Elite Protection Dogs
From $75,000
Focus: Aggression, Advanced obedience
Includes: Vet care included
1 / 8
Full Contact K9 is a dog training business in San Jose, California offering board and train and private lessons, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), take aggression cases by assessment, and publish pricing from from $3,000 per course.
San Jose, CA • Training facility • 3.7 ★ (3 Google reviews)
Last reviewed: Sep 5, 2026
58 / 100
Moderately transparent
How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.
Based on what the business publishes about itself
Full Contact K9 is led by Evan Dunbar, who describes being introduced to working dogs through family and training under established figures in the working dog world before founding the business in 2010. He holds a business degree from Mercer University and competes in Schutzhund and French Ring, the demanding protection dog sports that test obedience, tracking, and controlled bite work.
The business's primary focus, according to their site, is the selection and placement of imported European working-line German Shepherd protection dogs, fully trained animals intended for family security or executive protection scenarios. They describe training these dogs to perform under genuine pressure rather than staged demonstrations. For owners who purchased protection dogs elsewhere, they offer evaluation and handling guidance services.
Beyond protection dog work, they provide tiered private obedience programs and behavior modification for general pet owners in the San Jose area, emphasizing owner involvement over board-and-train handoffs. Their site states they combine positive methods with more classical techniques and prefer individualized instruction to group classes. They claim over 500 successful clients and note they're selective about who they accept, looking for owners committed to consistency. The business states it received "Dog Trainer of the Year" recognitions in 2024 and 2025, though the awarding bodies aren't widely known credentials in the industry.
Protection dog training and behavior modification anchor the offerings here, with obedience programs ranging from essential to advanced levels. Full Contact K9 also runs board-and-train for reactive and aggressive dogs, though they recommend it selectively after consultation. Private lessons cover leash reactivity, fear, anxiety, and off-leash recall.
From $75,000
Focus: Aggression, Advanced obedience
Includes: Vet care included
From $95,000
Requirements: If you're a public figure or in a position of power
Focus: Aggression, Advanced obedience
Includes: Vet care included
Price not published.
Requirements: Recommended selectively after consultation; not appropriate for every dog.
Focus: Aggression, Leash reactivity, Fear & anxiety
Includes: Owner handoff sessions, Follow-up sessions
From $3,000 per course
Duration: 20 sessions
Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training
Price not published.
Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash
Price not published.
Focus: Advanced obedience, Recall & off-leash
Price not published.
Focus: Leash reactivity, Fear & anxiety, Aggression
Protection dogs start at $75,000 for the Elite program and $95,000 for Advanced Family and Estate protection, both including vet care. Essential obedience runs $3,000 for a 20-session package. Pricing for intermediate obedience, advanced obedience, behavior modification, and standard board-and-train isn't published.
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Elite Protection Dogs | From $75,000 | Not stated |
| Advanced Family and Estate K9 Protection | From $95,000 | Not stated |
| Board & Train Programs | Not published | Not stated |
| Program | Price | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Essential Obedience Training | From $3,000 per course | 20 sessions |
| Intermediate Obedience Training | Not published | Not stated |
| Advanced Obedience Training | Not published | Not stated |
| Dog Behavior Modification & Reactive Dog Training | Not published | Not stated |
The approach is explicitly balanced, which typically means a mix of positive reinforcement and correction-based tools. Aggression cases are evaluated individually rather than accepted automatically.
Public materials reviewed by Barklen do not specify which training tools are used.
As described in the business's own materials
According to their site, introduced to working dogs at a young age by an uncle, and went on to train under well-known figures in the working dog world. He holds a business degree from Mercer University and participates in Schutzhund and French Ring dog sports.
Credentials listed on their site: B.B.A. from Mercer University and Active competitor in Schutzhund and French Ring. Barklen has not independently verified these.
Full Contact K9 operates from a dedicated training facility in San Jose, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility and private lessons.
Their site says they families and individuals in Atlanta and nationwide seeking either purpose-bred protection dogs for security, or committed dog owners across all breeds wanting private obedience or behavior modification training; the business states it specifically serves executive clients, public figures, and owners willing to be actively involved in training.
The business does not describe a public-facing training facility in detail; the listed address is for mail only, and training is conducted at their location or in clients' homes depending on the program.
The facility sits on East Santa Clara Street in a commercial building. Parking and accessibility details aren't provided on the site.
Barklen analysis
Barklen analysis based on 11 published San Jose listings (37 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by Full Contact K9.
Price: 1927% above the San Jose midpoint at entry price for board and train ($75,000–$95,000 vs. $2,450–$6,120); entry price above the published San Jose range for private lessons ($3,000 vs. $86–$265).
Reviews: 3.7★ from 3 Google reviews, among 11 published San Jose programs.
Transparency: 58 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 43% price transparency and 36% program clarity. 3 of 11 San Jose listings show certifications; this business does not list any.
| Program type | Full Contact K9 | San Jose range | Barklen read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Board and Train | $75,000–$95,000 | $2,450–$6,120 across 7 San Jose programs | 1927% above the San Jose midpoint at entry price |
| Private Lessons | $3,000 | $86–$265 across 8 San Jose programs | Entry price above the published San Jose range |
Generated from what their public materials leave open
410 E Santa Clara St Unit 502, San Jose, CA
Hours are not published in the materials Barklen reviewed. Confirm before visiting.
Barklen reviewed Full Contact K9 against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.
Details the public materials do not address (owner visits during programs, progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.
Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 5, 2026
Contact Full Contact K9 directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

Orion Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 4.9 ★ (69)
Group Classes
7 programs
From $35
Reward-based

Willow Glen Paws
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (21)
Private Lessons · Board and Train · Group Classes
4 programs
From $200
Reward-based

Happy Tails to You Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (38)
Group Classes · Private Lessons
3 programs
From $300
Method unclear

Smart Paws Private Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (9)
Private Lessons
3 programs
From $135
Method unclear

Ayala K9 Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 5.0 ★ (51)
Private Lessons · Board and Train
5 programs
From $75
Method unclear

Bay Area Dog Training
San Jose, CA · 4.6 ★ (21)
Group Classes · Private Lessons · Board and Train
6 programs
From $225
Method unclear