Dogs Etc. — dog training in Brea, CA

Dogs Etc.

Dogs Etc. is a dog training business in Brea, California offering Group Classes, with published programs from $197.

Brea • CA • Uses rented space • 5.0 ★ (4 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 5, 2026

Transparency Score

83 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
71%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
85%

About this program

What they say about themselves

Cindy, who founded Dogs Etc. in 1997, started training dogs at 13 and shifted her approach after losing her first dog to a preventable behavior issue that punishment-based methods hadn't resolved. According to her site, that experience led her toward positive, science-based training rooted in learning theory. She holds certifications including AKC Canine Good Citizen Evaluator and has served as a mentor for Animal Behavior College students since 2011.

The business describes its work as "pet parenting coaching" rather than traditional obedience training, emphasizing the emotional reasons behind a dog's behavior alongside skill-building. Their site frames this as addressing real-world reliability — calm behavior in everyday settings — rather than just commands. Group classes cover puppy foundations, public manners, leash reactivity, and AKC Canine Good Citizen preparation, with sessions held at a veterinary clinic in Brea and, for reactive dogs, a downtown parking structure designed to minimize stress.

One notable offering is their membership model, the ZEN Dog Club, which provides ongoing access to rotating classes rather than single fixed courses. For reactive dogs specifically, they use a hybrid format combining online content with limited in-person practice, which they say reduces overwhelm for anxious dogs. The business operates independently and positions itself as a smaller, boutique alternative to franchise training programs.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Reactivity Rehab — Free Phone EvaluationFree

A free phone-based evaluation offered for dogs that aren't a good fit for the group reactivity class, as a step toward private training.

Best for: Dogs whose reactivity or stress level makes group class inappropriate.

Focus: Leash reactivity

What does Dogs Etc. charge for board and train?

Group classes dominate the offerings at Dogs Etc., with a membership-based ZEN Dog Club covering obedience, socialization, leash reactivity, and agility foundations. Standalone courses include a two-week Reactivity Rehab class with careful screening for stressed dogs, a six-week STAR Puppy program, and a four-week AKC Canine Good Citizen prep with testing included. Agility foundations require no prior experience.

The ZEN Dog Club runs $197 monthly, $997 for six months, or $1,997 annually. Specialty courses are priced separately: Reactivity Rehab at $333 for two weeks, CGC prep at $297 for four weeks. Puppy and agility foundations don't list prices on the site.

Group Classes

ZEN Dog Club — Monthly Membership$197 per program

This membership gives access to unlimited eligible group classes, letting dogs and owners cycle through the full class lineup for ongoing practice and socialization.

Members attend as many eligible group classes as they like each month, choosing from the current class schedule.

Best for: Suitable for puppies, adolescents, adults, rescue dogs, and dogs who already know basic obedience.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity, Agility & dog sports

Duration: 1 months

ZEN Dog Club — Semi-Annual Membership$997 per program

A six-month version of the unlimited class membership, giving more time for repeated practice and generalizing skills across different environments.

Members attend unlimited eligible group classes for six months at a discounted monthly rate.

Best for: Dogs and owners wanting sustained, consistent training over half a year.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity, Agility & dog sports

Duration: 6 months

ZEN Dog Club — Annual Membership$1,997 per program

A full-year membership for unlimited access to the class lineup, framed as the best value for owners committed to ongoing training and enrichment.

Members attend unlimited eligible group classes across the full year at the lowest effective monthly rate.

Best for: Serious dog people wanting year-round training, socialization, and enrichment.

Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity, Agility & dog sports

Duration: 12 months

Reactivity Rehab Group Class$333 per program

This is a hybrid two-week program addressing leash reactivity, starting with an online portion before moving to in-person practice sessions.

The first part of the class is delivered online, followed by an in-person practice session at a Downtown Brea location.

Best for: Dogs that bark, lunge, or otherwise react to other dogs or people while on leash.

Focus: Leash reactivity, Aggression, Fear & anxiety

Duration: 2 weeks

STAR Puppy Class

A six-week program covering focus, basic cues, confidence building, handling tolerance, impulse control, and socialization for puppies, taught in person with an accompanying online course.

Puppies attend six weekly in-person classes, get access to an online course, and can complete the AKC STAR Puppy test at the end.

Best for: Puppies in an early developmental stage whose owners want structured socialization and foundation skills.

Focus: Puppy training, Socialization, Basic obedience

Duration: 6 weeks

Group Classes in Brea typically runs $237–$1,597 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Just 4 Fun Agility Foundations

A relaxed, non-competitive four-week introduction to agility obstacles like tunnels, low jumps, and platforms, focused on confidence building and bonding rather than performance.

Dogs and owners attend weekly Saturday sessions working through beginner agility-style obstacles and games.

Best for: Beginner, family, active, adolescent, or nervous dogs needing a confidence-building outlet.

Focus: Agility & dog sports, Fear & anxiety, Socialization

Duration: 4 weeks

Group Classes in Brea typically runs $237–$1,597 across 5 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

AKC Canine Good Citizen® Class & Test$297 per program

A four-week class combining obedience training with real-world manners, preparing dogs for the official AKC Canine Good Citizen test at the end.

The class meets Saturday mornings for four weeks, culminating in the option to take the AKC CGC test.

Best for: Dogs and owners working toward the CGC title or wanting better public manners.

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience, Socialization

Duration: 4 weeks

Group Classes pricing at Dogs Etc. in Brea, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
ZEN Dog Club — Monthly Membership$197 per program1 months
ZEN Dog Club — Semi-Annual Membership$997 per program6 months
ZEN Dog Club — Annual Membership$1,997 per program12 months
Reactivity Rehab Group Class$333 per program2 weeks
STAR Puppy ClassNot published6 weeks
Just 4 Fun Agility FoundationsNot published4 weeks
AKC Canine Good Citizen® Class & Test$297 per program4 weeks

What training methods does Dogs Etc. use?

They explicitly describe their approach as force-free. Aggression and reactivity cases are accepted on a case-by-case basis, with the Reactivity Rehab class using a hybrid format to avoid overwhelming sensitive dogs.

Method: Reward-based

Uses rewards and positive reinforcement only, without corrections or aversive tools.

How do we verify Dogs Etc.?

Certifications: AKC CGC Evaluator

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Twenty-eight years in business, with the lead trainer certified as an AKC CGC Evaluator. A waitlist is mentioned, suggesting demand. Insurance coverage and guarantee terms aren't addressed on the site.

Facility: Uses rented space

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: not specified on their website.

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: not specified on their website.

Waitlist: Yes

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Phone only

How does Dogs Etc. compare in Brea?

Price: Dogs Etc. does not publish board & train pricing. Across Brea, 5 programs publish prices from about $237 to $1,597.

Reviews: Dogs Etc. shows 5.0★ from 4 Google reviews among 1 published Brea programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 83 out of 100 (price 71%, program clarity 85%). 1 of 1 Brea listings show certifications; this business lists AKC CGC Evaluator.

What to ask Dogs Etc.

  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.

Location & hours

Classes run out of rented space at 330 N Brea Blvd, Suite E. Parking availability and accessibility details aren't published.

330 N Brea Blvd Ste E, Brea, CA

Hours: Not specified on their website

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through Dogs Etc..

+1 714-393-0432Website

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Brea