Pawcific Dog Academy team in front of the mural
Pawcific Dog Academy team
Where Discipline Meets Compassion
How We're Different
Our Training Philosophy
The Pawcific Belt System
What Dogs Need (And What Owners Need)

1 / 7

Pawcific Dog Academy

Pawcific Dog Academy is a dog training business in San Diego, California offering Board and Train, Group Classes, and In-Home Training.

San Diego • CA • 5.0 ★ (5 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

50 / 100

Limited information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
0%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
78%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Pawcific Dog Academy began as a small operation in Pacific Beach and has since expanded to serve San Diego, Los Angeles, and Anaheim. According to their site, the training team in Los Angeles is led by James, whom clients describe as a former police and military K9 handler. The broader staff includes a mix of trainers, dog walkers, and pet sitters with varying backgrounds—some with prior professional experience, others primarily drawing on personal history with dogs.

The academy describes its approach as balanced and relationship-based, built on teaching owners to communicate in ways dogs naturally understand, establishing predictable routines, and practicing skills in real-world settings. Rather than working in controlled training rooms, they say they conduct sessions on sidewalks, at beaches, in parks, and at outdoor dining areas throughout the city. They also use what they call the "Pawcific Belt System"—a progression from white bandana to black bandana, modeled after karate rankings, to track a dog's advancement.

Their services include board-and-train programs, group classes, in-home training, and consultations. Client testimonials on their site frequently mention work with reactive dogs, leash pulling, and resource guarding. The business states it provides lifetime support after program completion at no additional fee.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Free ConsultationFree

A one-time intake meeting where the trainer discusses the dog's personality, history, behavior challenges, and the owner's lifestyle to recommend the right program.

Best for: New clients considering enrolling in a training program.

Focus: Basic obedience

What does Pawcific Dog Academy charge for board and train?

Board and train runs three weeks and covers aggression, leash reactivity, separation anxiety, and basic obedience, with lifetime support included. Pawcific Dog Academy also offers group classes focused on socialization and obedience, plus private lessons that can address more serious behavior issues. All three formats are available, though you'll need to contact them for scheduling details.

What board & train costs in San Diego

Published board-and-train programs in San Diego currently range about $188$742, with private sessions around a $130 median. Ask this trainer for a written quote before you compare.

Board and Train

Board and Train

The dog stays with trainers for an immersive period, working on issues like leash pulling, barking, and separation anxiety in real-world LA settings like beaches, parks, and busy streets.

The dog boards with the trainers for a period (reviewers mention around 3 weeks) while training happens in real-world environments.

Best for: Dogs with behavior issues such as leash pulling, constant barking, or separation anxiety.

Focus: Leash reactivity, Separation anxiety, Basic obedience, Aggression

Duration: 3 weeks

Includes: Lifetime support

Board and Train in San Diego typically runs $188–$742 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Board and Train pricing at Pawcific Dog Academy in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Board and TrainNot published3 weeks

In-Home Training

Private Lessons / In-Home Sessions

One-on-one sessions conducted in the client's home, addressing specific issues like territorial behavior, reactivity, and household boundaries with the owner present.

The trainer comes to the owner's home for individual sessions and works directly with the dog and owner together.

Best for: Dogs with specific behavioral issues such as territorial aggression or reactivity toward people entering the home.

Focus: Aggression, Leash reactivity, Basic obedience

Duration: 1 sessions

In-Home Training in San Diego typically runs $69–$186 across 8 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

In-Home Training pricing at Pawcific Dog Academy in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Private Lessons / In-Home SessionsNot published1 sessions

Group Classes

Group Classes

Weekly group sessions bring dogs together to practice obedience and socialization around other dogs and people, including exercises for reactive dogs.

Owners bring their dogs to a group setting (some sessions are described as free) where the trainer works with multiple dogs at once.

Best for: Dogs needing socialization or practice with reactivity around other dogs, including a free introductory session for new clients.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity

Group Classes in San Diego typically runs $92–$550 across 27 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Group Classes pricing at Pawcific Dog Academy in San Diego, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Group ClassesNot published

What training methods does Pawcific Dog Academy use?

They explicitly describe their approach as balanced, meaning they likely use a combination of reward-based techniques and corrections. The program accepts dogs with aggression cases, which suggests experience handling more challenging behaviors.

Method: Balanced

Combines rewards with corrections, which may include tools such as prong collars or e-collars.

How do we verify Pawcific Dog Academy?

Certifications: Not specified on their website

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Results are described as guaranteed on the site, though the specific terms of that guarantee aren't detailed. Certifications, insurance, and staffing arrangements aren't mentioned.

Facility: not specified on their website.

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: Advertises guaranteed results

Waitlist: not specified on their website.

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Contact form

How does Pawcific Dog Academy compare in San Diego?

Price: Pawcific Dog Academy does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Diego, 55 programs publish prices from about $77 to $876.

Reviews: Pawcific Dog Academy shows 5.0★ from 5 Google reviews among 23 published San Diego programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 50 out of 100 (price 0%, program clarity 78%). 7 of 23 San Diego listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.

What to ask Pawcific Dog Academy

  • They don't publish pricing — ask what a three-week board and train costs and exactly what's included.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.

Location & hours

The Garnet Avenue address puts them in San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood. The site doesn't specify whether training happens at this location, in-home, or both.

2275 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA

Friday: 7AM-8PM

Monday: 7AM-8PM

Sunday: Closed

Tuesday: 7AM-8PM

Saturday: Closed

Thursday: 7AM-8PM

Wednesday: 7AM-8PM

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through Pawcific Dog Academy.

+1 619-736-9189Website

Compare San Diego programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Diego