Candid shot of a group brush up session inside facility.
Candid shot of a group brush up session inside facility. (2)
People always ask what led to where we are at? 

The truth is, it’s never been about the money, the hype, or who we get to work with. 

It’s always been about the dogs. 

We show up on the hardest days. 
We step in when no one else can or will. 
We try to be the first or the last line, the last chance, the “one more day” for a dog and their family. 

This work “service” isn’t easy. Some days(most) we are the punching bag. Some days we make mistakes. But we learn, we grow, and we keep standing beside the dogs and the families who love them—through training, through daily life, through all the messy in‑between. 

Because of this mission, we’ve been blessed with chances to pay it forward and to work with some of the most influential people in the world, who remind us that we are all human—and that the love of a four‑legged companion is the kind of compassion this world needs more of. 

To everyone who has supported us through our wins, stood by us through our mistakes, and grown with us: thank you. You are part of the change we want to create. 

We’ve learned it’s not about being the BEST that’s selfish. 
It’s about being part of the change that makes a real difference. 

Yes, we are different. 
And we’re okay with that. 🐾
May recap: train, play, cuddle, repeat 💐
Candid shot of group brush up session in parking lot of facility.
3 trainers singing happy birthday to 1 trainer

1 / 6

RFRD Academy

RFRD Academy is a dog training business in San Jose, California offering Board and Train and Private Lessons, with published programs from $90.

San Jose • CA • Training facility • 4.5 ★ (16 Google reviews)

Last verified: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

34 / 100

Limited information

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
25%
Method transparency
0%
Program clarity
89%

About this program

What they say about themselves

RFRD Academy grew out of a canine nutrition practice that the founder started six years ago in San Jose, expanding into a broader operation that now includes training, boarding, daycare, and rescue support. According to their site, they frame their work as mission-driven rather than profit-focused, describing themselves as a "last resort" for struggling dogs and families willing to take on difficult cases that others won't.

The business operates a private, enclosed off-leash dog park called the RFRD Canine Recreation Center, where they offer memberships, drop-in passes, and one-on-one training sessions. Their services extend well beyond training—they list boarding, daycare, dog walking, transport, grooming, nutrition guidance, and medical care coordination. Client accounts reference multi-week board-and-train programs that include a family integration phase.

What stands out in their messaging is an explicit rejection of marketing themselves as "the best," stating instead they aim to be "part of meaningful change" in the dog industry. They've partnered with several rescue organizations including California Bully Rescue, Dog Park Rescue, and SJ Animal Advocates, running a sanctuary that supports dogs in transition to adoption. Whether this philosophy translates into practice is something prospective clients would need to evaluate, but the scope of what they're attempting—combining training, care services, and rescue work under one operation—is broader than a typical training business.

Getting started

Consultations and evaluations before you commit to a program.

Behavior Evaluation

A trainer conducts an initial assessment of the dog's behavior to determine what kind of program is needed before enrollment.

Best for: Dogs showing behavioral concerns such as possessiveness prior to starting a training program.

Focus: Resource guarding, Aggression

What does RFRD Academy charge for board and train?

A seven-week board and train program addresses obedience, resource guarding, and socialization, with follow-up and handoff sessions included. RFRD Academy also runs private lessons through their Pups & Parks line, offering drop-in sessions or multi-session plans spanning three months.

Drop-in private sessions run $90 each. The board and train program and multi-session training packages don't list prices on the site.

Board and Train

Board and Train Program

The dog stays on-site for an extended residential program, with training practiced both at the facility and outdoors around real-world distractions. Owners join for a final handoff session to learn how to work with their dog.

The dog boards at the facility for the program length, then owners attend one-on-one sessions before pickup.

Best for: Dogs needing behavior work such as possessiveness, separation anxiety, or lack of prior training.

Focus: Basic obedience, Resource guarding, Socialization

Duration: 7 weeks

Includes: Follow-up sessions, Owner handoff sessions

Board and Train in San Jose typically runs $188–$5,880 across 10 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Board and Train pricing at RFRD Academy in San Jose, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Board and Train ProgramNot published7 weeks

Private Lessons

Pups & Parks Drop-In 1:1 Training$90 per session

A single one-on-one training session held at the private dog park facility with no ongoing commitment required.

The owner books one hour-long session with a trainer at the recreation center.

Focus: Basic obedience

Duration: 1 sessions

Pups & Parks 3-Session Training Plan

A recurring training plan offering three one-on-one sessions per month over a three month period at the recreation center.

The owner attends monthly one-hour sessions with a trainer over three months.

Focus: Basic obedience

Duration: 3 months

Private Lessons in San Jose typically runs $95–$2,940 across 12 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Pups & Parks 5-Session Training Plan

A more intensive recurring training plan offering five one-on-one sessions per month over a three month period.

The owner attends monthly one-hour sessions with a trainer over three months.

Focus: Basic obedience

Duration: 3 months

Private Lessons in San Jose typically runs $95–$2,940 across 12 programs that do publish pricing. Ask this trainer for a written quote before comparing.

Private Lessons pricing at RFRD Academy in San Jose, CA
ProgramPriceDuration
Pups & Parks Drop-In 1:1 Training$90 per session1 sessions
Pups & Parks 3-Session Training PlanNot published3 months
Pups & Parks 5-Session Training PlanNot published3 months

What training methods does RFRD Academy use?

Questions to ask about training methods

  • Which methods do you use day to day, including any aversive tools?
  • Who works with my dog, and what does a typical training day look like?
  • How do you decide whether my dog is a fit for this program?

Method: Not specified on their website

No training method is mentioned on their website.

How do we verify RFRD Academy?

Certifications: Not specified on their website

Verification still pending or not yet requested. See our methodology for what verification does and does not mean.

Trust & facility details

Operating from a dedicated facility for six years, they send video updates during board and train stays. Certifications, insurance, and overnight staffing details aren't published.

Facility: Training facility

Owner visits: not specified on their website.

Video updates: Occasional updates

Overnight staffing: not specified on their website.

Insurance: not specified on their website.

Guarantee: not specified on their website.

Waitlist: not specified on their website.

Dogs per trainer: not specified on their website.

Booking: Book online

How does RFRD Academy compare in San Jose?

Price: RFRD Academy does not publish board & train pricing. Across San Jose, 37 programs publish prices from about $84 to $3,580.

Reviews: RFRD Academy shows 4.5★ from 16 Google reviews among 11 published San Jose programs.

Transparency: This listing scores 34 out of 100 (price 25%, program clarity 89%). 3 of 11 San Jose listings show certifications; this business does not list certifications.

What to ask RFRD Academy

  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask which training methods they use and whether aversive tools are part of the program.
  • Ask whether you can visit during the program.

Location & hours

The East Virginia Street address in San Jose sits in a commercial area. Parking and accessibility information isn't listed.

260 E Virginia St, San Jose, CA

Hours: Not specified on their website

Contact / request a quote

Reach out directly or send a quote request through RFRD Academy.

+1 916-716-4346Website

Compare San Jose programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in San Jose