American Canine Institute

American Canine Institute

American Canine Institute is a dog training business in Fremont, California offering Group Classes, Board and Train, and Private Lessons, with published programs from $125.

Fremont • CA • 4.3 ★ (37 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

64 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
0%
Program clarity
74%

About this program

What they say about themselves

American Canine Institute is listed among dog training programs in Fremont. Published program types include group classes, board and train, private lessons. Ask about staffing, methods, and follow-up support before you book.

What does American Canine Institute charge for board and train?

Group classes progress from Puppy Kindergarten through Advanced Obedience, with the full sequence running 16 weeks for puppies and 8 weeks per level after that. American Canine Institute also offers board and train, a 12-week behavior modification program for aggression and reactivity cases, agility training, and service dog preparation. Each level has prerequisites, so dogs advance through a structured path rather than jumping into off-leash work immediately.

Group obedience courses range from $250 to $320 depending on level, with agility at $290. Board and train is priced at $125 per day, behavior modification sessions run $175 each over a 12-week program, and service dog training falls between $8,000 and $15,000 total. All pricing is published upfront on their site.

Board and Train

Board & Train Program$125 per program

The dog stays on-site and receives personalized training care while boarding, priced separately for boarding and training. After the program, the handler receives an accelerated training session to learn how to maintain the results.

The dog boards and trains daily; the handler gets a handoff training session afterward.

Best for: Owners with busy schedules who cannot attend regular classes.

Focus: Basic obedience

Includes: Boarding included, Owner handoff sessions

Board and Train pricing at American Canine Institute in Fremont, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Board & Train Program$125 per program

Private Lessons

Behavior Modification Program$175 per session

A customized program addressing behavioral problems arising from the dog's interactions with people and environment, determined case by case, typically delivered in weekly one-hour sessions.

Owner and dog attend weekly one-hour sessions, with total duration varying by issue.

Best for: Dogs with behavior problems, assessed individually.

Focus: Aggression, Fear & anxiety, Leash reactivity

Duration: 12 weeks

Service Dog Training$8,000 per program

Private training program teaching service dog tasks such as retrieving items, hearing alert, mobility assistance, opening doors, diabetic alert, and public access work, following IAADP, AKC, and CGC-based standards.

Private lessons train the dog and owner/caregiver in specific assistance tasks and public access skills.

Best for: People with disabilities and their caregivers seeking a trained service dog, using dogs already in the home when possible.

Focus: Service dog training

Private Lessons pricing at American Canine Institute in Fremont, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Behavior Modification Program$175 per session12 weeks
Service Dog Training$8,000–$15,000 per program

Group Classes

Puppy Kindergarten$250 per program

A sixteen-week puppy class covering socialization, training, health, nutrition, grooming, first aid, and housebreaking, plus individual puppy behavior issues. After eight weeks, dogs move into a two-part Canine Good Citizen program ending in an AKC CGC test.

Owner and puppy attend a weekly one-hour group class for up to 16 weeks.

Best for: Puppies between 10 weeks and 6 months old with current vaccinations.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Duration: 16 weeks

Beginner/Basic Obedience (On Leash Only)$260 per program

An on-leash group class teaching sit, down, stay, and recall, along with left and right turns, turns-about, and a formal stand and recall.

Handler and dog attend weekly one-hour on-leash sessions for 8 weeks.

Best for: Dogs 6 months of age and older.

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training

Duration: 8 weeks

Intermediate Obedience (Limited Off Leash)$290 per program

Builds on Basic Obedience with new in-place turns, motion-based sit and down stays, and introductory off-leash exercises to prepare for Advanced Obedience.

Weekly one-hour group sessions over 8 weeks with some off-leash work.

Best for: Dogs and handlers who have completed the Basic Obedience class.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash

Duration: 8 weeks

Advanced Obedience (Off Leash, Voice Commands, & Hand Signals)$320 per program

All commands from earlier classes are performed off leash, adding sit/down/stand during recall, distance commands at 40ft, and extended sit and down stays with the handler out of sight.

Weekly one-hour off-leash group sessions over 8 weeks.

Best for: Dogs and handlers who have completed Intermediate Obedience.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash

Duration: 8 weeks

Agility (Practical)$290 per program

Covers hurdle jumps, broad jumps, A-frame, plank walks, tunnel, weave poles, and directional work, focusing on correct execution rather than speed.

Handler and dog train through agility equipment in a class setting.

Best for: Dogs that have completed Basic Obedience, with age eligibility depending on breed and size.

Focus: Agility & dog sports, Advanced obedience

Group Classes pricing at American Canine Institute in Fremont, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Puppy Kindergarten$250 per program16 weeks
Beginner/Basic Obedience (On Leash Only)$260 per program8 weeks
Intermediate Obedience (Limited Off Leash)$290 per program8 weeks
Advanced Obedience (Off Leash, Voice Commands, & Hand Signals)$320 per program8 weeks
Agility (Practical)$290 per program

What training methods does American Canine Institute use?

Questions to ask about training methods

  • Which methods do you use day to day, including any aversive tools?
  • Who works with my dog, and what does a typical training day look like?
  • How do you decide whether my dog is a fit for this program?

Method: Not specified on their website

No training method is mentioned on their website.

How do we verify American Canine Institute?

Certifications: Not specified on their website

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Forty-one years in business is notable longevity. Group classes cap at 12 dogs per trainer. No certifications, insurance details, or guarantee terms appear on the site, and board and train policies around owner visits or overnight staffing aren't addressed.

Facility: not specified on their website.

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: not specified on their website.

Waitlist: No

Dogs per trainer: 12

Booking: Phone only

How does American Canine Institute compare in Fremont?

Price: Published board & train pricing is still limited among other Fremont programs, so a midpoint comparison is not available yet.

Reviews: American Canine Institute shows 4.3★ from 37 Google reviews among 2 published Fremont programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 64 out of 100 (price 100%, program clarity 74%). Certification disclosure is still sparse in this city.

What to ask American Canine Institute

  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training methods they use and whether aversive tools are part of the program.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.

Location & hours

The Roberts Avenue address in Fremont is listed, though facility details like indoor versus outdoor training space, parking availability, or accessibility features aren't specified.

42474 Roberts Ave, Fremont, CA

Friday: 8AM-7PM

Monday: 8AM-7PM

Sunday: 8AM-7PM

Tuesday: 8AM-7PM

Saturday: 8AM-7PM

Thursday: 8AM-7PM

Wednesday: 8AM-7PM

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through American Canine Institute.

+1 510-468-5605Website

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Fremont