The Dog Wizard: dog training in Oceanside, CA (1)
The Dog Wizard: dog training in Oceanside, CA (2)
The Dog Wizard: dog training in Oceanside, CA (3)
The Dog Wizard: dog training in Oceanside, CA (4)

1 / 4

The Dog Wizard — Dog Training in Oceanside, CA

The Dog Wizard is a dog training business in Oceanside, California offering group classes. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and list IACP credentials.

Oceanside, CA • 1.0 ★ (1 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Aug 23, 2026

Transparency Score

45 / 100

Limited information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
0%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
58%

About The Dog Wizard

Based on what the business publishes about itself

The Dog Wizard Walnut Creek is part of a national dog-training franchise with more than 100 locations, many of which operate through mobile services. The California listing identifies Walnut Creek as its current California location and serves Alamo, Blackhawk, Danville, Lafayette, Oakland, Orinda, and Piedmont. The supplied pages do not identify the Walnut Creek owner or local trainers by name, but the company states that its trainers complete a structured curriculum through The Dog Wizard Academy.

The seven-day program focuses on on-leash foundations, while the longer tiers may add off-leash skills, recall, distraction work, and behavior modification. Group Classes include Puppy Class for dogs beginning around 10 weeks, a five-class Foundation level, and a six-class Freedom level for graduates pursuing off-leash reliability. Private Lessons and intensive daytime drop-off training are also advertised, and training plans may address obedience, reactivity, separation anxiety, resource guarding, aggression, and other behavior concerns.

The Dog Wizard explicitly uses balanced training with a strong emphasis on positive reinforcement. Graduates of qualifying obedience programs receive ongoing support classes for the life of the dog, and Board and Train includes owner handoff and follow-up instruction. Current local pricing, insurance information, overnight staffing, and a Walnut Creek-specific residential visit policy are not published.

What dog training programs does The Dog Wizard offer?

Board and Train is offered for 7, 14, or 21 days. Group Classes include Puppy, Foundation, Freedom, and ongoing graduate support classes. Private Lessons, intensive daytime drop-off training, aggression rehabilitation, separation-anxiety work, rescue rehabilitation, and other behavior services are also advertised. A free Consultation is used to evaluate each dog before recommending a training plan.

Puppy Class

Price not published.

This is a small-group class for puppies working on basic obedience commands like come, sit, place, down, and loose leash walking. Classes run on leash with set dates and times, and puppies can attend unlimited classes until they age out at six months.

Puppies attend scheduled group classes on leash to practice commands and socialization with other dogs.

Best for: Puppies between 10 weeks and 5 months old.

Requirements: Enrollment from 10 weeks until 5 months (dog age's out at 6 months)

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash training

Group Training Classes

Price not published.

Dogs meet a trainer for an initial assessment and personalized plan, then take part in structured daily sessions covering commands, manners, and socialization in small indoor groups. The program also includes field trips for generalization and progress check-ins, ending with owner guidance at graduation.

Dogs attend weekly small-group indoor sessions plus field trips, with trainers providing owner guidance throughout.

Best for: Dogs needing help with impulse control, distraction, and focus around other dogs, people, or noise.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity

Includes: Lifetime support

How much does The Dog Wizard cost?

Current Walnut Creek prices are not published in the supplied pages. The website provides detailed lengths and inclusions for Board and Train and Group Classes, but the actual dollar amounts are not displayed. The initial behavioral Evaluation is advertised as free.

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at The Dog Wizard in Oceanside, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Puppy ClassNot publishedNot stated
Group Training ClassesNot publishedNot stated

What training methods does The Dog Wizard use?

The Dog Wizard explicitly describes its methodology as balanced training with a heavy emphasis on positive reinforcement. The company states that tools are selected for the individual dog.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Where does The Dog Wizard offer dog training?

The Dog Wizard is based in Oceanside, CA, offering group classes.

Their public materials do not state a wider service area, so Barklen lists Oceanside only. Ask whether they travel or take clients from nearby areas.

The Dog Wizard Walnut Creek is listed in Walnut Creek, California 94597 and serves Alamo, Blackhawk, Danville, Lafayette, Oakland, Orinda, and Piedmont. A street address is not published.

How does The Dog Wizard compare with other Oceanside dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 3 published Oceanside listings (3 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by The Dog Wizard.

Price: too few Oceanside programs publish pricing in the same categories for a like-for-like comparison yet.

Reviews: 1.0★ from 1 Google reviews, among 3 published Oceanside programs.

Transparency: 45 out of 100 (limited information), with 0% price transparency and 58% program clarity. 1 of 3 Oceanside listings show certifications; this business lists IACP.

What should you ask The Dog Wizard before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • They don't publish pricing. Ask what a full program costs and exactly what is included.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

4140 Oceanside Blvd, Oceanside, CA

Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed The Dog Wizard against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (facility, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Aug 23, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
2 programs (group classes)
Published pricing
None published
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Certifications
IACP
Booking
Contact form

Contact The Dog Wizard or request a quote

Contact The Dog Wizard directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

925-430-6913Website

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Oceanside →