Board & Train Programs — 2 Weeks
$2,000
Requirements: Requires a full professional evaluation before enrolling.
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Recall & off-leash, Puppy training
1 / 3
Ayala K9 Dog Training is a dog training business in San Jose, California offering board and train and private lessons. They take aggression cases by assessment and publish pricing from $75 per session to $3,500.
San Jose, CA • 5.0 ★ (51 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026
67 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Steve Ayala runs Ayala K9 Dog Training in San Jose with an unusual assistant: his Beagle-Aussie mix, Rocko. According to the business's website, Rocko works alongside Ayala during sessions, serving as a calm presence to help reactive or nervous dogs build confidence, a hands-on approach to socialization that's harder to replicate in a classroom setting.
The training philosophy here centers on real-world environments. Rather than working exclusively in a facility, Ayala describes conducting sessions in homes, parks, and public spaces where dogs actually need to behave. Programs begin with an evaluation to assess each dog's learning style and the owner's goals, with offerings that include private lessons, board and train options, and initial consultations.
Their site highlights work with leash pulling, recall, off-leash obedience, and behavior modification for issues like overexcitement or poor social skills. They mention serving owners of "COVID puppies", dogs that missed early socialization during the pandemic. Board and train clients reportedly receive access to free monthly seminars for ongoing support. The business also offers overnight boarding with what they describe as a consistent daily routine.
Private lessons, board-and-train programs from two to four weeks, and standalone boarding make up the offerings at Ayala K9 Dog Training. The board-and-train options cover obedience, leash reactivity, recall, and puppy foundations, though enrollment requires a professional evaluation first.
$2,000
Requirements: Requires a full professional evaluation before enrolling.
Duration: 2 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Recall & off-leash, Puppy training
$2,750
Requirements: Requires a full professional evaluation before enrolling.
Duration: 3 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Recall & off-leash, Puppy training
$3,500
Requirements: Requires a full professional evaluation before enrolling.
Duration: 4 weeks
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash reactivity, Recall & off-leash, Puppy training
$75 per day
Focus: Basic obedience
$75 per session
Package: $780 for a 12-session package
Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Leash training, Recall & off-leash
Private sessions run $75 each, with a 12-session package at $780. Board-and-train ranges from $2,000 for two weeks up to $3,500 for four weeks. Boarding without training is $75 per day.
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Board & Train Programs — 2 Weeks | $2,000 | 2 weeks |
| Board & Train Programs — 3 Weeks | $2,750 | 3 weeks |
| Board & Train Programs — 4 Weeks | $3,500 | 4 weeks |
| Dog Boarding | $75 per day | Not stated |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Private Training Packages | $75 per session$780 for a 12-session package | Not stated |
The site uses general language about training philosophy without naming specific tools or techniques. Aggression and reactivity cases are considered individually, pending the required evaluation.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
As described in the business's own materials
According to their site, owns a Beagle-Aussie mix named Rocko who now works alongside him, helping calm reactive or nervous dogs during training.
Ayala K9 Dog Training is based in San Jose, CA, offering board and train stays and private lessons.
Their site says they dog owners frustrated by leash pulling or embarrassing public behavior, families wanting a well-mannered pet, and owners of dogs, including those who missed socialization during COVID, that need help with focus and social skills.
The facility operates from a suite on Redmond Avenue in the 95120 zip code. Parking and accessibility details aren't listed on the site.
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 11 published San Jose listings (37 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Ayala K9 Dog Training.
Price: 98% below the San Jose midpoint at entry price for board and train ($75–$3,500 vs. $2,450–$6,120); entry price below the published San Jose range for private lessons ($75 vs. $86–$265).
Reviews: 5.0★ from 51 Google reviews, among 11 published San Jose programs.
Transparency: 67 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 100% price transparency and 46% program clarity. 3 of 11 San Jose listings show certifications; this business does not list any.
| Program type | Ayala K9 Dog Training | San Jose range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Board and Train | $75–$3,500 | $2,450–$6,120 across 7 San Jose programs | 98% below the San Jose midpoint at entry price |
| Private Lessons | $75 | $86–$265 across 8 San Jose programs | Entry price below the published San Jose range |
Generated from what their public materials leave open
1153 Redmond Ave Ste C, San Jose, CA
Barklen reviewed Ayala K9 Dog Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (facility, owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026
Contact Ayala K9 Dog Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

Orion Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 4.9 ★ (69)
Group Classes
7 programs
From $35
Reward-based

Willow Glen Paws
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (21)
Private Lessons · Board and Train · Group Classes
4 programs
From $200
Reward-based

Happy Tails to You Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (38)
Group Classes · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $300
Method unclear

Smart Paws Private Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (9)
Private Lessons
3 programs
From $135
Method unclear

Bay Area Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 4.6 ★ (21)
Group Classes · Private Lessons · Board and Train
6 programs
From $225
Method unclear

ultra k9 dog training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (3)
Private Lessons · Group Classes · Board and Train
10 programs
From $1,500
Method unclear