Private Training Consultation — Free
A free initial meeting to discuss training goals and determine the best approach before committing to services.
Best for: Prospective clients deciding whether to enroll in training.
Focus: Basic obedience
1 / 12
Absolute K9 Training is a dog training business in San Diego, California offering Board and Train, Private Lessons, and Group Classes.
San Diego • CA • Training facility • 4.5 ★ (16 Google reviews)
Last verified: Sep 5, 2026
13 / 100
Minimal information
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
What they say about themselves
Mike Stone, who founded this San Diego training company in 1994 with his wife Toni, brings an unusual credential set to the work. According to their website, he holds training certifications from the US, Germany, and England, with additional certification in police dog training and kennel management. Before starting Absolute K9, he worked as an instructor at another training school. The company claims he has trained over 10,000 dogs in the three decades since.
The operation now runs alongside Snug Pet Resort, a 22,000-square-foot facility on three acres in Sorrento Valley that's co-owned by former NFL player LaDainian Tomlinson and his wife. Their site describes climate-controlled indoor spaces—some suites exceeding 200 square feet—along with outdoor areas featuring a saltwater pool. They also mention having veterinary staff on-site most days, which they present as uncommon for a combined training and boarding facility.
Programs range from board-and-train stays to private lessons (which can happen at the facility or in your home) to weekly Saturday classes for dogs that have completed their initial training. Their trainers' background includes protection work and Schutzhund competition, though the company emphasizes they tailor their approach to each household's specific goals. They describe their focus as understanding what typical pet-owning families actually need, rather than applying a one-size-fits-all method.
Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.
A free initial meeting to discuss training goals and determine the best approach before committing to services.
Best for: Prospective clients deciding whether to enroll in training.
Focus: Basic obedience
Board and train, private lessons, and group classes cover basic obedience, with private sessions also addressing aggression cases. Absolute K9 Training restricts group classes to dogs that have already completed their in-kennel or private lesson programs, and offers ongoing maintenance classes exclusively for graduates.
What board & train costs in San Diego
Published board-and-train programs in San Diego currently range about $188–$742, with private sessions around a $130 median. Ask this trainer for a written quote before you compare.
This is described as an in-kennel training program where dogs stay with the trainers, similar to a boot camp style board and train.
The dog goes through an in-kennel training program at the facility.
Focus: Basic obedience
Board and Train in San Diego typically runs $188–$742 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Doggie Boot Camp | Not published | — |
One-on-one training conducted either at the client's home or at the training facility, focused on specific issues like aggression or one or two particular behaviors.
A home evaluation may occur first, then training happens at the client's home and/or the facility.
Best for: Owners who live nearby, want close involvement, or are working on one or two specific issues including aggression.
Focus: Basic obedience, Aggression
Private Lessons in San Diego typically runs $108–$1,195 across 17 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Private Dog Training | Not published | — |
A weekly Saturday morning session held at the facility for graduates of prior training programs to reinforce learned skills.
Owners bring dogs on leash to the facility patio for a one-hour class each Saturday.
Best for: Dogs that have already completed the in-kennel or private lesson training program.
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization
Group Classes in San Diego typically runs $92–$550 across 27 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.
Ongoing weekly classes for past training graduates to address regression or new behavioral challenges such as a new pet in the home.
Owners attend Saturday morning sessions at the facility with their dog.
Best for: Dogs and owners who have already completed a training program with Absolute K9.
Focus: Basic obedience
Group Classes in San Diego typically runs $92–$550 across 27 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.
| Program | Price | Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Group Training Class | Not published | — |
| Maintenance and Group Training Classes | Not published | — |
Questions to ask about training methods
Method: Not specified on their website
No training method is mentioned on their website.
Certifications: Not specified on their website
Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.
Operating for 30 years from a dedicated facility, they send occasional video updates during board and train stays. Their site claims guaranteed results, though specific terms aren't detailed. Overnight staffing and owner visit policies aren't published.
Facility: Training facility
Owner visits: not specified on their website.
Video updates: Occasional updates
Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.
Insurance: not specified on their website.
Guarantee: Advertises guaranteed results
Waitlist: not specified on their website.
Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.
Booking: Contact form
Price: Absolute K9 Training does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Diego, 55 programs publish prices from about $77 to $876.
Reviews: Absolute K9 Training shows 4.5★ from 16 Google reviews among 23 published San Diego programs.
Transparency: This listing scores 13 out of 100 (price 0%, program clarity 50%). 7 of 23 San Diego listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.
The Sorrento Valley Road facility sits in San Diego's 92121 zip code. Parking availability and accessibility features aren't mentioned on the site.
11339 Sorrento Valley Rd, San Diego, CA
Friday: 8AM-7PM
Monday: 8AM-7PM
Sunday: 8AM-7PM
Tuesday: 8AM-7PM
Saturday: 8AM-6PM
Thursday: 8AM-7PM
Wednesday: 8AM-7PM
Reach out directly or send a quote request through Absolute K9 Training.
The Fairy Dogmother
San Diego, CA · 5.0 ★ (12)
Private Lessons · In-Home Training
3 programs
From $130
Reward-based

Spot On Training
San Diego, CA · 5.0 ★ (4)
Private Lessons · Group Classes
10 programs
From $175
Reward-based

Finest City Dog Training - San Diego
San Diego, CA · 4.7 ★ (39)
Group Classes · Private Lessons
9 programs
From $40
Balanced

Love of Animals Pet Services
San Diego, CA · 5.0 ★ (1)
Private Lessons · In-Home Training · Board and Train · +1
6 programs
From $55
Reward-based

Fon's Canines Professional Dog Training and Sales
San Diego, CA · 5.0 ★ (92)
Private Lessons · Board and Train · Group Classes
7 programs
From $130
Balanced

Happy Dog Happy Owner
San Diego, CA · 5.0 ★ (16)
Group Classes · Board and Train · In-Home Training
10 programs
From $150
Method unclear