wonder Pup - 10 Days

Best for: Accepting puppies up to 7 months of age.

Focus: Puppy training, Leash training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Duration: 10 days

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Lifetime support

Board and Train in Encinitas typically runs $310–$4,550 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Fabulous Fido - 21 Days

Best for: Accepting puppies up to 7 months of age.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience

Duration: 21 days

Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Lifetime support

Board and Train in Encinitas typically runs $310–$4,550 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Board and Train pricing at Get Pawsitive Dog Training in Encinitas, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Pawsitively Perfect - 5 Days$300–$325 per program5 days
Wonder Pup - 10 DaysNot published10 days
Fabulous Fido - 21 DaysNot published21 days

Group Classes

Pawsitive Puppy Preschool$250 per program

Best for: 8 weeks - 16 weeks

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Duration: 5 sessions

Bark Class$300 per program

Best for: Not for dogs reactive to people or with a current bite history.

Focus: Leash reactivity, Fear & anxiety

Duration: 5 weeks

Recall 101$250 per program

Best for: 6 months and up. Dog may not be reactive in public towards other dogs/people.

Focus: Recall & off-leash, Advanced obedience

Duration: 4 weeks

Group Classes pricing at Get Pawsitive Dog Training in Encinitas, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Pawsitive Puppy Preschool$250 per program5 sessions
Bark Class$300 per program5 weeks
Recall 101$250 per program4 weeks

Virtual Training

The Pawsitive Puppy Training Academy$47 per program

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

Duration: 6 weeks

Virtual Training pricing at Get Pawsitive Dog Training in Encinitas, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
The Pawsitive Puppy Training Academy$47 per program6 weeks

What training methods does Get Pawsitive Dog Training use?

The approach is explicitly force-free, with no aversive tools mentioned. Aggression cases are evaluated individually, and dogs with current bite histories or reactivity toward people are excluded from certain group classes.

Method: Reward-based

Uses rewards and positive reinforcement only, without corrections or aversive tools.

How do we verify Get Pawsitive Dog Training?

Certifications: KPA-CTP, CPDT-KA, ABCDT

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Credentials include KPA-CTP, CPDT-KA, and ABCDT certifications, and insurance is mentioned on the site. Dogs stay in a home-based setting with daily video updates, and owner visits are allowed. Overnight staffing and guarantee terms aren't addressed, though there is a waitlist.

Facility: Home-based trainer

Owner visits: Owner visits allowed

Video updates: Daily updates

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: Yes

Guarantee: No guarantee offered

Waitlist: Yes

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Contact form

How does Get Pawsitive Dog Training compare in Encinitas?

Price: Their board & train is 88% below the Encinitas midpoint based on published prices.

Reviews: Get Pawsitive Dog Training shows 5.0★ from 40 Google reviews among 4 published Encinitas programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 78 out of 100 (price 71%, program clarity 66%). 2 of 4 Encinitas listings show certifications; this business lists KPA-CTP, CPDT-KA, ABCDT.

What to ask Get Pawsitive Dog Training

  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask for a written outline of daily structure, skills covered, and what follow-up support looks like after the program.

Location & hours

Training takes place at a home-based facility on Requeza Street. Parking and accessibility details aren't listed on the site.

389 Requeza St, Encinitas, CA

Friday: 9AM-5PM

Monday: 9AM-5PM

Sunday: 9AM-5PM

Tuesday: 9AM-5PM

Saturday: 9AM-5PM

Thursday: 9AM-5PM

Wednesday: 9AM-5PM

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through Get Pawsitive Dog Training.

+1 760-266-7297Website

Compare Encinitas programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Encinitas