Here you see left to right, Ofi the catahoula, Dallas the Heeler and Orion the Aussie mix who started it al.

Orion Dog Training — Dog Training in San Jose, CA

Orion Dog Training is a dog training business in San Jose, California offering group classes, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as reward-based training, take aggression cases by assessment, and publish pricing from $35 per session to $330 per course.

San Jose, CA • Training facility • 4.9 ★ (69 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

90 / 100

Highly transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
100%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
60%

About Orion Dog Training

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Orion Dog Training operates out of a 3,000-square-foot climate-controlled facility in downtown San Jose, with both indoor and outdoor training areas. The business brings together a small team of trainers with varied backgrounds, one came to dog training after working as a Stanford research technician and has search-and-rescue experience, while another competes in scent sports and holds CPDT-KA certification. According to their site, they use positive reinforcement and force-free methods, tailoring training to each dog's temperament rather than following a fixed curriculum.

The class schedule runs deeper than basic obedience. They offer agility from beginner through advanced levels, nose work, antler shed hunting, and a "Control Unleashed" format described as helping dogs build focus around distractions. For reactive or fearful dogs, they emphasize private evaluations and threshold-based coaching. Their puppy program includes an option they say is uncommon in the Bay Area: socialization classes for puppies who've had only their first vaccination, plus a dedicated social for dogs under ten pounds.

The team includes a Karen Pryor Academy Certified Training Partner and multiple AKC CGC evaluators. They also note an ongoing partnership with a local volunteer who runs shelter-support programs, with joint educational events and fundraisers.

What dog training programs does Orion Dog Training offer?

Group classes cover the full progression from puppy foundations through competitive agility. Orion Dog Training offers AKC S.T.A.R. Puppy classes for dogs 2 to 10 months old, Canine Good Citizen prep, and a complete agility track from beginner through advanced levels. A $35 intro session lets newcomers try agility before committing to a full course.

Canine Good Citizen

$275 per course

This is a six-week class preparing dogs and owners for the AKC Canine Good Citizen title, attended weekly at the same day and time.

Owners sign up for the first class and return weekly at the same time for six weeks.

Duration: 6 weeks

Focus: Advanced obedience, Basic obedience

Puppy 1 (AKC S.T.A.R.) Six-Week Class

$330 per course

This is a six-week beginner puppy class covering engagement, communication, and core cues like come, sit, down, heel, loose leash walking, and drop it. It also covers crate training, settling, chewing, biting, barking, jumping, and door manners.

Owners attend weekly in-person classes with their puppy at the San Jose facility for six consecutive weeks.

Best for: Puppies between 2 and 10 months old who have had at least one vaccine set and have been home with their family for a week.

Requirements: For puppies between 2 and 10 months of age, with at least one set of parvo/distemper vaccines and one week with the new family

Duration: 6 weeks

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

New to agility? Come and try it!

$35 per session

This is a one-hour introductory session for dogs and owners who have never tried agility, offering a first taste of the sport.

A single drop-in session at the facility, roughly an hour long.

Best for: Owners and dogs who are completely new to agility.

Requirements: For those totally new to agility

Focus: Agility & dog sports

Drop In Advanced Agility (60 min)

$55 per session

A drop-in, one-hour advanced agility session offered on a walk-in basis without a multi-week commitment.

A single 60-minute drop-in class at the facility.

Best for: Advanced agility dogs and handlers wanting a drop-in session.

Focus: Agility & dog sports, Advanced obedience

Advanced Agility

$250 per course

An advanced agility class for dogs progressing beyond intermediate-level skills, held multiple times weekly at the facility.

Weekly classes offered on Wednesdays and Fridays at multiple times.

Best for: Dogs and handlers seeking to progress agility skills further.

Focus: Agility & dog sports, Advanced obedience

Beginner Agility

$275–$295 per course

A beginner-level agility class introducing dogs to jumps, tunnels, weaves, the dog walk, A-frame, and teeter totter.

Weekly group classes held at the facility on scheduled start dates.

Best for: Dogs and owners new to structured agility training.

Focus: Agility & dog sports

Intermediate Agility

$275 per course

An intermediate-level agility class building on beginner skills over the course of the program.

Weekly classes on Thursdays or Fridays at the facility.

Best for: Dogs and handlers who have completed beginner agility.

Focus: Agility & dog sports

How much does Orion Dog Training cost?

Six-week courses run $275 to $330, with the puppy class at the higher end and Canine Good Citizen at $275. Agility courses range from $250 to $295 depending on level. Drop-in options exist for those already trained, including a $55 advanced agility session.

