The Ultimate
$3,700
Requirements: This is not appropriate for all dogs, dogs must qualify for this option.
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
1 / 4
Bay Area Dog Training is a dog training business in San Jose, California offering board and train, private lessons, and group classes, working by traveling to clients. They accept aggression and reactivity cases and publish pricing from $225 per session to $3,700.
San Jose, CA • Mobile / travels to you • 4.6 ★ (21 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026
68 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Mike Hatjes founded Bay Area Dog Training in 1980 after training his own Doberman during college. According to his site, he holds a psychology degree from Arizona State University and spent time working in addiction counseling before committing to dog training full-time. He's been at it for over three decades now. The business mentions some competitive highlights from its early years, a Rottweiler named Radar that reached the top national ranking in 1985, and Hatjes's own Doberman earning a near-perfect score in obedience competition.
Their stated approach centers on behavior modification and owner education. The site emphasizes that they train owners as much as dogs, using verbal praise and physical affection rather than food rewards. Private lessons take place in the home and gradually move to more distracting environments like busy areas around San Jose. Group classes follow a four-level structure designed to build toward off-leash reliability, with puppies eligible to start at 16 weeks.
Emily, a second trainer on staff, learned directly from Hatjes and now works alongside him. The business describes itself as having helped thousands of local families over its 44 years, though its primary focus remains one-on-one work addressing specific behavioral concerns rather than competition training.
Four levels of group classes run seven weeks each, progressing from basic obedience through advanced off-leash work. Bay Area Dog Training also offers a 12-session private lesson package and a board-and-train program called "The Ultimate" at $3,700, though not all dogs qualify for the residential option. Puppies need to be at least 16 weeks old for Level I.
$3,700
Requirements: This is not appropriate for all dogs, dogs must qualify for this option.
Focus: Basic obedience, Socialization, Leash reactivity
Includes: Owner handoff sessions
$225 per session
Package: $1,795 for a 12-session package
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training
Bay Area Dog Training publishes 4 versions of this program. The table shows how they differ; anything not listed here was not stated in their materials.
| Option | Length | Price | What differs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level III | 7 weeks | $400 per course | Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash, Leash training |
| Level IV | 7 weeks | $400 per course | Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash, Leash training; you need to have completed a Level III class session (or have permission from one of our trainers) |
| Level II | 7 weeks | $425 per course | Basic obedience, Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash |
| Level I | 7 weeks | $450 per course | Basic obedience, Leash training, Socialization; Puppies must be 16 weeks old to start the Level I class. |
Group classes range from $400 to $450 per seven-week course. Private lessons come in a 12-session package at $1,795 (about $150 per session). The board-and-train runs $3,700 total and includes handoff sessions with the owner.
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| The Ultimate | $3,700 | Not stated |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Private Lesson Package | $225 per session$1,795 for a 12-session package | Not stated |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Level III | $400 per course | 7 weeks |
| Level IV | $400 per course | 7 weeks |
| Level II | $425 per course | 7 weeks |
| Level I | $450 per course | 7 weeks |
The site uses general language about training philosophy without specifying techniques or tools. They do accept dogs with aggression or reactivity issues, noting that some dogs must qualify before enrolling in the board-and-train program.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
As described in the business's own materials
According to their site, grew up with dogs as family members, trained his own Doberman during college, and has worked as a dog trainer and behaviorist for over 30 years. He also briefly worked as an EMT and in addiction counseling/psychology before returning to dog training full time.
Credentials listed on their site: Bachelor of Science in Psychology, Arizona State University and Certified Emergency Medical Technician. Barklen has not independently verified these.
According to their site, developed an interest in dog training while working with her own dog, Sirus, and values the bond built through training. She learned her training skills directly from Mike Hatjes.
Credentials listed on their site: Bachelor of Arts in Art History, UC Santa Barbara. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Bay Area Dog Training is a mobile trainer based in San Jose, CA, traveling to clients rather than hosting them, offering board and train stays, private lessons, and group classes.
Their site says they dog owners in the Bay Area/San Jose region, described as having helped thousands of families turn their dogs into well-behaved companions.
Training happens at a Hamilton Avenue address in San Jose, suite 30. The site doesn't describe the facility itself or mention parking availability.
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 11 published San Jose listings (37 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Bay Area Dog Training.
Price: in line with the San Jose midpoint for board and train ($3,700 vs. $2,450–$6,120); entry price within the published San Jose range for private lessons ($225 vs. $86–$265); entry price within the published San Jose range for group classes ($400–$450 vs. $275–$435).
Reviews: 4.6★ from 21 Google reviews, among 11 published San Jose programs.
Transparency: 68 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 100% price transparency and 51% program clarity. 3 of 11 San Jose listings show certifications; this business does not list any.
| Program type | Bay Area Dog Training | San Jose range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Board and Train | $3,700 | $2,450–$6,120 across 7 San Jose programs | In line with the San Jose midpoint |
| Private Lessons | $225 | $86–$265 across 8 San Jose programs | Entry price within the published San Jose range |
| Group Classes | $400–$450 | $275–$435 across 11 San Jose programs | Entry price within the published San Jose range |
Generated from what their public materials leave open
1975 Hamilton Ave #30, San Jose, CA
Barklen reviewed Bay Area Dog Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026
Contact Bay Area Dog Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

Orion Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 4.9 ★ (69)
Group Classes
7 programs
From $35
Reward-based

Willow Glen Paws
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (21)
Private Lessons · Board and Train · Group Classes
4 programs
From $200
Reward-based

Happy Tails to You Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (38)
Group Classes · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $300
Method unclear

Smart Paws Private Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (9)
Private Lessons
3 programs
From $135
Method unclear

Ayala K9 Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (51)
Private Lessons · Board and Train
5 programs
From $75
Method unclear

ultra k9 dog training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (3)
Private Lessons · Group Classes · Board and Train
10 programs
From $1,500
Method unclear