Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
Belgian Malinois at full extension on a long line during a working-dog training session at our Upland facility
German Shepherd locked on with focused, working-dog seriousness during obedience training at our Upland facility
German Shepherd locked on with focused, working-dog seriousness during obedience training at our Upland facility
German Shepherd locked on with focused, working-dog seriousness during obedience training at our Upland facility
German Shepherd locked on with focused, working-dog seriousness during obedience training at our Upland facility
German Shepherd locked on with focused, working-dog seriousness during obedience training at our Upland facility

1 / 12

High Caliber Working Dog Training — Dog Training in Upland, CA

High Caliber Working Dog Training is a dog training business in Upland, California offering board and train and in-home training, working from a dedicated training facility. They describe their approach as balanced training (rewards and corrections), accept aggression and reactivity cases, and publish pricing from $3,800 to $20,000.

Upland, CA • Training facility • 4.7 ★ (68 Google reviews)

Verified listing

Last reviewed: Sep 6, 2026

Transparency Score

66 / 100

Moderately transparent

How clearly this listing publishes the details owners need. See our methodology.

Price transparency
43%
Method transparency
100%
Program clarity
66%

About High Caliber Working Dog Training

Based on what the business publishes about itself

Andrew Pena runs every training session himself at High Caliber Working Dog Training, a detail he emphasizes on the business's website. He came to dog training through his own experience, unable to have dogs growing up due to family allergies, he got his first dog at 21, sought help training it, and was eventually hired by that trainer. He's worked with dogs since 2010 and has trained professionally since 2018.

The Upland facility operates six days a week with two structured sessions daily plus downtime between them. According to their site, they describe their approach as balanced, using food, leash, and e-collar tools based on what suits the individual dog rather than adhering to a single method. They state that training focuses first on building engagement and clear communication before layering in obedience commands, with an emphasis on proofing behaviors in real-world environments rather than just at home.

Their site indicates they take on cases other trainers have declined, including dogs with aggression toward people or other dogs, resource guarding, anxiety, and prior bite history. Board-and-train programs run four or eight weeks at flat pricing. They also offer puppy training covering crate training, foundational obedience, and socialization.

What dog training programs does High Caliber Working Dog Training offer?

Board and train is the core offering at High Caliber Working Dog Training, with 4-week ($3,800) and 8-week ($6,400) programs covering obedience and leash skills. A premium Raise and Train option runs $20,000 and includes lifetime support. They also handle behavior modification, aggression cases, puppy training, and in-home sessions, though pricing for those requires direct inquiry.

4-Week Board and Train

$3,800

The dog boards at the Upland facility for four weeks with two structured training sessions daily focused on engagement first, then obedience basics like sit, down, stay, come, heel, and place, proofed under distraction.

The dog stays at the facility six days a week with two sessions daily, and the owner receives three private follow-up sessions after graduation.

Best for: Owners wanting foundational obedience without deeper behavioral or aggression work.

Duration: 4 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training

Includes: Boarding included, Owner handoff sessions

8-Week Board and Train

$6,400

Same curriculum as the 4-week program but with more sessions, more public proofing, and more reps to build reliability under heavier distraction.

The dog boards at the facility for eight weeks with two sessions daily, and the owner receives six private follow-up sessions after graduation.

Best for: Owners wanting a more advanced, publicly-reliable finish, or dogs needing extra time to consolidate training.

Duration: 8 weeks

Focus: Basic obedience, Leash training, Advanced obedience

Includes: Boarding included, Owner handoff sessions

Raise and Train

$20,000

This is described as a top-tier flagship offering where the dog is raised and trained around the client's lifestyle, with ongoing lifetime maintenance included.

Includes lifetime maintenance and 24/7 hotline access after enrollment; details are handled by calling to enroll.

Focus: Basic obedience, Advanced obedience

Includes: Lifetime support

Behavior Modification

Price not published.

A customized program addressing reactivity, anxiety, fear, separation distress, and compulsive patterns, built around the dog's actual triggers, environment, and household, with real-world proofing.

May run as a board and train to establish a baseline before transitioning to owner-led work, or as a hybrid, with a written plan provided after the consultation.

Best for: Dogs and owners dealing with reactivity, fear, anxiety, separation distress, or resource guarding.

Focus: Leash reactivity, Fear & anxiety, Separation anxiety, Resource guarding

Aggressive Dog Training

Price not published.

A high-stakes program aimed at dogs with a history of aggression, including bite history, using real-world techniques with an emphasis on safety.

Case intake includes discussion of bite history to plan the right safety approach; scoped individually via consultation.

Best for: Dogs with aggression or bite history that other trainers have declined to work with.

Focus: Aggression, Leash reactivity

Puppy Training

Price not published.

Covers house and crate training, foundation obedience like sit, down, name recognition, recall, and loose-leash walking, plus controlled socialization to people, dogs, surfaces, and sounds.

Structured communication and training begin early to build calm crate behavior, clean potty habits, and confident exposure to the world.