Group Classes pricing

Group Classes pricing at Orion Dog Training in San Jose, CA
ProgramPriceLength
Canine Good Citizen$275 per course6 weeks
Puppy 1 (AKC S.T.A.R.) Six-Week Class$330 per course6 weeks
New to agility? Come and try it!$35 per sessionNot stated
Drop In Advanced Agility (60 min)$55 per sessionNot stated
Advanced Agility$250 per courseNot stated
Beginner Agility$275–$295 per courseNot stated
Intermediate Agility$275 per courseNot stated

What training methods does Orion Dog Training use?

The program explicitly identifies as force-free in its training approach. Aggression cases are evaluated individually rather than accepted or declined outright.

Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.

Who runs Orion Dog Training?

As described in the business's own materials

Dieuwke van der Velde, Trainer

According to their site, former Stanford research technician who transitioned into dog training, with over 12 years of experience training dogs of all breeds and sizes, including three years of search-and-rescue training.

Credentials listed on their site: Certified positive reinforcement trainer (program unspecified). Barklen has not independently verified these.

Vicki Huebner, Trainer (obedience and sports classes)

According to their site, working with dogs since the early 1990s, she competes in odor detection sports such as nose work, trailing, antler shed hunting, and lost item recovery with her dog Jewel. She has fostered rescue dogs since 2009, working on socialization, confidence-building, and reactivity.

Credentials listed on their site: CPDT-KA (Certified Professional Dog Trainer), Professional member, APDT, AKC CGC Certified Examiner, and Adheres to CCPDT Code of Ethics. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Leena Koivuniemi, Trainer

According to their site, graduated from Animal Behavior College and did an externship at the Humane Society of Silicon Valley teaching puppy to intermediate classes. Previously taught agility at Fetch Sam!. Has trained her own dogs in agility, trick titles, nose work, and dog parkour over 15+ years, starting in Finland before moving to California in 2009.

Credentials listed on their site: Animal Behavior College graduate and Working toward IDPKA instructor/evaluator certification. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Ani, Trainer / boarding provider

According to their site, involved in animal rescue for over 20 years, now offers training and a home-based vacation boarding service alongside her own four dogs.

Credentials listed on their site: Certified Training Partner, Karen Pryor Academy, Fear Free Certified, and AKC CGC Evaluator. Barklen has not independently verified these.

Sangeetha Lakshminarayanan, Community volunteer / foster partner

According to their site, long-time foster with The Perfect Dog Rescue and founder of the community group Sustain Our Shelters, which supports Silicon Valley shelters through awareness campaigns and clinics; organizes fundraisers and educational programs with Orion Dog Training.

Where does Orion Dog Training offer dog training?

Orion Dog Training operates from a dedicated training facility in San Jose, CA, offering group classes.

An indoor/outdoor dog training facility located in Downtown San Jose with free lot parking.

Training happens at a dedicated facility on East Santa Clara Street in San Jose. Parking and accessibility details aren't published on the site.

How does Orion Dog Training compare with other San Jose dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 11 published San Jose listings (37 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Orion Dog Training.

Price: entry price below the published San Jose range for group classes ($35–$330 vs. $275–$435).

Reviews: 4.9★ from 69 Google reviews, among 11 published San Jose programs.

Transparency: 90 out of 100 (highly transparent), with 100% price transparency and 60% program clarity. 3 of 11 San Jose listings show certifications; this business lists CPDT-KA, APDT, AKC CGC Evaluator, KPA-CTP, IACP, and CCPDT.

Published prices at Orion Dog Training compared with San Jose ranges
Program typeOrion Dog TrainingSan Jose rangeBarklen read
Group Classes$35–$330$275–$435 across 11 San Jose programsEntry price below the published San Jose range

What should you ask Orion Dog Training before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

Orion Dog Training, 576 E Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA

Monday
9:00 AM – 10:00 PM
Tuesday
Closed
Wednesday – Friday
9:00 AM – 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed Orion Dog Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, dogs per trainer, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 6, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
7 programs (group classes)
Published pricing
Published for every program
Training method
Reward-based
Aggression and reactivity cases
Aggression cases by assessment
Facility
Training facility
Certifications
CPDT-KA, APDT, AKC CGC Evaluator, KPA-CTP, IACP, CCPDT
Booking
Book online

Contact Orion Dog Training or request a quote

Contact Orion Dog Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 650-996-6708Website

Compare San Jose programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Jose →