Best for: Puppies who are current on basic vaccinations, ideally started early before bad habits form.

Requirements: Once basic vaccinations are in place, puppies are ready to start.

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience, Socialization

House Training

Price not published.

Focused on crate training, potty schedules, and household manners intended to make everyday life with the dog easier.

Focus: Puppy training, Basic obedience

How much does High Caliber Working Dog Training cost?

Board and train starts at $3,800 for four weeks, with the eight-week program at $6,400. The Raise and Train package sits at $20,000, reflecting a much longer commitment and lifetime follow-up. Behavior modification and aggression work are priced individually after assessment.

Board and Train pricing

Board and Train pricing at High Caliber Working Dog Training in Upland, CA
ProgramPriceLength
4-Week Board and Train$3,8004 weeks
8-Week Board and Train$6,4008 weeks
Raise and Train$20,000Not stated
Behavior ModificationNot publishedNot stated
Aggressive Dog TrainingNot publishedNot stated
Puppy TrainingNot publishedNot stated

In-Home Training pricing

In-Home Training pricing at High Caliber Working Dog Training in Upland, CA
ProgramPriceLength
House TrainingNot publishedNot stated

Consultations and evaluations

  • Free Consultation: Free

What training methods does High Caliber Working Dog Training use?

The program explicitly describes its approach as balanced training. They accept dogs with aggression histories, including leash reactivity and resource guarding cases.

Their public materials state they do not use e-collars. Which tools they do use is not specified, so ask the trainer directly.

Who runs High Caliber Working Dog Training?

As described in the business's own materials

Andrew Pena, Owner and trainer

According to their site, grew up wanting dogs but couldn't have one due to family allergies; got his own dog after moving out at 21, sought training help for it, and was eventually hired by that trainer, turning it into his career. He has worked with dogs since 2010 and trained professionally since 2018.

Where does High Caliber Working Dog Training offer dog training?

High Caliber Working Dog Training operates from a dedicated training facility in Upland, CA, offering board and train stays at their facility and in-home training at the client's home.

Their site says they dog owners in Upland, the greater Los Angeles area, and the Inland Empire, including those with reactive rescues, aggressive working dogs, anxious puppies, and owners who have tried other trainers without success.

Training takes place at their facility in Upland, California, six days a week with two structured sessions per day plus structured downtime between sessions.

The facility sits at 949 W 21st St in Upland. Parking availability and accessibility features aren't mentioned online.

How does High Caliber Working Dog Training compare with other Upland dog trainers?

Barklen analysis

Barklen analysis based on 3 published Upland listings (18 with published pricing). These comparisons are computed by Barklen, not claims made by High Caliber Working Dog Training.

Price: 28% above the Upland midpoint at entry price for board and train ($3,800–$20,000 vs. $1,120–$7,760).

Reviews: 4.7★ from 68 Google reviews, among 3 published Upland programs.

Transparency: 66 out of 100 (moderately transparent), with 43% price transparency and 66% program clarity. 1 of 3 Upland listings show certifications; this business does not list any.

Published prices at High Caliber Working Dog Training compared with Upland ranges
Program typeHigh Caliber Working Dog TrainingUpland rangeBarklen read
Board and Train$3,800–$20,000$1,120–$7,760 across 10 Upland programs28% above the Upland midpoint at entry price

What should you ask High Caliber Working Dog Training before booking?

Generated from what their public materials leave open

  • Ask for current pricing on Behavior Modification, Aggressive Dog Training, and Puppy Training, which are not published online.
  • Ask which certifications their trainers hold and who issued them.
  • Ask for proof of liability insurance.
  • Ask which training tools, if any, they use and when.
  • Ask if anyone is on-site overnight.
  • Ask how often you will get photo or video updates.
  • Ask how many dogs each trainer handles at once.
  • Ask about current availability and whether there is a waitlist.

Location and hours

949 W 21st St, Upland, CA

Monday – Sunday
8:00 AM – 7:00 PM

How Barklen reviewed this listing

Barklen reviewed High Caliber Working Dog Training against the business's public materials and published this listing. That is not a check of licenses, insurance, or certifications. See our methodology for what a verified listing does and does not mean.

Details the public materials do not address (progress updates, overnight staffing, insurance, guarantee, certifications, dogs per trainer, and others) are turned into the questions above rather than filled in.

Last reviewed by Barklen: Sep 6, 2026

What Barklen could verify

Programs listed
7 programs (board and train, in-home training)
Published pricing
Published for 3 of 7 programs
Training method
Balanced
Aggression and reactivity cases
Accepts aggression cases
Facility
Training facility
Owner visits during programs
Limited visits
Years in business
7+ years
Booking
Contact form

Contact High Caliber Working Dog Training or request a quote

Contact High Caliber Working Dog Training directly by phone or through their website, or request a quote through Barklen and we will pass it along.

+1 909-288-2574Website

Compare Upland programs like these

Similar programs nearby

See all trainers in Upland →